.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander- Save $6.00
World Supremacy- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > KE Studios > War Plan Pacific
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 20th, 2008, 11:21 AM
Herode's Avatar

Herode Herode is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chambéry (France)
Posts: 511
Thanks: 47
Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
Herode is on a distinguished road
Default [minor] Updating the missions labels on TFs

Hi gentlemen.

Just received my safe box of WPP this morning and testing my first games. I must say that the demo doesn't give at all a suitable idea of the game. I tried the demo and I was dubious about WPP after that. Frankly speaking, if I had not already pre-ordered the game, I won't have ordered it at all after the demo.

BUT, good news ! I've now got the thing in hands and I'm more than happy with it . No real bug so far, and the game looks very interesting : easy to handle at first glance, intuitive GUI, many options left to the players. Great, and congrats to the devs for their work !

Anyway, that's OT, here I am with my overminor "bug" :

- select a friendly base F with some ships ans at least 1 transport.
- move a transport in a TF_1
- set an Invasion mission for TF_1 on some ennemy base.
- prepare TF_2 in the same Base F and set it to a Raid mission on some ennemy base.
- at this point, in the Base Screen, TF_1 is labelled "Invade xxx" and TF_2 is labelled "Raid yyy".
- Move the SNLF from TF_1 to TF_2
- TF_1 is still labelled "Invade xxx" and TF_2 is still labelled "Raid yyy"

Not a big deal I admit, but it should not be very difficult to update the TFs missions respective labels.

Last edited by Herode; December 20th, 2008 at 12:11 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 20th, 2008, 02:18 PM

OTGamer OTGamer is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
OTGamer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: [minor] Updating the missions labels on TFs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herode View Post
I tried the demo and I was dubious about WPP after that. Frankly speaking, if I had not already pre-ordered the game, I won't have ordered it at all after the demo.
Thanks for that feedback.

Having only seen the demo, I'm on the fence at the moment...but leaning toward buy. I notice developers in general are often too stingy with demo. Having analyzed these things over many years (and having developed a little software myself), I've determined most developers think of a demo as a "freebie for potential buyers" as opposed to a "Marketing hook for potential buyers". In the former, there is a tendency to hold back or a tendency to develop a product that does not properly reflect the value. Besides, most developers make lousy marketeers. For example, the current demo has a "Bang Ending" (an ending that drops the game interface without allowing the demo player to even evaluate the final turn). That is a big time no-no from a hook marketing approach.

But, I've hijacked your thread....sorry. On the other hand, I think it's useful here as now I know I'm not the only one who feels this way, and giving the developers a look from both sides (one who bought and one who is waiting to buy) should be helpful in the long haul.

Lastly, Parlez-vous français? Je comprend français très peu, mais j'essaie.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 22nd, 2008, 04:32 PM

JMHawkins JMHawkins is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: How does Puget Sound?
Posts: 335
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
JMHawkins is on a distinguished road
Default Re: [minor] Updating the missions labels on TFs

Herode,

Thanks, I've logged that bug. Apologies for missing that one.

John Hawkins
KE Studios

PS: sorry for taking so long to reply, we've had some weather issues up here in the Pacific NW.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 7th, 2009, 10:18 PM

Mouse Mouse is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mouse is on a distinguished road
Default Re: [minor] Updating the missions labels on TFs

I agree with OTGamer on the demo. I think it needs to be a couple of turns longer, and it needs to allow players to evaluate the results after the last turn. I think just disabling the "Go" button after 6 or 7 turns (instead booting them after 4) would be a big improvement. It would give demo players enough time to stabilize their oil as Japan--or lose because they neglected it for too long.

---> Mouse
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.