.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Armored Task Force- Save $8.00
War Plan Pacific- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old October 9th, 2008, 10:42 AM

Psycho Psycho is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 913
Thanks: 21
Thanked 53 Times in 33 Posts
Psycho is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

If you want incorrect battle reports on llamaserver I saw one recently. The game is MadCradle2. Look into turn 30, Shinuyama attacking Bandar capitol. Shinuyama won, but battle replay shows differently (at least from the perspective of a Caelian scout). There are no mindless SCs here, if that's the only thing you want to look into.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old October 9th, 2008, 12:55 PM

llamabeast llamabeast is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 5,921
Thanks: 194
Thanked 855 Times in 291 Posts
llamabeast will become famous soon enoughllamabeast will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

Thanks for the info Psycho. I will check it out.

Poor old JK is going to get deluged by me this week!
__________________
www.llamaserver.net
LlamaServer FAQ
My mod nations: Tomb Kings and Vampire Counts
A compilation of high quality mod nations: Expanded Nations Packs
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old October 9th, 2008, 01:17 PM

Tichy Tichy is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 376
Thanks: 14
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Tichy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

No that's right. I'm the Shin player in that game, and I saw the same discrepancy between report and replay.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old October 9th, 2008, 01:33 PM

Psycho Psycho is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 913
Thanks: 21
Thanked 53 Times in 33 Posts
Psycho is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

It's probably because of the random number generator, right? I'm running the game on windows and I suppose the llamaserver runs on linux?

I know that C's RNG doesn't guarantee getting the same numbers on different platforms. I don't know how would you go about random numbers when making a game such as this. Would you make your own RNG? There are several RNGs on Boost site that are pseudo-random like C's RNG, but that do guarantee same numbers on different platforms.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old October 9th, 2008, 02:23 PM

thejeff thejeff is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 133 Times in 117 Posts
thejeff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

They have written their own RNG. For a long time, dating back to Dom2 there were occasional problems with the battle replay between platforms. It was also common when different versions were used.

This version of the bug appears even in SP on one machine, so it's obviously not a platform or version issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.