.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Assault Task Force- Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 8th, 2011, 03:20 AM

Shadowstar Shadowstar is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 279
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shadowstar is on a distinguished road
Default Dedicated Server?

I run a Dom3 server on my home network for us, and have noticed recently that other graphics applications (mainly games) will sometimes crash when it's running. It seems to happen randomly, and only more recent games seem to be affected (probably because they use more resources), but after a crash, the Dom3 window opens or gets focused as if it tried to do something. If I shut the server down, I don't have these problems, but I'd rather keep the server running constantly so that other people on my network can play their turns when they want. Is there a way to run it as a dedicated server (no gfx), so that it won't interfere with other applications?

I've been looking at command line parameters but I can't find anything that seems to apply.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 8th, 2011, 05:12 AM
lch's Avatar

lch lch is offline
General
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 3,861
Thanks: 144
Thanked 403 Times in 176 Posts
lch is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowstar View Post
Is there a way to run it as a dedicated server (no gfx), so that it won't interfere with other applications?

I've been looking at command line parameters but I can't find anything that seems to apply.
Yes, there is an option for a dedicated server. You should read through the Linux Admining thread where different people presented their game server startup scripts; mine are there too. Although Windows does not have a command line shell that is as powerful as Bash from Linux, you probably will be able to reuse some of the information that is present in there. I've seen people post their Batch files for Windows for dedicated server hosting in here, too.

As for the command line parameters to Dom3, check http://dom3.servegame.com/wiki/Command_line_options
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lch For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old October 8th, 2011, 10:16 AM
Gandalf Parker's Avatar

Gandalf Parker Gandalf Parker is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
Gandalf Parker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Dedicated Server?

I run almost 100 Dom3 games on my server (www.Dom3Minions.com) and I only do it in text mode.
The same I believe for the other most common server (www.LLamaServer.net)

The most basic switches you need are -S (server) and -T (text). You can also add in port number and map and era etc etc but if you dont then it will prompt you when it needs them (at least it does in Linux)

The biggest problem you will have with the scripts listed in the thread lch mentioned (good post) is that Windows has something like a 255 character limit on the command line. Some of the switches come in two flavors, --longname for linux and -X for Windows. That will help.

There is also another thread called "Changing Dom3 Defaults" which goes into switch use
http://forum.shrapnelgames.com/showthread.php?t=44262
its more for users than admins but it does cover windows and making shortcuts for various purposes
__________________
-- DISCLAIMER:
This game is NOT suitable for students, interns, apprentices, or anyone else who is expected to pass tests on a regular basis. Do not think about strategies while operating heavy machinery. Before beginning this game make arrangements for someone to check on you daily. If you find that your game has continued for more than 36 hours straight then you should consult a physician immediately (Do NOT show him the game!)

Last edited by Gandalf Parker; October 8th, 2011 at 10:37 AM..
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gandalf Parker For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old October 8th, 2011, 11:00 AM

LDiCesare LDiCesare is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: France
Posts: 820
Thanks: 4
Thanked 33 Times in 24 Posts
LDiCesare is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Dedicated Server?

you just don't need to use cmd in windows. Get cygwin and you'll have a bash and no significant line size limit for your commands.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to LDiCesare For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old October 8th, 2011, 03:50 PM

Shadowstar Shadowstar is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 279
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shadowstar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Dedicated Server?

Thanks. With that info I was able to figure out how to set up the server. I can create the game using the graphical interface (it's easier that way), and then just run it using the textonly option. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.