.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Dominions 3: The Awakening (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   EA T'ien Chi (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=34915)

Crafty June 1st, 2007 05:00 PM

EA T\'ien Chi

Hi newbie here.

I would like to try EA T'ien Chi next, any ideas on how to do a SC build for the pretender? This is just SP of course.

Any thoughts are welcome. In my first game as EA C'tis, I didn't give my pretender any paths in astral at all, but it seems for SC builds, Astral is good to have cos of a lot of low level buff spells like etheralness, twist fate and luck?

I'm playing at the normal difficulty level (the second one).

jutetrea June 1st, 2007 05:34 PM

Re: EA T\'ien Chi

Depends on how you're going with magic, and if you want a bless or not.

Personally: I like rainbow pretenders for magic/forging later in the game.

If going SC I would go for:
Ghost king - Lvl 2-4 astral+ lvl 4 water, death, fire, earth +1 or 2 other lvl 4's + scales, sleeping
Would still give good magic variety later

If I wanted something out of the gate
Dragon - heavy water = good def
Wyrm - either just astral or no magic. Possibly 2 paths if you have points
Cyclops - heavy earth = good prot
maybe even vamp queen - but pretty expensive
Most good SCs have a high path cost, so their magic variety is low

Alteration/enchant early for buffs, const early for items

Jazzepi June 1st, 2007 05:43 PM

You can do a sleeping ghost king with 5 levels in death to give him +10 fear for a large radius fear effect.

You'll have to alchemize to get the earth gems to equip him, but otherwise you can forge all the base equipment he'll need out the gate.

Jazzepi

Gandalf Parker June 1st, 2007 05:49 PM

+3 luck can be alot of fun in solo play. Especially if you take -2 order so that more things happen. Add one of the +luck gods that Tien Chi gets and it should be very interesting.