.com.unity Forums

.com.unity Forums (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/index.php)
-   Weird Worlds: Return to Infinite Space (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=125)
-   -   Relative Merits of Ship/Mission Types (http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=27232)

Adam_Bomb January 6th, 2006 07:36 PM

Relative Merits of Ship/Mission Types

I'm pretty new to the game, so I'd like some input on the relative strengths and weaknesses of the three ships. Here's what I've noticed so far:

Science Vessel:
+ Only ship to start with Hyperwave Filter Array
* Ship items are cheap, making them easier to obtain but worth fewer points
+ Most cargo space (16)
- Fewest hardpoints (1 weapon, 4 systems)

Pirate Corvette:
+ Only ship to start with Fusion Tube Thrusters
+ Easy primary mission
* Mid-priced items
* Adequate hardpoints (2 weapons, 5 systems)
* Adequate cargo space (12)

Terran Frigate:
+ Most hardpoints (3 weapons, 6 systems)
* Ship items are expensive, making them harder to obtain but worth more points
- Least cargo space (8)

What weight would you give to the different ships' strengths and weaknesses? I can see how a frigate has the potential to become a powerhouse, but in my games so far, it never reaches that potential on a small map, whereas the other two ships can much more easily trade to reach their full potential.

MrFantastic January 7th, 2006 05:18 PM

Re: Relative Merits of Ship/Mission Types

The starting weapons on the pirate and frigate are barly worth mention in significance, however starting with a scanner is a significant time saver and good for the mateiculous planners.

Also please note the significantly different cargo spaces on the three ships.

Personally I like science on a large map for the big cargo space, otherwise im still experimenting.

Adam_Bomb January 10th, 2006 03:09 PM