.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   WinSPWW2 (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=139)
-   -   on what OS does SPWW2 run best? (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=51776)

Akmatov December 13th, 2017 02:11 AM

on what OS does SPWW2 run best?
 
Working on getting SPWW2 to run on Win7. Currently can run in Full Screen before colours go crazy or Windowed on a quite small window that takes up about 25% of my monitor and doesn't seem capable of having the window resized. All the above might be due to me not knowing how to tweek things properly.

I'm considering setting up a small computer I have as my internet computer given the crazy stuff happening on the internet. There would be plenty of room for me to do a SPWW2, and SPMBT, install. So what is the OS the runs with out the Graphics swamp?

RightDeve December 13th, 2017 03:21 AM

Re: on what OS does SPWW2 run best?
 
Look at this thread
http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=51247

I'm still usung win 7

Imp December 13th, 2017 06:31 AM

Re: on what OS does SPWW2 run best?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Akmatov (Post 840490)
Currently can run in Full Screen before colours go crazy or Windowed on a quite small window that takes up about 25% of my monitor and doesn't seem capable of having the window resized.

I am assuming you are using the free version, paid version improves graphics and lets you choose window sizes.
I set to descktop normaly but if keeping an eye on other stuff sometimes leave a portion of my desktop visible.

Akmatov December 13th, 2017 09:52 AM

Re: on what OS does SPWW2 run best?
 
Have the paid version, and SPMBT also.

And yes you can select resolution but on my Win7 x64 I get a choice of small or smaller windows that can not be adjusted to a different size. Desktop resolution is totally unusable.

13"x 24" Monitor

Game Window
9" x 7" - 1024x768
11" x 14" 1600x1280

And with the game installed outside of Windows program folders I can play five turn at full screen before the colour go crazy. Will now check to see what it does with the colours in a window.

Akmatov December 13th, 2017 09:53 AM

Re: on what OS does SPWW2 run best?
 
Right Deve - I tried that last night and didn't work. Will try again. That it works for you is hopeful. I really really want this working.

Akmatov December 13th, 2017 10:03 AM

Re: on what OS does SPWW2 run best?
 
OK, just ran through 13 turns in a window with no problems with the colour. So I guess I basically have a functional setup just with fixed small windows.

Will try the suggestion again from Right Deve as my eyes really need better.

scorpio_rocks December 13th, 2017 10:21 AM

Re: on what OS does SPWW2 run best?
 
If you run in windowed mode with screen/window size set to "Desktop" with the game installed correctly (outside windows structure) there should be no small windows with the paid (CD) version...

Why do you say "...desktop resolution is totally unusable..."?

Mobhack December 13th, 2017 10:32 AM

Re: on what OS does SPWW2 run best?
 
1) Full screen mode support is only there for legacy reasons. Modern Windows (post XP) has problems with the 256 colour palette, especially Windows 7 whose "aero" interface writes over the 256 colour palette. That is why the game will launch a script file that kills the aero interface in Win7 in full-screen mode.

This is all explained in the "Tuning your Machine" section of the Game Guide in the big box titled "Windows Vista and Seven" that is at the very start of that section.

2) Windowed mode uses the normal Windows 32 bit palette and so does not suffer from losing the 256 colour palette to Windows (especially 7). Desktop resolution uses your full screen size, less the windows task-bar at the bottom of the screen. Desktop resolution also handles modern wide screen monitors.

3) For those CD Game owners who want a "zoomed in" version the following work around has been suggested by players:

a) Set your windows desktop to one of its smaller resolutions.
a.1) Ensure that you choose a windows desktop resolution that has the normal height/width proportions (some of the offered ones may stretch the game icons).
b) Launch the game in Windowed mode in desktop resolution. The game is now using your reduced windows desktop size, say 1280x720.
c) Once done playing then reset the windows desktop size.

DRG December 13th, 2017 10:44 AM

Re: on what OS does SPWW2 run best?
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Akmatov (Post 840496)
Have the paid version, and SPMBT also.

And yes you can select resolution but on my Win7 x64 I get a choice of small or smaller windows that can not be adjusted to a different size. Desktop resolution is totally unusable.

13"x 24" Monitor

Game Window
9" x 7" - 1024x768
11" x 14" 1600x1280

And with the game installed outside of Windows program folders I can play five turn at full screen before the colour go crazy. Will now check to see what it does with the colours in a window.

Where do you have the game installed ? It CANNOT be through Program Files in win7. It must be C:
http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/attac...1&d=1513176200

If you are set up correctly and cannot run desktop you are the one and only I know of who has ever had a problem

DRG December 13th, 2017 10:49 AM

Re: on what OS does SPWW2 run best?
 
Also...... you have made over 100 posts.....WHY are we only hearing about this now? Did it work before ?? What's changed at your end ?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.