.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

ATF: Armored Task Force- $8.00
World Supremacy- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPWW2
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 21st, 2016, 06:51 PM
Spledge's Avatar

Spledge Spledge is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA - USA
Posts: 84
Thanks: 33
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Spledge is on a distinguished road
Default Units Taking Cover

RE: Taking Cover (C key)

1. When an infantry unit "takes cover" does that reduce an attackers effect should it later be fired upon?

2. Does taking cover also reduce the chance that an enemy unit will see it too.

3. Does taking cover need to be selected each subsequent turn that the unit stay in the same hex, turn after turn?

Sorry for if some of these questions seem obvious. I'm seeking clarity and couldn't find the topic covered in the manual.

Thanks all.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 21st, 2016, 06:59 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,263
Thanks: 69
Thanked 1,245 Times in 865 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Units Taking Cover

An attempt at taking cover gives a unit a chance of no longer being spotted.

Naturally, you don't know if the attempt had any effect unless the enemy no longer fire on you.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mobhack For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old May 23rd, 2016, 12:03 PM

ERISS ERISS is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 56
Thanks: 3
Thanked 17 Times in 6 Posts
ERISS is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Units Taking Cover

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobhack View Post
An attempt at taking cover gives a unit a chance of no longer being spotted.
Naturally, you don't know if the attempt had any effect unless the enemy no longer fire on you.
So, if the unit went in cover (but we don't know), if we ask again to take cover, a missed attempt will remove this unknown cover? (if nobody shoot at us, then no longer move? if ain't broken, don't fix it)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 24th, 2016, 04:46 AM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,263
Thanks: 69
Thanked 1,245 Times in 865 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Units Taking Cover

There is no magic flag that you can look at to see if the attempt worked or not. Real troops dont have this, nor do you. But if the enemy fire on you in thier turn, or if you move then it probably did not work (or a fresh spotting roll by the opponent unmasked you again).

Basically - the further away you are then the more chance of it working. Chances at 50m are rather unlikely, 1000m more probable. The smaller your unit size is helps, as does experience, being in cover etc.

You could also try taking cover several times, if you are paranoid and have the spare MP..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 27th, 2016, 12:31 PM

ERISS ERISS is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 56
Thanks: 3
Thanked 17 Times in 6 Posts
ERISS is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Units Taking Cover

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobhack View Post
You could also try taking cover several times, if you are paranoid and have the spare MP..
So I think you answer here my question: A failed added attempt won't brake a successful previous.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 30th, 2016, 01:29 AM
Spledge's Avatar

Spledge Spledge is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA - USA
Posts: 84
Thanks: 33
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Spledge is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Units Taking Cover

If an MG42 is within sight, an opposing squad just might insist on having the "C" key pressed an unlimited number of times on its behalf.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 30th, 2016, 06:23 AM
RightDeve's Avatar

RightDeve RightDeve is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yogyakarta, Nusantara
Posts: 461
Thanks: 98
Thanked 98 Times in 64 Posts
RightDeve is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Units Taking Cover

What if there are multiple enemy units spotting your single unit? Does pressing the C-key affect all enemy units or only select random enemy units?

Because in real life, good concealment from the front doesn't always mean the same thing from the rear or the sides (or even from above). (But this is digressing from the SP mechanic, since being spotted by one enemy unit has always meant being seen/capable to be shot at by other enemy units).

So maybe my question is:
Is the algorithm set up in a way that increases a unit's failure at concealment if there are more enemy units currently spotting it?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 30th, 2016, 07:53 AM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,263
Thanks: 69
Thanked 1,245 Times in 865 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Units Taking Cover

The more enemy with "eyes on" a unit, then the more chance one of them will re-spot it id it breaks LOS. Especially if those are close, experienced, unsuppressed etc - i.e. all the other things that help normal spotting.

Think of the times you have fired on a unit and got the takes cover message. Sometimes the unit goes away, and at other times it may disappear and then reappear as part of the reaction to fire process.

The c key just lets you use the reaction to fire process that has always been there for all grunts that get fired on.

Whether or not expending the MP is worthwhile, you will have to learn from experience. The exact workings of our algorithms dont get published.

Hint: attempting to take cover at 1 hex distance from an enemy elite, unsuppressed and stationary unit that is facing you is unlikely to end well... at 400m, it will be rather more likely.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 30th, 2016, 02:05 PM
RightDeve's Avatar

RightDeve RightDeve is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yogyakarta, Nusantara
Posts: 461
Thanks: 98
Thanked 98 Times in 64 Posts
RightDeve is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Units Taking Cover

I see... It's a guessing game until you're experienced enough with it.

Sadly, even though I know the feature is there, I often forget to use it in the heat of battle. It must be ingrained in the brain that infantry units = C key, as real life soldiers are indeed cautious when it comes to staking a life on the battlefield. (to this end, maybe more SP scenarios should heavily emphasize the importance of preserving life than rushing V-hexes on a very limited number of turns ).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 25th, 2019, 06:15 AM

chris h chris h is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 105
Thanks: 15
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
chris h is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Units Taking Cover

From this taking cover does not affect combat results per say, just the possiblity of not being spotted. The originator also posted this question.

3. Does taking cover need to be selected each subsequent turn that the unit stay in the same hex, turn after turn?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.