.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze - Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank - Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > SprueGames > Salvo!
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 28th, 2005, 01:54 AM

mscano mscano is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mscano is on a distinguished road
Default Slow performance

The game seems to run really slow for me. Computer specs: 512mb ram, PentIII 933mhz, Geforce4Ti4200 128 mb video, 17gigs free on HD, Windows XP pro. I know it's an older computer, but I still run games like Call to Duty just fine. The quality of the graphics does not justify the slow performance. Anyone have any suggestions on settings, etc...?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 30th, 2005, 10:27 PM
Andrew Lonon's Avatar

Andrew Lonon Andrew Lonon is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: 201 Snow Bld: Durham NC
Posts: 409
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Andrew Lonon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Slow performance

Mscano:

One thing to try is the Turbo Mode. Turn Turbo mode on by pressing the Page down key (for minimal turbo mode) or turn turbo Mode on in the Salvo Settings panel for significant turbo. Turbo eliminates some of the more computational things like transparency and ship reflections. It also limits the display depth, which can create less than ideal displays. (That is why you may want to try the page_up and Page_down keys because they affect the display depth while leaving the reflections turned off.)

If this does not help, then let em know what battles you are playing (or have tried) and Ill see if there is anything I can do.
__________________
Andrew Lonon
http://www.spruegames.com/

"There is nothing- absolutely nothing- half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats." - Ratty
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 4th, 2005, 06:01 AM

BlackVoid BlackVoid is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BlackVoid is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Slow performance

Very sluggish for me as well in 1280x1024.
2 GHz P4, 1G RAM, ATI Radeon 9800 Pro.

I have tried with lower resolution and in 1024x768 it is much better, BUT I have to switch my desktop resolution for this - not very friendly.

The game seems to be using the Windows GDI graphics interface - is this the case? GDI is VERY slow...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 4th, 2005, 02:39 PM

BlackVoid BlackVoid is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BlackVoid is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Slow performance

Well, I had another go today at the demo in 1024x768 AND turbo mode. The game still produces less than 15 frames per second.

Scrolling with the mouse does not work and scrolling in general is sluggish. Tooltips are switched ON, but if I hover my mouse over a button it says nothing.

Controlling the game is a struggle... I really wanted to like this (and buy), but....

And where is the multiplayer anyway???
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 18th, 2005, 12:18 PM

mscano mscano is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mscano is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Slow performance

Just built a new machine, Pent.4 3ghz processor, 2 gigs of ram, geforce 6200 video card and the game still runs poorly. I agree with BlackVoid, I was really looking foward to this game, but I am throughly disappointed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 18th, 2005, 09:19 PM
Strider's Avatar

Strider Strider is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Bakersfield CA USA
Posts: 1,524
Thanks: 7
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Strider is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Slow performance

Hmmm...I'm running the game itself, on a P2.4 with 1 gig RAM and a Radeon 9600 (1280x1024). XP pro SP2 and DirectX 9c. The only time I experience sluggish behavior is when I change the "Size" setting, then it's a bit of delay before the screen is redrawn. The tooltips do take a second to pop up, tho.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 19th, 2005, 12:40 PM
JDC's Avatar

JDC JDC is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 163
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JDC is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Slow performance

I didn't have any of these problems and I just habe 1.5 Ghz.
__________________
Jim Cobb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.