PDA

View Full Version : Did you know that? (Dominions trivia)


Pages : 1 [2]

Soyweiser
December 16th, 2008, 07:02 PM
Isn't it a bug that -3 research = 1 RP but 0 research = 0 RP?
0 rp = 1 rp.
But the unit screen still lists this as 1 rp.
If you increase the rp, for example by a skull mentor, the 0 is increased to 9. And not the 10 you would expect from the unit screen.

MaxWilson
December 16th, 2008, 07:08 PM
That doesn't sound like a bug to me. When the screen says "1 RP," you get one RP. When it says "9 RP," you get nine RP. The fact that the underlying calculation special-cases RP under zero is an obscure rule, not a bug.

It is, however, something useful to know. And I guess that's why you posted it here and not on the bug thread. :)

-Max

Dectilon
December 16th, 2008, 07:24 PM
Sometimes when you add a large stack of units to a commander you can exceed their command limit.

Example: I added 82 Mermidons to a commander with 80 command :)

Soyweiser
December 16th, 2008, 07:42 PM
It is, however, something useful to know. And I guess that's why you posted it here and not on the bug thread. :)


Your guess is wise, Mr Wilson.

MaxWilson
December 17th, 2008, 12:36 AM
...you can gain experience stars in the middle of combat?

...globals can expire in the middle of combat too? For instance, if you kill the caster of Dark Skies, the sky will immediately brighten back to blue and your morale will go back up to its proper levels. I don't know if this applies to globals like Mechanical Militia and Fata Morgana, but I thought it was a nice touch. Good work, Johan!

-Max

JimMorrison
December 17th, 2008, 02:43 AM
I'm confused by this RP mechanic.

Real RP = total paths + 2 + Magic scale effects ... right?

So a 1 path mage should have base RP of 3, Drain 3 is -2, so real RP would be 1 anyways....? How is it going to go negative? O.o

SlipperyJim
December 17th, 2008, 07:01 AM
Some mages (like the Horite Shaman) have penalties to research.

Wrana
December 17th, 2008, 08:00 AM
And actual Drain penalty to research is moddable - previous version of CBM set it at 3, for -3 penalty at Drain 3.

Gandalf Parker
December 17th, 2008, 11:13 AM
... you do not have to turn on a mod to play your turn.
Anytime Dom3 receives a turn it will automatically turn on any mod needed as long as that mod is in your mod directory. And automatically turn it off again when you finish.

You only need to turn on a mod (enable) to START a game with that mod. Such as a solo game or one you are hosting. OR to create a god using that mod so you can upload it to a game using that mod. But once the game is started you do not need to re-enable the mod to do your turn.

It is also possible (now, since the command was recently fixed) to create a desktop link which loads dom3 with a mod enabled. That way you can have two links for dom3. One which runs dom3 with the mod, and one that runs without the mod.

capnq
December 17th, 2008, 11:43 AM
Sometimes when you add a large stack of units to a commander you can exceed their command limit.

Example: I added 82 Mermidons to a commander with 80 command :)Are you sure about that? Normally, when you assign a stack of units, any excess beyond the commander's capacity simply isn't assigned. Two of those Myrmidons shouldn't have moved from the garrison or commander where they were when you selected them.

lch
December 17th, 2008, 12:09 PM
Sometimes when you add a large stack of units to a commander you can exceed their command limit.

Example: I added 82 Mermidons to a commander with 80 command :)Are you sure about that? Normally, when you assign a stack of units, any excess beyond the commander's capacity simply isn't assigned. Two of those Myrmidons shouldn't have moved from the garrison or commander where they were when you selected them.
As probably somebody else already wrote here before, you can give an item with a leader bonus to a commander and give more units to him than his unmodified limit is, then take the item back and he should keep the units.

Edi
December 17th, 2008, 04:32 PM
Regarding the research thing, seems like the mechanic is working as intended. All mages have a research value of 3 as base, + 1 per each magic path they have. Any intrinsic research penalty or bonus is applied after that and then the scale modifier from magic/drain and other external modifiers (research items etc).

This lead to a situation where the only units that can have negative research in drain dominion even theoretically are the ones who have a research penalty to begin with (Machaka Witch Doctor etc), and even that seems to be limited to a minimum of one if I understood it correctly.

Of course, if the negative research is taken into account so that it has to be negated fully before items are applied, that seems consistent too.

lch
December 17th, 2008, 04:49 PM
Yes, as said before, it seems that the mechanic is being applied correctly during hosting, but if I understood the original post correctly then the unit's info screen is showing it in a wrong way.

Soyweiser
December 17th, 2008, 08:40 PM
Yes, as said before, it seems that the mechanic is being applied correctly during hosting, but if I understood the original post correctly then the unit's info screen is showing it in a wrong way.

Yep, as a mage always adds at least 1 rp. The info screen will always show at least 1 rp. Even when the actual rp including modifiers is negative. Currently you cannot see if this is the case on the info screen.

