.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

The Falklands War - Save $7.00
War Plan Pacific - Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > ProSimCo > BCT, ATF, AATF and Battle Group Commander Series
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 29th, 2014, 10:58 PM
Grandpa Kim's Avatar

Grandpa Kim Grandpa Kim is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 858
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Grandpa Kim is on a distinguished road
Default ATF: Deployment Issues

After puzzling things out with the demo and deciding I like this game, I now am running into some odd problems with the full game.

I am playing Bihac 1, the first scenario in the list.

1. As I deploy my hierarchies defensively I find that new path nodes have been added. I checked this because I didn't like the facing and quickly saw the additional nodes. In one case, I actually had to zoom out to see the whole path. It was pretty damn random. It seems a node is added if I left click on the company icon or exit pathing mode (could be some other clicks do this too) and then the whole structure moves to new locations in the area. Since these new path nodes invariably give me a new facing, the commander must change to positions favorable to that new facing. At least that's my guess.

2. Units are not finding good cover on their own. Even if I have holes placed, only a lucky one or two will use them. Most of the team stays in the default SBF/Defense line oriented in a random direction (see above). Yes, I'm using the right kind of holes.

3. To me it looks like a company in SBF/Defense is spread over too wide an area. Typically over a distance of 3 km. and terribly unevenly. In one case, all units were together in line except one PL. He was way forward. My thought was "Whoa! Leave that job to the scouts!" Platoons alone deploy more appropriately.

Placing units individually works fine but that kind of defeats the top down command feature. As well placing a hundred or so units one at a time is a PITA.

I did do a lot of checking in the manual to see if I was making a silly mistake. Looks like I wasn't. I did make some small procedural changes but they didn't seem to help. I bit the bullet after quitting the game and changed to 16 bit color depth from 32 bit. Then I started a new game. That didn't help.

I see nothing about this in the forums so I am at a loss. Any ideas?
__________________
Those who can, do.
Those who can't, teach.
Those who can't teach, slag.

http://se4-gaming.net/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 6th, 2014, 10:59 PM
Grandpa Kim's Avatar

Grandpa Kim Grandpa Kim is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 858
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Grandpa Kim is on a distinguished road
Default Re: ATF: Deployment Issues

I've played a few games now and surprise, surprise, this game is just as glitchy as any new game these days. From what I can figure ATF is just one of a series of games which seems to culminate in AATF. Is that correct?

So, the question is, is AATF a little more user friendly and with fewer bugs? ATF does seem realistic despite the bugs and I might like to purchase AATF if it's an all round better game.
__________________
Those who can, do.
Those who can't, teach.
Those who can't teach, slag.

http://se4-gaming.net/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.