.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Command 3.0- Save $12.00
The Star & the Crescent- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old October 8th, 2008, 12:09 PM
Herode's Avatar

Herode Herode is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chambéry (France)
Posts: 511
Thanks: 47
Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
Herode is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

This can also happen when you remove or modify some of the magic items attached to the commander. If you do so, his previous orders (move or whatever) are cancelled. I endured many oops like this one (but not so many than with the stealthy commander thing where the guy sneaks in a province where he was expected to move... )
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 8th, 2008, 02:18 PM

Psycho Psycho is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 913
Thanks: 21
Thanked 53 Times in 33 Posts
Psycho is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

I've had it too. I was playing a SP game on Pargonas map and was attacking AI from Faldenburgh to Stone Grave Mountains. On the first turn I thought I forgot to move my army. I double checked on the second turn, but they didn't move again. I triple checked on the third turn and it was the very last thing I did before hitting end turn and the army stayed put again. Then on the fourth turn I attacked Rivia instead.

The issue is certainly not connected to the map, because I've played many games on it and never had problems moving between those two provinces before or after. It just happens now and then.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 8th, 2008, 02:26 PM

Tichy Tichy is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 376
Thanks: 14
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Tichy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

I thought this was a known issue. I know I've talked about it in pm's with MP allies when it caused problems for coordinated movement.

I think its somehow map related, the problem always seems to center on a connection between two particular provinces. When it's happened to me, I've usually been forced to treat the provinces in question as unconnected and go the long way round to move armies.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old October 8th, 2008, 03:31 PM

thejeff thejeff is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 133 Times in 117 Posts
thejeff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

I've talked about in MP with enemies. We'd just ended an NAP and both tried to attack between one of our connected provinces. When it failed several times in a row, we agreed to treat that connection as nonexistent.
Eventually I took the province and could do movement between friendly provinces without any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old October 8th, 2008, 08:40 PM

konming konming is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 525
Thanks: 17
Thanked 17 Times in 10 Posts
konming is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

Yes, it happens only when moving into enemy provinces. I have several .2h and .trn files to prove that order was indeed given but not executed. It may be due to both nations trying to move into each other, but on occasion it even happens moving into empty provinces.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old October 9th, 2008, 12:56 AM

Alderanas Alderanas is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 102
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Alderanas is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

yea i hate when it happens i lost my god because the army didnt move when he did.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old October 9th, 2008, 08:09 AM

Sombre Sombre is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,463
Thanks: 165
Thanked 324 Times in 190 Posts
Sombre is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

I'm pretty sure I've had it happen moving between friendly provs, but it is /possible/ that it was one of the things that can be done to cause an order to be cancelled, like moving magic items etc. I honestly doubt that though.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old October 9th, 2008, 09:19 AM

llamabeast llamabeast is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 5,921
Thanks: 194
Thanked 855 Times in 291 Posts
llamabeast will become famous soon enoughllamabeast will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

konming - can you send me some sample files please? That'd be great.
__________________
www.llamaserver.net
LlamaServer FAQ
My mod nations: Tomb Kings and Vampire Counts
A compilation of high quality mod nations: Expanded Nations Packs
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old October 9th, 2008, 09:51 AM

Dragar Dragar is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 731
Thanks: 17
Thanked 36 Times in 17 Posts
Dragar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

Did yuo manage to find mine Llama? Or should I email you the files?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old October 9th, 2008, 10:16 AM

llamabeast llamabeast is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 5,921
Thanks: 194
Thanked 855 Times in 291 Posts
llamabeast will become famous soon enoughllamabeast will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Is it just me or??? <army didn't move>

Oh, sorry, I'm getting confused. I'll be able to find yours Dragar, no problem.

I got muddled because there'd another thread about incorrect battle reports where it'd also be useful to have sample files, and no-one's got any sample files for that yet.
__________________
www.llamaserver.net
LlamaServer FAQ
My mod nations: Tomb Kings and Vampire Counts
A compilation of high quality mod nations: Expanded Nations Packs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.