I never thought it was a bug. Just an interesting feature.

archaeolept
December 18th, 2008, 03:48 PM
It looks like forging is done either in order of unit ID, or reverse order of unit ID, randomly decided on each turn. So your lowest ID forger either is the first of your mages to forge, or the last, and you'll either beat that other guy trying to forge the boots of the planes, or you won't :D

good solution, Johan

lch
December 18th, 2008, 05:58 PM
... or if you're really desperate for an artifact, you'll forge it twice with both your highest- and lowest-ID mage that can do so.

MaxWilson
December 18th, 2008, 10:35 PM
...losing an eye to an Eye Shield does not count as damage for purposes of breaking Mirror Image?

-Max

Kristoffer O
December 19th, 2008, 06:07 PM
...losing an eye to an Eye Shield does not count as damage for purposes of breaking Mirror Image?

-Max

Of course not. It's just an eye popping out of its socket :) No real harm done!

lch
December 19th, 2008, 06:31 PM
Ah, I'd expected KO to do better than that. :) You could argue that a mirror image only goes down when you manage to strike an actual hit at an enemy, then you'd know which of the ones is not an illusion. The Eye Shield works passively (I assume that the vengeful spirit in it is invisible), all those mirror images are attacking the wearer and then stumble back with an eye gouged out simultaneously. No way telling the real one this way.

Tifone
December 19th, 2008, 06:39 PM
Well, you could see which one's eye actually falls to the ground and gets squashed under someone's foot. :D

Bleah :hurt:

MaxWilson
December 19th, 2008, 07:21 PM
Ah, I'd expected KO to do better than that. :) You could argue that a mirror image only goes down when you manage to strike an actual hit at an enemy, then you'd know which of the ones is not an illusion.

In that case, you'd expect area attacks like Fireball to not break mirror image, either. I think it's more like D&D mages: mirror image takes concentration to maintain, and getting hit disrupts your concentration. Eye Shield eyeloss is probably painless so it doesn't disrupt your concentration.

-Max

MaxWilson
December 19th, 2008, 07:24 PM
...strength loss is permanent, and you can have negative Strength? In my game for this week, a custom province (from SemiRandom) had a bunch of R'lyeh-type creatures in it with ranged Steal Strength. I now have a whole squad of Ahiman Anakites, all of whome have Strength between -10 and -48. I haven't tested what happens if I try to besiege a castle with them. Actually the guy with -48 Strength should be really good at tearing down castle walls since your effectiveness scales with the square of your Strength. ;)

-Max

Dectilon
December 19th, 2008, 10:18 PM
Sometimes when you add a large stack of units to a commander you can exceed their command limit.

Example: I added 82 Mermidons to a commander with 80 command :)Are you sure about that? Normally, when you assign a stack of units, any excess beyond the commander's capacity simply isn't assigned. Two of those Myrmidons shouldn't have moved from the garrison or commander where they were when you selected them.

I'm sure. In retrospect I should've taken a screen shot :/

MaxWilson
December 19th, 2008, 10:26 PM
No, a screen shot would be irrelevant. It's known that you can do this, it's just surprising that you can do it accidentally (without adding and removing a command item). A screenshot wouldn't tell us anything that your words wouldn't.

Probably. I guess it's always possible the screenshot would reveal something we would otherwise overlook.

-Max

MaxWilson
December 20th, 2008, 03:18 AM
...it can rain spontaneously, without a spell needing to be cast? In this case, there will be no Battlefield Enchantment icon in the corner. The only way to know it's raining is either 1.) notice the raindrop graphics, or 2.) see that your fire mages are mysteriously taking way too much fatigue.

-Max

Deadnature
December 20th, 2008, 04:58 AM
...it can rain spontaneously, without a spell needing to be cast? In this case, there will be no Battlefield Enchantment icon in the corner. The only way to know it's raining is either 1.) notice the raindrop graphics, or 2.) see that your fire mages are mysteriously taking way too much fatigue.

-Max

same for snow too...

lch
December 20th, 2008, 06:45 AM
And for snow, you'll notice that your Water Elementals are suddenly Ice Elementals. :)

Provinces with high cold dominion don't have grass but only bare white ground. Maybe that's the case when it is snowing, too, can't remember.

chrispedersen
December 20th, 2008, 10:42 AM
it is.

Now, what are the chances of rain or snow?

Gregstrom
December 21st, 2008, 06:30 AM
My guess is that it's one weather check, and you get rain or snow depending on province temperature.

Is it known whether you can get storms as random weather?

JimMorrison
December 21st, 2008, 01:42 PM
My guess is that it's one weather check, and you get rain or snow depending on province temperature.

Is it known whether you can get storms as random weather?

I think I've seen them, on occasion (I watch WAY too many of my battles in SP....).

