.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander- Save $6.00
World Supremacy- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 10th, 2009, 02:59 PM

Ynglaur Ynglaur is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ynglaur is on a distinguished road
Default Anyway to disable "e" button?

After ending my turn by accident twice in the last 4 turns, I was wondering if there was any way to either:
1. Disable the 'e' key, since I can at least hide the right-hand menu from accidental hits
OR
2. Add a "are you sure?" prompt to the end turn command
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 10th, 2009, 03:04 PM
Jazzepi's Avatar

Jazzepi Jazzepi is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,204
Thanks: 67
Thanked 49 Times in 31 Posts
Jazzepi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Anyway to disable "e" button?

Turn on caps lock.

Jazzepi
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 10th, 2009, 03:15 PM

Ynglaur Ynglaur is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ynglaur is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Anyway to disable "e" button?

unfortunately, that prevents most of the other useful keyboard shortcuts from working (e.g. 'r' recruit, 't' army, even the map filters '1', '2', etc.).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 10th, 2009, 03:18 PM

Sombre Sombre is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,463
Thanks: 165
Thanked 324 Times in 190 Posts
Sombre is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Anyway to disable "e" button?

How are you accidentally htting 'e' anyway? My fingers never go near it except maybe when I have orders set to '3' and,.. well,.. I can hit numbers without hitting letters?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 10th, 2009, 03:33 PM

Ynglaur Ynglaur is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ynglaur is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Anyway to disable "e" button?

Precision = 1?

Seriously, I'm just clumsy. I've hit it reaching for "3" and "r".
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 10th, 2009, 03:46 PM
Jarkko's Avatar

Jarkko Jarkko is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 812
Thanks: 106
Thanked 57 Times in 34 Posts
Jarkko is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Anyway to disable "e" button?

I would love it if the "e" was changed to "ctrl+shift+e" or something. Dunno how many times I've hit "e" when trying hit "r", but it hurts each time
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 10th, 2009, 03:55 PM

fungalreason fungalreason is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 339
Thanks: 125
Thanked 24 Times in 15 Posts
fungalreason is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Anyway to disable "e" button?

Yeah I've done that a bunch too. "r"ecruit, "R"esearch, and province "d"efense are right nearby, and I use those very frequently. Fortunately I only do PBEM games for the most part, so it isn't a big issue.

It would be nice if we could change the hotkey, disable it, or even if it was something more difficult to accidentally hit.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 10th, 2009, 04:02 PM

llamabeast llamabeast is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 5,921
Thanks: 194
Thanked 855 Times in 291 Posts
llamabeast will become famous soon enoughllamabeast will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Anyway to disable "e" button?

I bet you can get some program which intercepts key presses or something. Some techie must know how to do it!
__________________
www.llamaserver.net
LlamaServer FAQ
My mod nations: Tomb Kings and Vampire Counts
A compilation of high quality mod nations: Expanded Nations Packs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 10th, 2009, 04:10 PM
Gregstrom's Avatar

Gregstrom Gregstrom is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,066
Thanks: 109
Thanked 162 Times in 118 Posts
Gregstrom is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Anyway to disable "e" button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ynglaur View Post
unfortunately, that prevents most of the other useful keyboard shortcuts from working (e.g. 'r' recruit, 't' army, even the map filters '1', '2', etc.).

It doesn't stop the map filters for me. And I can get all the lowercase hotkeys by just holding shift.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 10th, 2009, 04:47 PM

Ynglaur Ynglaur is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ynglaur is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Anyway to disable "e" button?

If that's true, you can probably hit "Shift-e" too, then.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.