.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Space Empires: IV & V (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   PBW - Loosers Who Quit (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=20387)

Kyro_Hawk August 16th, 2004 04:41 AM

PBW - Loosers Who Quit

This is my first post here. I have lurked for a good long time and have been playing Gold since Last year when I bought the original game at a yard sale. Imagin my surprise when I discovered that there was a Gold Version and that the game was still being played.

I am new to the PBW thing and I find it a little more than frustrating when a player quits a game without telling any one. Especially any games I host.

I was thinking that a player rating system at PBW or for PBW players would be a novel idea. Since I cannot get the PBW forums to come up, I am posting the idea here.

This way when we host a game, we can check the player record for the players who want to play. If the rating is poor, will know not to let them in to the game.

To avoid abuse of this kind of system, limit entries to ONLY one per other player. Leave room for comment and rebutal.

Good idea or bad?

csebal August 16th, 2004 06:14 AM

Re: PBW - Loosers Who Quit

Leaves too much room for abuse.

Leaving without telling about it to others may not be fair, but keep in mind, that we are all humans, and have real lives to take care of, which is more important than any of the games we may play.

Then again, i think you are mostly talking about players leaving when their luck takes a bad turn, and their empire starts to fall apart.

While staying in a game, that is already lost, is a noble and respectful act, it takes a certain kind of player.

Most gamers play to have fun. The ultimate goal of a game is to entertain. Fighting a losing war is not fun to most, and frankly, you cant force them to play against their will.