JimMorrison
December 21st, 2008, 01:44 PM
..... while your normal units will fight successive battles with lost HP and reduced ammunition, PD is not tracked on a per unit basis, and so is full strength in each battle, if they fight more than once in a month.

Slobby
December 24th, 2008, 04:13 PM
Did you know that demons are unaffected by the dominion of MA C'tis? While there are no national blood mages for em, it might still be an interesting path to put on your pretender and then create an all demon army. Also Sirrush's, while not having the cold blooded tag, are immune, yet the scorpian king, another national sacred summon without the cold blooded tag, is not.

vfb
December 24th, 2008, 06:14 PM
The Sirrush has swamp survival, which also gives immunity to C'tis miasma.

All demons and undead are unaffected by disease.

MaxWilson
December 25th, 2008, 07:29 PM
...when Decaying units disappear into a puff of blood at the end of a battle, it's because they got Diseased? Diseased units which are decaying lose one hit point per combat round, even if they can regenerate. (Tested on Hydra Hatchlings. 25 HP... 24 HP... 23 HP... etc. Apparently it doesn't regenerate.) Normally regenerating creatures do not lose hit points to disease over time, but this appears to be an exception.

Have I also mentioned that Fear From the Horror Harmonica does not affect friendly units? The graphic hits them but they do not actually suffer Fear effects.

-Max

MaxWilson
December 25th, 2008, 07:47 PM
...Blood Vengeance does NOT reflect Disintegrate? My guess is that this is because Disintegrate is 999 damage, which is a "special" number in Dom3. (For instance, attacks which cause 999 damage are not affected by Luck.) If so, other 999 damage attacks are probably also not affected by Blood Vengeance.

-Max

vfb
December 25th, 2008, 08:06 PM
Disintegrate got reflected when I tested it. You have to fail the save to take damage in order to have it reflect. You don't reflect damage that you don't take, if that makes any sense.


castspell: cnr96 spl405 (Disintegrate) vis0 x23 y15 spldmg999
vis 0 xvis 0
blastsqr: unr363 x23 y15 aoe0 dmg999 eff2 spc1082151040 as10186 al9
affectvic vic364 hv0
hitunit 363 364 dmg999 spec1082151040 ba2
spec_mr pen 13 mr 18 (unr 363 vic 364 dmg 2 eff 999)
damage shift negated 1007 pnts of dmg
hitunit 364 363 dmg1007 spec128 ba2
damage 1012 on Maker of Heroes, spec0x80 ba2

archaeolept
December 25th, 2008, 08:20 PM
ah good to know - it seemed unthematic that disintegrate wouldn't be reflected.

MaxWilson
December 25th, 2008, 08:32 PM
Disintegrate got reflected when I tested it. You have to fail the save to take damage in order to have it reflect. You don't reflect damage that you don't take, if that makes any sense.

Oh, okay. Sorry, my testing misled me. I dropped Kurgi into the middle of a battle and watched him reflect Fire Bolts, Incinerate, etc. back onto the caster, but Disintegrate always hit Kurgi. I guess you're right and it must have been just because Kurgi kept making his save. The debug log is always more reliable than empirical testing. :)

-Max

archaeolept
December 26th, 2008, 12:06 AM
the resistance roll is made by the original caster, modified by the targets blood vengeance; so, it could be that the Disintegrate caster had a higher MR than the others, making it more likely for the spell not to reflect.

vfb
December 26th, 2008, 01:20 AM
I omitted the first 4 casts of Disintegrate from the above log, sorry.

They look like this:


castspell: cnr96 spl405 (Disintegrate) vis0 x23 y15 spldmg999^M
vis 0 xvis 0^M
blastsqr: unr363 x23 y15 aoe0 dmg999 eff2 spc1082151040 as10186 al9^M
affectvic vic364 hv0^M
hitunit 363 364 dmg999 spec1082151040 ba2^M
spec_mr pen 13 mr 18 (unr 363 vic 364 dmg 2 eff 999)^M
resisted^M


It's the Fallen Angel with MR18 passing the MR check against Disintegrate (cast by an Eye-of-the-Void wielding MR12 Maker of Heroes). The first resistance roll is made by the unit with Blood Vengeance. If it passes the check, nothing more happens, since there was no damage taken.

But when the unit with Blood Vengeance fails the MR check, then the Disintegrate caster still gets a chance to avoid the reflected damage, and if that happens, the BV unit dies:


castspell: cnr94 spl405 (Disintegrate) vis0 x23 y16 spldmg999
vis 0 xvis 0
blastsqr: unr316 x23 y16 aoe0 dmg999 eff2 spc1082151040 as10186 al9
affectvic vic317 hv0
hitunit 316 317 dmg999 spec1082151040 ba2
spec_mr pen 13 mr 18 (unr 316 vic 317 dmg 2 eff 999)
damage 996 on Angel of Fury, spec0x40805080(missile) ba2


The roll versus mr 12 does not show up in the log, but it's there because sometimes the damage reflection works and the Maker dies (my post above) and sometimes it doesn't and the Angel dies (this post).

