.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   SEV Modders Knowledge Base (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=154)
-   -   Different models for higher tech vehicle hulls (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=32287)

Urendi Maleldil December 12th, 2006 02:16 AM

Different models for higher tech vehicle hulls
 
I wonder if it would be possible to have different .x models for more advanced ships. So a Level 3 Destroyer would look slightly more advanced than a Level 1 Destroyer.

I have no way to test it, but maybe you could modify the entries in the Vehicle Sizes data file to something like:

Vehicle XFile Class Name Primary := [%EmpireName%][%Level%] Destroyer

and have .x files named "Sergetti1 Destroyer", "Sergetti2 Destroyer", etc.

Kana December 12th, 2006 04:37 AM

Re: Different models for higher tech vehicle hulls
 
I believe I asked a similar question right after the demo came out...

Quote:

Kana said:
Can you pick different models for each level increase in a ship class?

This would facilitate the improvement and upgrade of certain vessel classes. A Frigate from WW1 is completely different from a Frigate of modern times. Or another example would be like the progression of a the Enterprise in Star Trek, from the TV version to the Movie version.

Quote:

Phoenix-D said:
Can't be done.

You could however make new ship classes available, but you'd have a very cluttered ship design screen.

But there is always a chance there is way around everything so dont take this as a definted no.

Raapys December 12th, 2006 11:33 AM

Re: Different models for higher tech vehicle hulls
 
The X file class names doesn't take formulas, so it's not possible like that.

It's possible by adding new actual research/ship entries, like Phoenix says. You could escape the cluttered ship design screen by making the older ship and its related tech area become unavailable when the newer version is researched. It'd be long shipsizes/techareas files though.

President_Elect_Shang December 12th, 2006 11:49 AM

Re: Different models for higher tech vehicle hulls
 
At this time generational items are not working unless the player reloads the game.

Raapys December 12th, 2006 11:53 AM

Re: Different models for higher tech vehicle hulls
 
Oh. That's not so great then.

Phoenix-D December 12th, 2006 01:03 PM

Re: Different models for higher tech vehicle hulls
 
Yes and no. They work fine in research, not in components, and I haven't tested vehiclesizes yet.

President_Elect_Shang December 12th, 2006 01:47 PM

Re: Different models for higher tech vehicle hulls
 
I don’t think research qualifies as generational though. If you think about it there is nothing that truly “phases” out per-say. Even when you complete research in one tech line it doesn’t phase out of the research screen, it just grays out. But that’s neither her nor there. I haven’t tested this for X files either, for vehicles sizes yes so it would stand to reason…

Phoenix-D December 12th, 2006 01:54 PM

Re: Different models for higher tech vehicle hulls
 
No, I meant doing research the same way as components.

If you give, say, Projectile Weapons this requirement:
Projectile Weapons < 5

it'll disappear from the tech screen when it hits 5.

Vehicle sizes act that same as components, though. :/

President_Elect_Shang December 12th, 2006 03:05 PM

Re: Different models for higher tech vehicle hulls
 
That gives me an idea to test...

President_Elect_Shang December 12th, 2006 04:09 PM

Re: Different models for higher tech vehicle hulls
 
And this example (for levels 2, 4, & 5) isn’t working in the components because?

DUC
Req 1: Projectile Weapons >2 AND <6
Req 2: Master Weapon Tech > 5

The Components.txt is read only once on load or because there are 2 Reqs?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.