.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander- Save $6.00
World Supremacy- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 2nd, 2010, 08:33 PM

aaminoff aaminoff is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 173
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
aaminoff is on a distinguished road
Default Can you have more than one skin?

Barkskin, Stoneskin, Ironskin. If you have one of those effects, and then get a second one, does the new one overwrite the old? Both in terms of the amount of protection you get (10,15, or 20, respectively), and in terms of the vulnerabilities you get (fire, cold, lightning)?

Strength of Gaia says that gives Barkskin. If they do overwrite, then presumably SoGaia would overwrite Stone or Ironskin. If you cast them in the other order, Stoneskin overwrite the Barkskin part of SoG? But hopefully not the other parts of SoG (natural regen, +1 nature)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 3rd, 2010, 02:05 AM
Lingchih's Avatar

Lingchih Lingchih is offline
General
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 3,207
Thanks: 54
Thanked 60 Times in 35 Posts
Lingchih is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you have more than one skin?

Interesting question.

There is a discussion of it now on the IRC channel. Probably someone will test it. I would guess that some overwrite others.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 3rd, 2010, 02:17 AM
Burnsaber's Avatar

Burnsaber Burnsaber is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,617
Thanks: 179
Thanked 304 Times in 123 Posts
Burnsaber is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you have more than one skin?

I once tried modding a spell that gave barkskin, stoneskin, ironskin and invulnerability in a single spell. IIRC, only the two "top" spells in that spell took effect and the protection value was decided by the better spell. So the spell basically gave affected units the protection from invulnerability and the the negative poison resistance from invulnerability and the negative shock res from ironskin.

Based on that, I'd say that casting SoG wouldn't overwrite your previous stoneskin/ironskin although it would give the fire resistance malus. If I were you, I'd test it first though before trying it in MP or something.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 3rd, 2010, 02:49 AM
Lingchih's Avatar

Lingchih Lingchih is offline
General
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 3,207
Thanks: 54
Thanked 60 Times in 35 Posts
Lingchih is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you have more than one skin?

I think the consensus is, that you can have Invulnerability up with one previous buff. Everything else overwrites.
__________________
Be forewarned, anything I post is probably either 1) Sophomoric humor, 2) Satire, 3) A gross exaggeration of the power I currently possess, 4) An outright lie, or 5) Drunken ramblings.

I occasionally post something useful.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 3rd, 2010, 03:44 AM

earcaraxe earcaraxe is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Budapest
Posts: 831
Thanks: 115
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
earcaraxe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you have more than one skin?

the lord of the wild with E1 has protection of 14: basic 3, earth magic +1, his default scale mail cuirass +10.

If he casts barkskin, his protection will be 18. I dont get it at all. shouldnt it be (basic 10)+(em 1)+(cuirass 10)=21?

casting stoneskin the next turn will get his protection to 22, and casting ironskin after that to 26. (??) please enlighten me.

btw only the latest resistance malus applies in this case, just tested.

Its the same for cbm or not.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 3rd, 2010, 04:20 AM
Gregstrom's Avatar

Gregstrom Gregstrom is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,066
Thanks: 109
Thanked 162 Times in 118 Posts
Gregstrom is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you have more than one skin?

Ok:
1: Natural protection and armour protection don't just add together. There's a formula combining the two that gives diminishing returns.
2: Only the latest malus applies, except in the case of Invulnerability, where the malus is in addition to any other malus you've given yourself through Xskin.
__________________
A Beginner's guide to Lanka

Want to use multiple mods? The Mod Compatibility Index might be useful.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 3rd, 2010, 07:54 AM

thejeff thejeff is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 133 Times in 117 Posts
thejeff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you have more than one skin?

Does that also apply to the vulnerabilities from the Mass versions of the spells?
(Protection, Mass Protection, Marble Warriors, Army of Gold/Lead)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 3rd, 2010, 09:01 AM
Gregstrom's Avatar

Gregstrom Gregstrom is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,066
Thanks: 109
Thanked 162 Times in 118 Posts
Gregstrom is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you have more than one skin?

It does for the mass barkskin from End of Weakness, but that was the only test I did on th mass spells. It would be a slight leap of faith to assume the same happens for all other mass skin spells.
__________________
A Beginner's guide to Lanka

Want to use multiple mods? The Mod Compatibility Index might be useful.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 3rd, 2010, 04:19 PM

aaminoff aaminoff is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 173
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
aaminoff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you have more than one skin?

OK, I went and tested it.

First of all, if you script Stoneskin, Barkskin, the spell casting AI will look at you like you're an idiot and cast something else.

Using Strength of Gaia instead, it turns out that regardless of whether you cast SoG,Stoneskin or Stoneskin,SoG, you end up with the same effect: protection 15 and cold vulnerability. So it appears that the higher-protection skin always wins.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 4th, 2010, 03:04 PM
ano's Avatar

ano ano is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,462
Thanks: 34
Thanked 59 Times in 37 Posts
ano is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can you have more than one skin?

IIRC, the vulnerabilities of all skins stay in effect while only the highest protection bonus applies.
Try casting barkskin, stoneskin, ironskin, invulnerability. What will be the results?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.