I tested with:
Disintegrate caster = Maker of Ruins, Eye of the Void (pen+2, mr 12)
BV target unit = Angel of Fury, Flesh Ward (mr 18, bv 4)

chrispedersen
December 26th, 2008, 11:51 AM
So you are saying there is a bug namely that if the target saves, the caster dies?

MaxWilson
December 26th, 2008, 02:14 PM
No, vfb is saying that the caster is not at risk unless the target would have died. I.e. casting Disintegrate on a unit with Blood Vengeance +100 and MR 100 would not be risky even though it would be useless.

I wonder if this applies to normal melee damage too. (Maybe that explains why Kurgi has such low Prot.) There's a lot I don't understand about Blood Vengeance because I never play Blood nations.

-Max

MaxWilson
January 1st, 2009, 05:46 PM
...Master Enslaving a blessed unit instantly changes the bless, in the middle of combat?

-Max

Lingchih
January 2nd, 2009, 07:33 AM
There's a lot I don't understand about Blood Vengeance because I never play Blood nations.

-Max

Yeah Max, you really need to play more blood nations. I shied away from them for years, but they are really powerful, and it's only a game, after all. They can be a pain, but it's really the way to go, late game, for a lot of nations.

MaxWilson
January 2nd, 2009, 01:06 PM
There's a lot I don't understand about Blood Vengeance because I never play Blood nations.

-Max

Yeah Max, you really need to play more blood nations. I shied away from them for years, but they are really powerful, and it's only a game, after all. They can be a pain, but it's really the way to go, late game, for a lot of nations.

A game which is specifically about being an evil, nasty, megolomaniacal god. I don't necessarily have problems with the RP aspect, I just love battlemages and hate gem-management (especially with the way the combat AI eats unnecessary gems), and the thought of having to have a gem carrier for each and every mage fills me with dread. The upkeep-free summons part is nice, though, so if I were to try a blood nation it would probably be Lanka for the Rakshasa Warriors and because they still have death magic (my favorite).

-Max

MaxWilson
January 3rd, 2009, 10:25 PM
...elephants have 3 misc slots?

-Max

MaxWilson
January 4th, 2009, 12:52 AM
...it is possible to get two afflictions off the same wound? I just had a priest get Never-healing Wound and Feebleminded off of one little red "4".

-Max

chrispedersen
January 4th, 2009, 01:06 AM
...it is possible to get two afflictions off the same wound? I just had a priest get Never-healing Wound and Feebleminded off of one little red "4".

-Max

I have seen the same thing.

While with normal wounds I don't think its possible, there are plenty of circumstances that will cause this.

For example.. Bow of Botulf, causes feeblemind - but the arrow causes damage, and if it causes damage you an also get an affliction from the damage. Its possible to rack up 2-3 afflictions simultaneously this way.

cleveland
January 4th, 2009, 01:27 AM
Is it possible he was hit twice by the same unit, and you saw two "4"s on top of each other? Two weapons? Quickness, perhaps? How many hp did he have after the attack?

MaxWilson
January 4th, 2009, 02:40 AM
Is it possible he was hit twice by the same unit, and you saw two "4"s on top of each other? Two weapons? Quickness, perhaps? How many hp did he have after the attack?

It was an arrow. Someone in that battle had a Bow of War, but there weren't any Bows of Botulf that I could see. Also, I only saw one arrow incoming, so I don't think it's two 4's superimposed. He had 31 out of 35 HP left after that arrow hit.

It's turn #7 of the battle in 508, attached.

-Max

chrispedersen
January 4th, 2009, 02:48 AM
Well, I haven't seen the turn, but again there are many ways this can occur.

Poison archers, where the poison has a secondary effect - the secondary effect can also cause an affliction.

Spells (or blessings) that have caused or added secondary damage such as flame arrows. Any secondary attack that is treated as a separate attack can also cause an affliction.

Affliction chance is something like
#dam/max hp as a % chance.

MaxWilson
January 4th, 2009, 06:05 AM
I was really surprised that it seemed to cause two afflictions. Maybe it's a bug, or maybe there really were two arrows and I'm just not seeing the second one--or maybe it's just an obscure case of the rule where there's a very small % chance to cause two afflictions.

-Max

thejeff
January 4th, 2009, 11:02 AM
I wonder if the %damage from the Never Healing Wound has the normal chance of causing another affliction?

Gandalf Parker
January 4th, 2009, 01:32 PM
Doesnt the game pick a spot to hit? Maybe the "never healing wound" and "feeblemind" were a head strike?

chrispedersen
January 5th, 2009, 10:43 AM
Whats the Difference Between....

