.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Digital Eel > Weird Worlds: Return to Infinite Space

Old December 21st, 2005, 04:35 PM

Private

Aggrav8d is on a distinguished road
Default Flee control

When I run away from a solar system I'd like the option of where to run to. going back to a star I already know is a giant waste of time.

mod idea: the mummy of a travelling salesman. Tells you the shortest path to visit every star in the quadrant.

As a programmer, I love your in-game menus. Are you doing it all with sprites in C like you did in SAIS, or are you doing something more sophisticated?
Old December 21st, 2005, 04:59 PM

Sergeant

Fingers is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Flee control

Fleeing is supposed to be a penalty. If you were able to go anywhere after losing combat, there'd be no point in using the sensor systems to avoid systems with enemies as you could just fly through them anyway.

The GUI uses pre-defined graphics (window borders etc) kind of like SAIS. That way it'll be possible to change how it looks in a mod. The main difference in terms of graphics is that since it's in OpenGL we can easily change the colors and transparency of any GUI object for highlighting and such. The graphic files are all drawn in white and they're colored ingame using vertex colors.

The GUI code however is *completely* different as it's a fully generic windowing system that I intend to use in future projects.
Old December 21st, 2005, 06:30 PM

Private

A penalty for fleeing combat seems very reasonable. However, if I travel to a system and the locals tell me to leave - even before fighting - I should have a choice of where to leave to. After all, I'm not running away, I'm being ... agreeable. Diplomatic, even.