.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander- Save $6.00
World Supremacy- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: Starfury

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old December 26th, 2005, 02:43 AM
Suicide Junkie's Avatar
Suicide Junkie Suicide Junkie is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,451
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Suicide Junkie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions? Need help? Look here

The menu that has the "play game" / "video settings" and such?
Yikes, that's not good.

Main tip:
- Never edit the stock files.
Instead, copy the campaign folder, and edit your "copy of campaign X".

I would suggest reinstalling SF as the most straightforward thing to do next. It sounds like something must have gotten corrupted in the exe... You didn't have a catastrophic failure lately? Power outage while loading or something?
Mught want to do a virus scan too just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old December 26th, 2005, 02:53 AM

Siirenias Siirenias is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Siirenias is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions? Need help? Look here

Thanks for the tip, and suggestion. Unfortunatly, Reinstalling did not make the problem go away, for some reason.

I don't think I had any interruption of installation on either installation. I'm not sure what happened...but it didn't make a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old December 26th, 2005, 03:05 AM
Suicide Junkie's Avatar
Suicide Junkie Suicide Junkie is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,451
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Suicide Junkie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions? Need help? Look here

I suppose you could check & update your video and sound drivers. DirectX too.

If that dosen't work, email Aaron at sf@malfador.com with the error message, and all your system details.
I've got to get to bed now... too many Xmas parties.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old November 25th, 2006, 04:20 PM

Siirenias Siirenias is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Siirenias is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions? Need help? Look here

Hey...I was wondering. A while back, I tried to pick this game back up, but encountered some sort of security issue. When I installed the game, I didn't need this security code, but it suddenly demanded it. I'm not even sure why. I tried tech support, and will again on Monday, but so far, solutions seem to go nowhere. Has anyone else had a prompt come up asking for a code in order to play (or go to some fictitious "default" playing thing)?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old November 27th, 2006, 11:49 AM
Combat Wombat's Avatar

Combat Wombat Combat Wombat is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota/South Dakota
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Combat Wombat is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions? Need help? Look here

Ya thats Strategy First's copy protection. Only advice I have is to just talk to them.
__________________
You can give a man fire and he will be warm for a day but set him on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.

A* Se+++ GdQ $? Fr! C* Css Sf-- Ai% Au M+++ Mp* S@ Ss++++ RNSHP Pw++ Fq+++ Nd++ Rp++ G++++ Mm++ Bb+++@ L+ Tcp--
Get the newest Version of Invasion! here: http://www.secenter.org/

Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old January 27th, 2007, 07:55 PM

arkenstar arkenstar is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
arkenstar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions? Need help? Look here

After I passed the first campeign, I started the second one by purchasing a new "cruiser 2" Mk 3. (in place of my old terran cruiser) and it appears to be much stronger except... point defense doesn't work anymore. It just doesn't shoot. That makes the ship fall apart vs anything with more than 1-2 HM weapons.

Anyone encountered this? should I simply avoid this ship class altogether?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old January 29th, 2007, 07:56 PM

Campeador Campeador is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 126
Thanks: 0
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Campeador is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions? Need help? Look here

The "Point Defense Cannons" should fire away automatically against any enemy torpedo or fighter at a max range of 40. They should work on any ship. I have played the game many times and never encounter any noticeable problem with them.
One player commented once that sometimes at some angles they do not fire. I cannot explain why. Try to put them on a different slot to see if that makes a difference.
I am pretty sure that if the enemy fire two torpedoes and you only have one PDC, you will be hit at least once. Also the PDC can get damaged (or any component that can affect the PDC like “reactors”) and therefore not be able to function.
I reloaded campaign 2 and got into the ship installed the PDC and it worked just fine. By the way the only difference between Mk1, Mk2 and Mk3 is just tonnage capacity.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old February 24th, 2007, 06:18 AM

Siirenias Siirenias is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Siirenias is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions? Need help? Look here

Yeah, that sounds funny...if you did any modifications, tell me, and there may be a way to fix it.

Oh, and I've put it off long enough. I am absolutely stumped by a minor but important detail that is keeping me from my next installment of Through Shiva's Eyes...
Anyone have any speculations on how the component scoop would or could work? You know, you fly into dropped components, and it picks em up? I need to figure out a plausible way to get this done while in the heat of combat.

EDIT: Considering the context of the situation, I'm thinking he meant the Abbidon Heavy Cruiser, or Cruiser II. A nice ship, indeed.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old May 7th, 2007, 08:51 PM
przy's Avatar

przy przy is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
przy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions? Need help? Look here

Wrong forum, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old May 15th, 2007, 01:35 AM
Suicide Junkie's Avatar
Suicide Junkie Suicide Junkie is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,451
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Suicide Junkie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions? Need help? Look here

Magnetic brakes?

If the crates are conductive, and you put magnets in your cargo scoop, they generate eddy currents and a braking force proportional to the relative speed of the crate.
Once the crates are down to a reasonable relative speed, a net can finish the job.

Just keep the numbers handwavy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.