Rodney
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa fire archers
GGGGGGGGGGGGGGG hold and attack


And

Rodney
GGGGGGGGGGGGGGG Hold and attack
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaa fire archers

where g is a size 4 giant, and a is some archer?
-------------------------------------------------------

GGGG
aaaaaG
aaaaaG
aaaaaG



GaGaGaGaGa
GaGaGaGaGa
GaGaGaGaGa
GaGaGaGaGa
GaGaGaGaGa


Night and day. So the first formation is more useful when you fear ground attack. The second is more useful when you are having an archer duel. (If the square with the archer and giant is hit, your giant has good chance of taking the hit leaving your archer to continue to fire)

analytic_kernel
January 5th, 2009, 11:45 AM
...Starshine Skullcaps add +1 RP to astral mages.

Sombre
January 5th, 2009, 11:46 AM
What, in addition to the +1RP for having an extra point of astral?

analytic_kernel
January 5th, 2009, 12:32 PM
What, in addition to the +1RP for having an extra point of astral?

Ooops. You're right. :doh:

chrispedersen
January 6th, 2009, 10:38 PM
Sooo the next interesting factoid sitting around in my head...
Whats the difference between

recruiting
ababababababababababababababababab

and recruiting
aaaaaaaaaaaaaabbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb?


Answer:
units are numbered sequentially. Units to the right tend to get placed toward the enemy. Try it a few times and you'll see what I mean.

JimMorrison
January 6th, 2009, 10:58 PM
I believe that units are placed in formation in a growing spiral, so alternating your recruitment should indeed give you a much better dispersal of your "combined arms" squad - see Figure A.

Figure A:

987
216
345

Due to double digit numbers, I cannot expand the spiral further. Unless I go fully alphanumeric! - see Figure B.

Figure B:

PONML
A987K
B216J
C345I
DEFGH

:happy:

chrispedersen
January 6th, 2009, 11:05 PM
yeah, that was my point Jim. but I was way to lazy to type it.
can make recruiting a pain in the ***.. but it pays dividends.

chrispedersen
January 6th, 2009, 11:08 PM
Interesting idea.. and does anyone know....

If you are equiped with two long weapons - like for example.. thunderwhips...

Do you get *two* repel attempts per enemy attack or 1?
Will each attack get decremented by 2, aka 2,2,4,4,6,6 or 2,4,6,8,10..
and will it chose the better attack?

Finally: as another quick tactic for people... Repelling works great if you are scary: (PoD!), or if you're spamming terror.... as the unit has to make an morale check to continue if repelled.

MaxWilson
January 7th, 2009, 01:04 AM
I believe that units are placed in formation in a growing spiral, so alternating your recruitment should indeed give you a much better dispersal of your "combined arms" squad - see Figure A.

Figure A:

987
216
345


Since chris's first post I have been paying more attention to this, and I have observed the opposite: it seems to start in the corner (where you have 3) and build from there. Specifically, I saw one squad

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

get placed like chris's first variant:

GGGG
aaaaaG
aaaaaG
aaaaaG

I'm still gathering observations, though. By the time I come back to Dom3 in a couple of weeks you'll probably have it all figured out. :)

-Max

JimMorrison
January 7th, 2009, 03:38 AM
Ohhhh, I like this. I've based this mostly off of observations of adding 1 turn of recruitment to your starting army. You're saying it's more like -

567
348
129

Basically building outward in 2 directions from the starting "corner" of the formation?

lch
January 7th, 2009, 05:57 AM
That might make sense, it would be pretty easy to get implemented in a for/while-loop. A better word may be concentric (quarter)circles than a spiral, if you want to be exact.

chrispedersen
January 7th, 2009, 10:25 AM
That might make sense, it would be pretty easy to get implemented in a for/while-loop. A better word may be concentric (quarter)circles than a spiral, if you want to be exact.

What they are basically doing (in my opinion)

A: Trunc (SQRT(units in formation))
B Form square

x..
...
1.x where x is the trunc'd sqrt.

C. Fill remaining:

The way to test this is to build 16of one unit, then 1 each of other units.

MaxWilson
January 10th, 2009, 05:26 PM
...you can still go Berserk when you're paralyzed? Your Protection goes up and you accumulate fatigue equal to your Berserk each turn.

I guess your body's still pumping adrenaline even though you can't actually *do* anything.

-Max

JimMorrison
January 10th, 2009, 05:42 PM
...you can still go Berserk when you're paralyzed? Your Protection goes up and you accumulate fatigue equal to your Berserk each turn.

I guess your body's still pumping adrenaline even though you can't actually *do* anything.

-Max

But OOOOHHH you're mad, and if you ever get your hands on that guy....!

Gokufan1988
January 10th, 2009, 08:02 PM
Does anyone know what happens to an immortal with twiceborn if it dies in friendly dominion?

MaxWilson
January 15th, 2009, 04:05 AM
...Agarthan Wet Ones change shape underwater like Mermen?

