.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze - Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank - Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V > SEV Modders Knowledge Base

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old December 8th, 2006, 03:05 AM
Fyron's Avatar

Fyron Fyron is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Fyron is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Component-dependant engines

You can always use abiliites that are non-functional in the file in question...
__________________
It's not whether you win or lose that counts: it's how much pain you inflict along the way.
--- SpaceEmpires.net --- RSS --- SEnet ModWorks --- SEIV Modding 101 Tutorial
--- Join us in the #SpaceEmpires IRC channel on the Freenode IRC network.
--- Due to restrictively low sig limits, you must visit this link to view the rest of my signature.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old December 8th, 2006, 08:18 AM

shinigami shinigami is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
shinigami is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Component-dependant engines

Yeah, but if MM wants to make the game really mod friendly (more so than it already is ) why not take it all the way and come up with a method for us to use custom dummy abilities?

Of course, this would be something for the future, for now, kill those bugs!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old December 8th, 2006, 10:57 AM

Raapys Raapys is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 689
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Raapys is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Component-dependant engines

Well, turns out it was alot easier than using the ability stuff, I got the Get_Design_Specific_Component_Count to work, meaning I don't need to check for any abilities at all. It would be nice if it actually worked on the engine requirements themselves, though, instead of having to give that requirement to every single ship.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old December 9th, 2006, 11:51 PM
Noble713's Avatar

Noble713 Noble713 is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Garden-Variety State
Posts: 356
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Noble713 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Component-dependant engines

Quote:
Raapys said:
I tried using it in the 'movement amount' formula on the engines( i.e. tried setting movement point amount to 0 if no reactor present).

There's simply no way this will work.
Do we know functions DO work in the movement formula?
__________________
Hail Caesar!

L+ GdY $? Fr! C- SdS T!+ Sf+ Tcp A% M++ MpM R!- Pw+ Fq-- Nd-- RP+ G++
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old December 9th, 2006, 11:53 PM

Phoenix-D Phoenix-D is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,085
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Phoenix-D is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Component-dependant engines

Oh, they work. The problem is that some functions don't work in components.txt, including the ones you'd need for this trick.
__________________
Phoenix-D

I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
-Digger
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old December 10th, 2006, 12:28 AM
Noble713's Avatar

Noble713 Noble713 is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Garden-Variety State
Posts: 356
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Noble713 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Component-dependant engines

Quote:
Phoenix-D said:
Oh, they work. The problem is that some functions don't work in components.txt, including the ones you'd need for this trick.
But you can also add abilities directly to ships in vehiclesizes.txt. When I've added movement-generation abilities using formulas to ship hulls, they never work.

For example, Combat Movement with the formulas Get Specific Component Count or Get Design Ability Total do nothing. So problems with the movement formula extend beyond just components.txt.
__________________
Hail Caesar!

L+ GdY $? Fr! C- SdS T!+ Sf+ Tcp A% M++ MpM R!- Pw+ Fq-- Nd-- RP+ G++
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old December 10th, 2006, 12:49 AM

Phoenix-D Phoenix-D is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,085
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Phoenix-D is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Component-dependant engines

It might be those functions only work in requirements, then.
__________________
Phoenix-D

I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
-Digger
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old April 13th, 2009, 07:48 PM

gloryhound gloryhound is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gloryhound is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Component-dependant engines

I have added just this function to my custom blend of the game, however I used a Reactor piece, didn't make it mandatory. What I did do was removed all but a basic amount of "supply" from ship engines. Changed the ships all over to a fuel based system. Instead of Ion Engines for lvl 1 you get Solar Sails which have 10 supply takes no supply to use and 0.5 movement, and because it's classified as a "engine" the AI will use it. I also redefined supply storage as fuel tanks which are fragile and only hold a small amount, only in late game can you forgo a reactor and have any range. The principle is that the reactor uses your fuel to improve efficiency of the fuel, much like a real ship would use fuel to generate thrust and energy. so just modify AI ship building priorities to include a minimum of supply storage and viola.
I liked this especially because it made my very first ship feel very low tech, with solar sails that were fragile, large and slow, but free to use.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old January 3rd, 2012, 08:27 PM

Patupi Patupi is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Patupi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Component-dependant engines

I'd just like to thanks all the posts here. I had been struggling trying to get mutually exclusive devices (only one type of engine on a ship etc) and couldn't get anywhere. The AI Tag # thing worked perfectly! Thanks. Prior to that no amount of boolean logic seemed to exclude things other than to say '1 of this type allowed'.

A query on a similar vein. I'd like for engines to use fuel based on the number of engines has anyone tried dividing the fuel use by the vessel move to get supply useage? In every mod I've played two ships with the same number of engines but different ship masses will have different fuel useages as the supply listed is used for every move point! Really weird way of doing that.

(Edit: OK re-read some of this thread. I guess something similar HAS been tried and failed. Is the formula for reading space based move of a ship one that won't work with components.txt?)

Thanks again for the help so far

Last edited by Patupi; January 3rd, 2012 at 08:35 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old January 14th, 2012, 11:11 PM
Skyburn's Avatar

Skyburn Skyburn is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Skyburn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Component-dependant engines

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patupi View Post
Is the formula for reading space based move of a ship one that won't work with components.txt?
I don't think there is such a formula. All the formula functions are listed in the modding pdf.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.