.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze - Save $7.00
Raging Tiger - Save $7.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPWW2 > Campaigns, Scenarios & Maps
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old May 1st, 2012, 06:19 AM

Cameronius Cameronius is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, Canada
Posts: 194
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Cameronius is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Has anyone been playing the new Kursk Campaign?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosollia View Post

Just out of curiosity is it the "Panzer Elite" ww2 tank simulator game from 1999 or the 2006 "Panzer Elite Action" FPS shoot'em up?
I used the 1999 "Panzer Elite" as the basis of the campaign. The Beresov, Yakovlevo and Teterevino maps were based on maps from the game. Also the scenario progression from Beresov on. However it is only a platoon level game so I increased the scale to brigade-. I also designed the Prokhorovka map from other map sources. The battle of Prokhorovka is quite close to historical accuracy.
__________________
Double tap, Dash, Down, Crawl, Observe, Locate the Enemy and Return Fire.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 2nd, 2012, 12:59 AM

KAreil KAreil is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 32
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
KAreil is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Has anyone been playing the new Kursk Campaign?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameronius View Post
I used the 1999 "Panzer Elite" as the basis of the campaign. The Beresov, Yakovlevo and Teterevino maps were based on maps from the game. Also the scenario progression from Beresov on. However it is only a platoon level game so I increased the scale to brigade-. I also designed the Prokhorovka map from other map sources. The battle of Prokhorovka is quite close to historical accuracy.


And you used the Ostpak-MOD of the game right?

The base game does not feature anything on the Eastern front.


I'm still playing the game from time to time and it's still the best WW2-tank-simulation I know of.

It's available at GOG:
http://www.gog.com/en/gamecard/panzer_elite_se/

Together with the "Panzer Elite Three"-MOD (includes Ostpak and a lot of graphical improvements) it's still great and has an acceptable graphic for such an old game.

MODs I use:
http://pedg.yuku.com/topic/1719/Panz...k#.T6DAKcWzskQ
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 2nd, 2012, 03:36 AM

Cameronius Cameronius is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, Canada
Posts: 194
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Cameronius is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Has anyone been playing the new Kursk Campaign?

Yes, I used the ostpak mod. However I have not actually played the game in quite some time and had no idea that there were such recent upgrades. Thx for the link. I will be downloading it post-haste.
__________________
Double tap, Dash, Down, Crawl, Observe, Locate the Enemy and Return Fire.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 3rd, 2012, 08:48 AM

KAreil KAreil is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 32
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
KAreil is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Has anyone been playing the new Kursk Campaign?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameronius View Post
Yes, I used the ostpak mod. However I have not actually played the game in quite some time and had no idea that there were such recent upgrades. Thx for the link. I will be downloading it post-haste.


Wouldn't call them "recent upgrades" and I don't think there is much further development ongoing...

But still the game is more than 10 years old and it's still fun and very challenging...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old February 19th, 2016, 10:30 AM
RightDeve's Avatar

RightDeve RightDeve is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yogyakarta, Nusantara
Posts: 385
Thanks: 56
Thanked 66 Times in 41 Posts
RightDeve is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Has anyone been playing the new Kursk Campaign?

I have just started to play this Campaign, but upon deployment I realized that formation hierarchy is quite messed up.

The Heavy Panzer Company HQ (D Formation) doesn't command any platoons under it. Its "supposed" subordinates, the 12 or so Tigers spread accross 3 platoons, are under the command of an obscure SdkFz formation (K Formation). And then, this K Formation, which is supposed to be a company HQ, is under the command of O Formation (instead of directly under the A Formation! I don't even know such a thing could be accomplished in the game, subordinating a Company HQ under a Company HQ!). This O Formation commands the Panzer Grenadier company, while another Company HQ (I forget which formation) which is supposed to be a PzGren Kp HQ doesn't command anything under it!

The hierarchy is just so messed up that I dared not play the actual battles.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old February 19th, 2016, 11:00 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 8,594
Thanks: 1,252
Thanked 1,930 Times in 1,008 Posts
DRG is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Has anyone been playing the new Kursk Campaign?

I'll look into it as time allows

EDIT

Interesting................

The start up scenario for that campaign shows the correct command structure but assembled into the campaign it does not and that will require further digging.