You probably didn't know that because there's no reason to ever recruit them[1]. ;)

-Max

[1] Not *quite* true. They are identical to Pale Ones except they don't have bucklers, which is normally bad, but if you just need a bunch of soldiers to siege a fort that's good because you can recruit twice as many per turn. Normally you wouldn't do that, though, because Agarthan militia are also resource cost 2 and cost only 7 gold instead of 10. But since militia have slightly worse stats than the already-chaffy Wet Ones, and worse Morale, maybe you'd take Wet Ones over militia if you were expecting to come under Fear attacks like from Wailing Winds or the Horror Harmonica, from the fort you're besieging. Maybe.

Aside from that, there's no reason to ever recruit them. Except to look at the pretty underwater graphics.

Edit: no, wait! Wet Ones also get +1 to attack/defense underwater, which means they are superior to Pale Ones for underwater expansion.

Sombre
January 15th, 2009, 05:26 AM
Yeah the wet ones are for underwater operations, obviously :]

Thought that was well known. Don't they also get extra AP?

MaxWilson
January 15th, 2009, 02:37 PM
I knew the wet ones were *supposedly* for underwater operations, but I could never before figure out why, since their stats are exactly the same on the commander screen except no buckler. (Unlike, say, Atlantis' Deep Ones vs. Atlantaean Militia.)

-Max

MaxWilson
January 17th, 2009, 11:00 PM
...Phoenix Pyre doesn't work in the magic nightmare from Vengeance of the Dead? Your caster neither explodes nor comes back to life, even if he's under 100 fatigue. I wonder if it's a special environment that prevents #secondshape from working.

-Max

Sombre
January 19th, 2009, 07:11 AM
Phoenix Pyre probably doesn't use secondshape to work. You could test it with a unit that definitely does (use secondshape) though.

MaxWilson
January 19th, 2009, 07:22 AM
Phoenix Pyre does (seem to) use secondshape or something like it--it's known that Chayot with Phoenix Pyre up don't get their #secondshape if they die with over 100 fatigue, they just explode and die.

You're right that you could double-check by VotD'ing a unit of Chayot or a Machakan spider knight commander or something.

-Max

vfb
February 4th, 2009, 11:21 AM
If you make a unique summon your prophet, and it gets killed, and you summon it back within 6 months, it's still your prophet (Ice Devil in my case).

Things I don't know:
- What if someone else summoned your killed prophet unit?
- What if it was more than 6 months and you summoned it again?

chrispedersen
February 4th, 2009, 03:33 PM
In some cases its better to wait to increment the holy power.

DonCorazon
March 3rd, 2009, 11:53 AM
Iassacharite Sybyls (Gath) can enter the Sybilline Caves (Arcos special capital site) and make use of its scrying ability.

Sombre
March 3rd, 2009, 12:18 PM
Are those the only two units that can?

JimMorrison
March 3rd, 2009, 09:56 PM
Enterable (is that a real word? :p) sites are not restricted, AFAIK.

I can confirm that Earth mages can use Agartha's scrying. I assume that you can enter the Void Gate as well, you just won't have much/any luck.

DonCorazon
March 3rd, 2009, 10:36 PM
Enterable (is that a real word? :p) sites are not restricted, AFAIK.

False. None of Gath's units other than the Iassacharite Sybyl's can enter the Sybilline Caves, which is why I thought it was cool. The site says "An Astral mage may enter to scry", but I have a 1S mage (non-Sybyl) who cannot use it. The description of the Iassacharite Sybyls alludes to them having learned their skills from the Sybyls of Arcos and that scholars refute this notion. Maybe this is the proof? :)

As for your question Sombre, I am not sure if any other units can the caves. I wonder if there is a hidden tag for Sybyl? Classic Dominions moment where you are amazed at the level of detail in the design (especially if it is just Sybyls).

vfb
March 3rd, 2009, 11:19 PM
Don, I think maybe you already had a mage scrying or something. I just tried sticking a Gath Virtue into the Sybilline Caves and had no problem. Only one mage can enter at a time. An S2 Kohen Gadol worked too.

The description of the Caves just says any astral mage can scry.

DonCorazon
March 3rd, 2009, 11:29 PM
Noooohhhh!!! :)

You're right vfb. I thought I'd checked that. So much for the Sybilline connection. Any Astral mage can use it. Oh well, still neat you can use someone else's national site, just not as cool as I thought.

JimMorrison
March 4th, 2009, 12:38 AM
Enterable (is that a real word? :p) sites are not restricted, AFAIK.

False.


I've figured it out. I read things on the forums, they seem to be true, and then I repeat them - and I always seem to be wrong. State something from my own experience that I've never seen anyone else say, I'm actually right. :rolleyes:

Agema
March 4th, 2009, 11:10 AM
I don't know if this has been reported before, but it appears mummies (Hall Of Fame returnee mummies anyway) can catch diseases and get afflictions from them.

chrispedersen
March 4th, 2009, 03:18 PM
Interesting.

