.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Dominions 3: The Awakening (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   Question: Since I patched the game, the copy protection sets in (Steam) (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=50351)

Ilja July 13th, 2014 05:30 PM

Since I patched the game, the copy protection sets in (Steam)
 
So, I have the game through steam, and while I haven't played it for some months, I just now got back and saw there was a patch. Thought "why not?" and downloaded, but since I've moved my game to C:/Dominions (due to it running more stable there) I had to do a full reinstall.

Now when I start the game, as soon as I click anything, the menus to the left disappears. After a bit of googling it seems this is the copy-protection.

I tried deleting the "key" file in the folder to let steam download it again, to no success - the problem remains.

Anyone know why this happens? I have the game legit, and I've never posted the cd-key anywhere (in fact up until now I barely knew there was one) or copied the game anywhere else.

Thanks for any answer, official or not.

Regards, Ilja.

Ilja July 14th, 2014 04:48 AM

Re: Since I patched the game, the copy protection sets in (Steam)
 
Okay, so things just got even weirder. I went to my desktop to play Dom instead (my issues so far was on my laptop), since I've got an older copy installed that that I know exists. I thought. Because now copy-protection sets in there too? I haven't even started Steam, the game is installed at C:/Dominions, and I've never had issues there before, having several saved games that I've played for 100+ turns.

And I haven't patched the game there, didn't even have steam running at the time of playing! How would that even work, on a technical level? This is going from slightly annoying to truly frustrating. I have such a Dom craving! What to do? :(

Ilja July 17th, 2014 02:27 AM

Re: Since I patched the game, the copy protection sets in (Steam)
 
Bumping since I still have this issue. Anyone know who I should contact?

Soyweiser July 17th, 2014 05:08 PM

Re: Since I patched the game, the copy protection sets in (Steam)
 
Yeah, you could contact the developers through steam. This is the OLD publisher from dom3. Not the current one. So they do not provide support. Sorry. Try again here: http://www.desura.com/games/dominion...wakening/forum

Ilja July 19th, 2014 02:35 AM

Re: Since I patched the game, the copy protection sets in (Steam)
 
Oh, I'll try there. Thanks a lot!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.