ALL I can suggest at this time is you cross attach the formations manually before you start. I have tried rebuilding it with a copy of the first scenario that has the correct command structure but once plugged into the campaign it reverts to the command structure you reported but if you manually change it and continue on I *think* it will be OK. I need to consult with Andy about this

Don

Last edited by DRG; February 19th, 2016 at 11:53 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old February 19th, 2016, 10:05 PM
RightDeve's Avatar

RightDeve RightDeve is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yogyakarta, Nusantara
Posts: 385
Thanks: 56
Thanked 66 Times in 41 Posts
RightDeve is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Has anyone been playing the new Kursk Campaign?

Wow.. never thought there would be a possible deeper problem to it.
Yes, I have tried cross attachment, but it was already so confusing to begin with, that I immediately started another campaign rather... hehe

Thank you for digging into this, let's hope it's something simple. You guys are amazing developers, really listening to user feedback!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old February 20th, 2016, 11:40 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 8,594
Thanks: 1,252
Thanked 1,930 Times in 1,008 Posts
DRG is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Has anyone been playing the new Kursk Campaign?

The short, sweet answer is it's a mess that just deleting and rebuying some units didn't fix the problem and we don't know why when the first scenario is extracted and looked at as a standalone the command structure is OK but added to the campaign it's borked.

As much as I want to fix this to ensure it plays correctly I am at or beyond my work limit right now. Once I get the things for both games that absolutely need to be done I will take another look at this but as it stands now we could look at this as an "learning opportunity" to set the command Heirarchy of the German Force yourself during the initial deployment phase....

Start with reassigning Tigers to their proper HQ ( formation D ) then fix the PzGren..you want the Pz Gren's commanded by formation J..............Once you sort out the tigers and the pzgen ( which doesn't take long ) you are pretty much done and YES, I KNOW this isn't the solution you were hoping for but consider it's been in the game for about three years and you're the first one to see the problem this is the best I can do ATM and I KNOW the solution is not idea but cross attaching a few formations takes maybe 10 minute tops once you understand there is one Main HQ ( A0 ) and three main subordinates ( D0 for the Tigers ) ( L0 for the pzgen ) and ( R0 ..panzer arty ) and of those three subordinates the D0 and the L0 are the ones of main importance

Don

Last edited by DRG; February 20th, 2016 at 12:44 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old February 20th, 2016, 08:44 PM
Warwick's Avatar

Warwick Warwick is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 109
Thanks: 23
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Warwick is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Has anyone been playing the new Kursk Campaign?

Played it and thoroughly enjoyed it. Didn't notice any messed up hierarchy, didn't seem to make a difference to gameplay.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old February 21st, 2016, 09:01 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 8,594
Thanks: 1,252
Thanked 1,930 Times in 1,008 Posts
DRG is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Has anyone been playing the new Kursk Campaign?

Well that's good news..........did you play it recently ?

Fixing this "correctly" involves rebuilding the entire first scenario at least....we belive the problem is the Soviet HQ.... and YES.......it doesn't seem to make any sense why the Soviet HQ would affect the command structure of the German player but it APPEARS the way units were bought, deleted, repurchased etc has left the Soviet HQ like a bolder in a stream that interrupts the German command flow and we only know that because Andy started strategically deleting units to see when things would start working again and it didn't with every Russian unit deleted except the HQ ( which cannot be deleted )

I'll just quote Andy , it's simpler

Quote:

I tried several variants on deleting all the German formations, then re-buying. None worked.

So I deleted the soviet stuff, and still it did not work.

Since you cant delete the Russian HQ sitting in slot 5 or so once you have bought soviet stuff, it must be where that is that is causing grief?. Only way to get rid is a fresh start scenario...

To test that - saved the map.
started a fresh editor session, loaded map, set date battle type and so on, bought German forces. Opened soviet force buy and exited so just the HQ.

saved the scenario, loaded in the slot 0 of the campaign, saved campaign.

All now working fine for the German chain of command.
So......if you played it without adjusting the command structure and it played well that saves us time better spent until we have the time to consider rebuilding it but the tools for a player to adjust the command structure are there and it doesn't take long to "fix" it .......but as you noted it plays fine without being fixed

Thanks for that info

Don
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.