I had reported that a mummy with the armor of virtue took damage and then went home (from the disease). I had looked at it as a problem with armor of return - but it may be he did indeed take damage from disease.

Gregstrom
March 4th, 2009, 04:54 PM
Any undead can catch diseases, I believe. Getting afflicted by them is a bit odd, though.

Edi
March 7th, 2009, 06:57 AM
Entering sites is not restricted by nation. Homemonsters and homecommanders are.

vfb
March 13th, 2009, 10:43 AM
Did you know ... if your MR drops to -1, then you die?

Foul Vapors + Life After Death = souless mage, MR5.
Feeblemind affliction = MR1.
Wielding Eye of Void = MR-1 ... oops! Unit vanishes in a puff of logic.

Log shows:

damage 9999 on Soulless, spec0x0 ba0^M
looseallitems: cnr 921(Dernan) unr 3684^M

JimMorrison
March 14th, 2009, 07:40 PM
Did you know ... if your MR drops to -1, then you die?

Foul Vapors + Life After Death = souless mage, MR5.
Feeblemind affliction = MR1.
Wielding Eye of Void = MR-1 ... oops! Unit vanishes in a puff of logic.

Log shows:

damage 9999 on Soulless, spec0x0 ba0^M
looseallitems: cnr 921(Dernan) unr 3684^M


Feebleminded Dragonfly, from Transformation -

vfb
March 14th, 2009, 08:25 PM
Did you bring this unit into a battle?

vfb
March 14th, 2009, 08:35 PM
Thanks Jim ... I should have tested more.

I just tested, and created a MR = -3 dragonfly, and it doesn't die in battle. I had tons of undead leadership on the field when my Soulless died. So I wonder what killed it?

It was unit #921's turn to move, but instead of moving, he just up and died.

Poopsi
March 14th, 2009, 08:37 PM
Thanks Jim ... I should have tested more.

I just tested, and created a MR = -3 dragonfly, and it doesn't die in battle. I had tons of undead leadership on the field when my Soulless died. So I wonder what killed it?

It was unit #921's turn to move, but instead of moving, he just up and died.
instagib by a soul slay?

(or maybe any other effect that magic resistance normally negates, but this time scored a critical hit?

Stavis_L
March 14th, 2009, 09:27 PM
Thanks Jim ... I should have tested more.

I just tested, and created a MR = -3 dragonfly, and it doesn't die in battle. I had tons of undead leadership on the field when my Soulless died. So I wonder what killed it?

It was unit #921's turn to move, but instead of moving, he just up and died.

-3 != -1
-2 != -1

...perhaps -1 is significant? i.e a != -1 vs. > 0 check in code.

Do negatives of other attributes behave this way for -1 vals?

vfb
March 14th, 2009, 09:39 PM
Thanks Jim ... I should have tested more.

I just tested, and created a MR = -3 dragonfly, and it doesn't die in battle. I had tons of undead leadership on the field when my Soulless died. So I wonder what killed it?

It was unit #921's turn to move, but instead of moving, he just up and died.
instagib by a soul slay?

(or maybe any other effect that magic resistance normally negates, but this time scored a critical hit?

No, I was fighting barbarians, and they were retreating when my Eye-wielding mage finally got zomfibied. Had the Ankh on a different unit, and cast Foul Vapors. No other BEs were in effect.

Rysith
April 6th, 2009, 11:02 PM
Sufficiently high levels of forge bonus can allow you to forge for free?

I currently have warrior smiths with hammers in a province with the Steel Ovens, with Forge of the Ancients up (I'm playing SP to learn) and they forge 5-gem items for free. Potentially more significantly, they forge 40-gem items for 6, so there is additional reduction beyond the normal 80% cap.

Endoperez
April 7th, 2009, 08:54 AM
I thought the limit was always 1 gem, with no way to go below that (with extreme forge bonus, Steel Ovens and Forge of the Ancients). Am I misremembering?

archaeolept
April 7th, 2009, 02:52 PM
you used to be able to forge 5 gem items for free, w/ enough bonii - i'm guessing it is still the same :)

Endoperez
April 7th, 2009, 03:19 PM
you used to be able to forge 5 gem items for free, w/ enough bonii - i'm guessing it is still the same :)

It must be a really impressive amount of bonuses, then, because I spesifically remember that when Hammer of the Cyclops, Forge of the Ancients and Steel Ovens were used and Ring of Wizardry still cost a gem.

You still have to have the gems in your lab, even if none will be consumed in the forging, right?

ano
April 7th, 2009, 04:11 PM
Just tested. If you have 50% bonus hammer, FoTA and 20% bonus site 5-gem items are free indeed. With (and without) dwarven hammer they cost 1 gem.
If mage has 25% forge bonus then with dwarven hammer, FoTA and bonus site he may also forge items for free. Free fire brands, for example:)

ano
April 7th, 2009, 04:20 PM
Tested a bit more. Even 15% innate bonus on a mage is enough. This means Taimai elders and LA Ulm Black priests can also make free items if they have luck to find construction bonus site. Sounds evil.

