.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze - Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank - Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars > Scenarios, Maps & Mods

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 29th, 2006, 12:20 PM

knowbuddyuno knowbuddyuno is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
knowbuddyuno is on a distinguished road
Default Need Help Modding Unit Graphics

Hello all, I've been lurking around here for about a month (I've owned Dominions II for just over a month and a half now), and after reading Endoperez's guide to unit graphics capture and modding I thought I'd give it a go. Everything works fine with the editing until the last couple of steps. I set the background to black and save the file as a .tga file, but in the game my unit has a black box around it. I made sure it was RGB 0, 0, 0, but it didn't make any difference. Anyone know how to solve this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 29th, 2006, 02:45 PM
Endoperez's Avatar

Endoperez Endoperez is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
Endoperez is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need Help Modding Unit Graphics

Somebody actually READ that one? Used it? Thank you so much, that made my day!

I don't know why that doesn't work. Just in case, try saving it again with a different program. It's been quite some time before I did anything with the sprites, but I think I had to re-save every .tga again (to .tga!) with IrfanView.

If that doesn't work, you can always attach it into a post. In that case, remember to put it in a zip file first. The forum doesn't allow tga attachments.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 29th, 2006, 03:33 PM
Amos's Avatar

Amos Amos is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 867
Thanks: 0
Thanked 41 Times in 19 Posts
Amos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need Help Modding Unit Graphics

What program do you use?
I could post a black 128x128 .tga for you if you want.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 30th, 2006, 03:13 AM

knowbuddyuno knowbuddyuno is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
knowbuddyuno is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need Help Modding Unit Graphics

Thanks Endoperez, using Irfanview worked like a charm. Apparently, PC Image Editor wasn't saving the black background as actual black. And Thanks for the offer, Amos. Now it's back to modding my friends into the game as custom heroes. Thanks again, guys.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 30th, 2006, 05:59 AM
Endoperez's Avatar

Endoperez Endoperez is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
Endoperez is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need Help Modding Unit Graphics

The background HAS to be actual black. Dominion interprets the black as transparent. IIRC correctly, transparency also works. However, I had some problems with that as well. It seems there are few different ways to encode TGA pictures, and Dominions only supports the default one, or something along those lines.

Glad to help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 3rd, 2006, 08:54 AM

Tyrian Tyrian is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 88
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Tyrian is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need Help Modding Unit Graphics

Where is that interesting guide? I have started a mod based on Age Of Wonders, and the graphic is not my best skills . If I can use the graphics of the game, it can be a very good news.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 3rd, 2006, 12:13 PM
Endoperez's Avatar

Endoperez Endoperez is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
Endoperez is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need Help Modding Unit Graphics

I'm not sure where or when I originally posted it. From the dates, it seems that it was in the beginning of 2005. I found the zip I probably posted, so I'll attach it here.

It's not a simple process, and the guide isn't that good either, but it should get the job done.

Last edited by Endoperez; August 13th, 2008 at 12:32 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 5th, 2006, 04:45 PM

Tyrian Tyrian is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 88
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Tyrian is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need Help Modding Unit Graphics

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 7th, 2006, 06:57 PM
BigJMoney's Avatar

BigJMoney BigJMoney is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 403
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BigJMoney is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need Help Modding Unit Graphics

Hm, would it be possible to mod in different map-screen temple graphics for different empires? I always thought it would be cool if Mictlan's temples looked more like they actually do.

=$= Big J Money =$=
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 8th, 2006, 08:31 AM
Endoperez's Avatar

Endoperez Endoperez is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
Endoperez is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need Help Modding Unit Graphics

Not to my knowledge.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.