.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze - Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank - Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT > Campaigns, Scenarios & Maps
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 10th, 2017, 05:45 PM

Grant1pa Grant1pa is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 97
Thanks: 119
Thanked 96 Times in 34 Posts
Grant1pa is on a distinguished road
Default Red on Red Casualty?

OK, I had a funny thing happen when I was play-testing a scenario today. I had heavy smoke on a Soviet Objective with multiple Soviet armour units engaged. The closest BLUE unit (GB Infantry Squad routed) was three hexes away. A Soviet T64 (immobilized/ horizontal arrow facing right in attached picture) fired on an advancing T-80 (vertical arrow facing up in picture) and killed it with a 125mm round (saw the kill/round report)???

The computer controlled the Soviet, and player the British.

In all my years of playing this game (since it came out), I've never seen that before. Is Blue on Blue/ Red on Red fratricide possible in the game code?

The photo attached is with the smoke cleared, and, of course, after action.

I swear guys, it happened.

Tom
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RED ON RED.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	100.1 KB
ID:	14755  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 10th, 2017, 06:02 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
General
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 4,961
Thanks: 17
Thanked 1,007 Times in 711 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Red on Red Casualty?

If it fired HE at the British it is perfectly possible.

But the game does not allow friends to target each other in direct fire.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 10th, 2017, 06:56 PM

Grant1pa Grant1pa is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 97
Thanks: 119
Thanked 96 Times in 34 Posts
Grant1pa is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Red on Red Casualty?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobhack View Post
If it fired HE at the British it is perfectly possible.

But the game does not allow friends to target each other in direct fire.
Thanks, that might have been it. I was watching the screen but frankly, wanting to get through the turn to see if my marching orders were being executed, and I was put back a little when I saw the report.

Thanks.

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 10th, 2017, 08:25 PM
Imp's Avatar

Imp Imp is offline
Lieutenant General
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,751
Thanks: 60
Thanked 305 Times in 258 Posts
Imp is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Red on Red Casualty?

Very rare happened to me once in a town map, more common due to the size of the blast though I have learnt not to put myself in that position is engineers with Demo Charges destroying there APC if they are in same or adjacent hex.
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 16th, 2017, 03:29 AM
shahadi's Avatar

shahadi shahadi is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: I ain't in Kansas anymore, just north of where Dorothy clicked her heels is where you'll find me.
Posts: 698
Thanks: 356
Thanked 176 Times in 137 Posts
shahadi is on a distinguished road
Post Re: Red on Red Casualty?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant1pa View Post
...I was play-testing a scenario today.
Good to hear you're working on another scenario!


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 16th, 2017, 06:07 AM
Aeraaa's Avatar

Aeraaa Aeraaa is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 263
Thanks: 53
Thanked 83 Times in 60 Posts
Aeraaa is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Red on Red Casualty?

I have to say you REALLY unlucky if you managed to FF one of your own T80's with a frontal HE shot (although the game is a bit weird with HE, sometimes frontal shots count as rear shots etc).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 16th, 2017, 09:31 AM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
General
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 4,961
Thanks: 17
Thanked 1,007 Times in 711 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Red on Red Casualty?

HE is an area effect, and so it decides what was struck - a rear hit if shooting at its front could therefore be rationalised as a near miss that hit the ground just behind the target and splattered fragments backward and do an "up the kilt" hit from the frontal arc.

Just like AP gets confused if you are in the same hex and can give any facing hit. That goes back to the original SP1 V1 which did not allow you to enter the same hex as an enemy. That is also probably why there is the infantry assault allowed at 1 hex range, since you could not actually enter the tank's hex in SP1v1. It was either a later SP1 version, or SP2 where entering the same hex as an enemy was allowed. Also - SP1v1 may not have allowed same-hex movement of friends, either - but that's so long ago in the past I cannot really recall. Again, it was only a later version, or SP2 that allowed stacking, deducting MP for passing through.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.