Baalz
April 7th, 2009, 05:10 PM
Well, in practice generally 1 gem with no hammer is better than no gems with a hammer by the point of the game you're putting up forge of the ancients, etc.

Rysith
April 9th, 2009, 01:41 AM
Well, in practice generally 1 gem with no hammer is better than no gems with a hammer by the point of the game you're putting up forge of the ancients, etc.

The point isn't so much that you can get free items, but that it's possible to exceed the 80% cost reduction cap, which I had previously thought was a hard limit. As I mentioned, with the same set of bonuses they forge 40-gem items for 6.

I suspect that the key is pushing the bonus to 80% before the site bonus is factored in, and then the site bonus ends up pushing it beyond 80% reduction (and truncating, so items costing fractional gems are free).

MaxWilson
April 14th, 2009, 01:10 AM
I've never heard of an "80% cost reduction cap" (except in GURPS) before. The algorithm is pretty simple: if there's Forge of the Ancients up, halve cost and round down. Then apply your forge bonus and round down again. And yes, you can forge cheap items for free with a large enough bonus, although in practice it's probably better to forge an expensive item for really cheap.

-Max

Zeldor
May 8th, 2009, 04:44 PM
Now you can see that fighting in void has its penalties:

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Zeldor/void.jpg

chrispedersen
May 8th, 2009, 06:40 PM
Interesting.. how did you get that.. I don't think R. suffers that.

Aezeal
May 8th, 2009, 08:24 PM
but void beings don't get it I guess?

Zeldor
May 9th, 2009, 02:19 AM
Battle for guy Lost in time and space.

darloth
May 12th, 2009, 03:45 PM
Fire Plate (at least in CBM) adds 2 to morale but never mentions that in its description.

I certainly didn't. Sorry if it's been mentioned already.

Illuminated One
May 12th, 2009, 03:52 PM
The R'lyeh Visitor hero can fly from one water province to another. Even when sea of ice is up.

archaeolept
May 12th, 2009, 04:32 PM
morale +2 for fireplate is in the manual

darloth
May 15th, 2009, 03:46 PM
But not in the item description. I only ever checked the manual for magic item descriptions early, now I vaguely remember and use the game when they show up.

P3D
May 17th, 2009, 01:50 PM
Cold resistance does NOT negate the encumbrance penalty of coldblooded creatures in cold climate, only the extreme cold penalty (+2 enc).

Zargen
May 19th, 2009, 01:30 AM
If you make a prophet out of a Warlord(EA at least) He gets a new graphic as well as superior weapons. Goes from 2 axes to 2 battleaxes

Frozen Lama
May 19th, 2009, 07:08 PM
If you make a prophet out of a Warlord(EA at least) He gets a new graphic as well as superior weapons. Goes from 2 axes to 2 battleaxes

thats interesting, i knew that the graphic often changes, but i did not know that their actual gear ever changed.

Edi
May 20th, 2009, 07:56 AM
If you make a prophet out of a Warlord(EA at least) He gets a new graphic as well as superior weapons. Goes from 2 axes to 2 battleaxes

thats interesting, i knew that the graphic often changes, but i did not know that their actual gear ever changed.
Every time the graphic changes, the unit type has changed. There is a list somewhere. Search for the term "prophet form".

earcaraxe
October 5th, 2010, 07:58 AM
There should be a sticky with all the undocumented key shortcuts...

its quite an old post, i wonder wether there is a list of these "undocumented", rarely known shortcuts (for instance the shift+u on the battle screen and such).

HoneyBadger
October 5th, 2010, 08:26 AM
[quote=Frozen Lama;691854][quote=Zargen;691731]Every time the graphic changes, the unit type has changed. There is a list somewhere. Search for the term "prophet form".

It's probably on the Board somewhere, but it's sadly not in the Dom3Wiki, atleast under that term.

Nauquan
October 5th, 2010, 11:37 PM
Good News:
I got a province with two sites that reduced magic costs in the same category (50% Conjuration, and 20% Conjuration)

Bad News:
They don't stack. Only got the 50% reduction

Jarkko
October 6th, 2010, 01:12 AM
It's probably on the Board somewhere, but it's sadly not in the Dom3Wiki, atleast under that term.
AoE made a nice thread about the prophet-form-changes a couple years ago:
http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=40553

Dark Kitty
October 6th, 2010, 12:36 PM
Cold resistance does NOT negate the encumbrance penalty of coldblooded creatures in cold climate, only the extreme cold penalty (+2 enc).
Apparently, there is something similar for non-cold-blooded creature : I made a SP game with Caelum and a Virtue recently and she was still suffering from higher encumbrance after I put a ring of CR on her (although it was not listed in the encumbrance field anymore). I can't remember if base encumbrance was still one, but melee and spellcasting encumbrance were 3 without any other gear or any affliction.