.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze- Save $9.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V > SEV Opponents Wanted

Old November 27th, 2006, 07:49 PM

Private

Gusset is on a distinguished road
Default quiet forum...

Well, this corner of the forum seems kinda quiet. I'll be bold and kick things off.

Opponent wanted... Just asking on the IRC channel hasn't generated a whole lot of response as of yet (must be asking at the wrong time of day/week).

Anyone up for a PBEM or PBFTP game? Drop me a message on this site. Note that while I've played MOO2 online for years, I'm new to SE, so I'm a little foggy on how the process works.

-Gusset
Old November 28th, 2006, 01:34 AM

National Security Advisor

Phoenix-D is on a distinguished road
Default Re: quiet forum...

Everyone's still getting a handle on the game, I think. Were you wanting Stock, or the Balance Mod?

The process works fairly simply. The players send in their empire files, the host sets up the game (making sure to select Different Machines), then sends out the first turn.

The only wrinkle is Simultaneous mode. That's how most SE players prefer to play multiplayer. Here, instead of the turn file being passed from player to player, its sent to all players at once, then they send the turn back to the host. Once all the turns are in the host runs the turn and sends out the next one.

I am not senile. I just talk to myself because the rest of you don't provide adequate conversation.
-Digger
Old November 28th, 2006, 02:31 AM

Private

I'm thinking Balance Mod. A 1 vs. 1 game in a small quadrant with minimal AI empires might be best for a first game, to get a feel for things.

But I'd be open to just about anything...I just want to get my feet wet.
Old November 28th, 2006, 02:38 AM