.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

AATF - Save $5.00
winSPWW2 - Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening > Scenarios, Maps and Mods

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 29th, 2013, 04:22 PM

sidhos sidhos is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sidhos is on a distinguished road
Default help with mod insertion please

I haven't played in years and just added Dom3 to this computer. I downloaded a couple of mods (CBM 1.94 and mythology). I went into Dom3 and made a mod folder, as I didn't see one there already. Then extracted the two mods into the mods folder. I did name it mods, not mod, if that makes a difference.
So I can see them in mod preferences and enable/disable them. When I go to the create a pretender screen this happens: When I have CBM enabled, game CTD's with message about failed weapon or something. Same thing with myth mod, only says something about missing spell or some such.
Anyways, have I done something wrong with my placement of the mods into the game?

Thanks in advance, for any help.

bad #weaponselect is one of messages on CTD
  #2  
Old July 30th, 2013, 06:56 AM
Edi's Avatar

Edi Edi is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 5,425
Thanks: 174
Thanked 695 Times in 267 Posts
Edi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: help with mod insertion please

That means the mod you have activated has an error in one of its commands. Everything points to an invalid #selectweapon command, but if it's CBM, good luck finding that if you're just new to mods. Better idea would be to ask the Dom3 forums at Desura and have somebody point you to a properly working version of CBM. When you use that, you won't have any problems.
  #3  
Old July 30th, 2013, 11:54 AM

sidhos sidhos is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sidhos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: help with mod insertion please

Thank you.
  #4  
Old July 30th, 2013, 05:50 PM

sidhos sidhos is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sidhos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: help with mod insertion please

So far, I have tried several different mods and versions of mods. I keep getting the same type crash to desktop and error. bad weapon select, or armor select or spell missing. I'm starting to think I'm not doing something right on my end.


I created the mods folder programfiles(x86)/doms3/mods

I extract the zip file directly into that folder.

I've done this countless times in the past, but it has been awhile. Am I missing a step? The mods show up in game in the mod preferences.
  #5  
Old July 30th, 2013, 11:38 PM

sidhos sidhos is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sidhos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: help with mod insertion please

problem solved. My digital download was 3.00. I had to update the game.

Moderator, feel free to delete this thread at your convenience.
  #6  
Old August 2nd, 2013, 01:11 PM
Edi's Avatar

Edi Edi is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 5,425
Thanks: 174
Thanked 695 Times in 267 Posts
Edi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: help with mod insertion please

Locked on request.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.