.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Campaigns, Scenarios & Maps (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=106)
-   -   Map: Height Maps (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=50616)

lukerduker123 January 27th, 2015 04:39 PM

Height Maps

Hello, I'm kind of new to the map making scene. Right now I'm working on a map that involves a battle that ended just a few days ago and need some help when it comes to mapping. I just can't get the heights right! I tried using Google Earth but without contours I'm afraid I'm at a loss. Is there any program or addon that allows me to see height mapping or contours on Google Earth? Thanks!

shahadi January 27th, 2015 08:19 PM

Re: Height Maps

Quote:

Originally Posted by lukerduker123 (Post 828061)
Hello, I'm kind of new to the map making scene. Right now I'm working on a map that involves a battle that ended just a few days ago and need some help when it comes to mapping. I just can't get the heights right! I tried using Google Earth but without contours I'm afraid I'm at a loss. Is there any program or addon that allows me to see height mapping or contours on Google Earth? Thanks!

Yeah, but I suggest satellite view, then you can use the zoom and change the altitude to get perspective.

There's a program called Microdem that will help develop the map from Google Earth and other sources. This thread by MarkSheppard may help you.

lukerduker123 January 28th, 2015 03:36 AM

Thanks for the help! The only issue I have now is that the SP color mapping does not go above 340 apparently. Anyway to fix this issue?

Suhiir January 28th, 2015 04:28 AM

Due to the way the game (and it's engine) works there is a maximum height.
Think of it as height above (or below) the average terrain height NOT above sea level.

lukerduker123 January 28th, 2015 04:45 AM