.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze - Save $8.00
The Falklands War: 1982- Save 8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > KE Studios > War Plan Pacific
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 22nd, 2008, 11:24 AM

kwverdon kwverdon is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kwverdon is on a distinguished road
Default Vista SP1 - Cannot Start

Has anyone been able to get WPP running on Vista SP1? When I try to run WPP I get an error "WPP has stopped working" with the only option to close. I've tried modifying the shortcut so that it tries to run in XP comnpatibility mode or with Admin rights but neither has worked. This is on my Dell Studio 17 Laptop. This would be the perfect laptop game if I could just get it working

Thanks,

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 22nd, 2008, 11:54 AM

OTGamer OTGamer is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
OTGamer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vista SP1 - Cannot Start

Check the file permissions of the "Program Files" directory and make sure those permissions are full under the account you are running.

My experience is with XP. I've noticed even Admin accounts sometimes wind up with less than full access to the "Program Files" directory. If I run WPP on an Admin account that does not have full "Program Files" privileges, it will terminate when I try to begin a scenario. If I give the account full privileges (I have to do this explicitly for the Program Files folder), all is well. Perhaps something similar is going on with Vista? This is just a possible solution; it is probably something else. But it won't hurt to check to be sure.

And while you're at it, make sure the KE Studios folder has full privileges as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 22nd, 2008, 03:22 PM
Annette's Avatar

Annette Annette is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cary, NC, USA
Posts: 1,319
Thanks: 22
Thanked 50 Times in 38 Posts
Annette is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vista SP1 - Cannot Start

Please try please running the following from the folder where you installed the file:



· vcredist_x86.exe

· xnafx20_redist.msi

· direct\DXSetup.exe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 22nd, 2008, 09:09 PM
Jankee's Avatar

Jankee Jankee is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 290
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Jankee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vista SP1 - Cannot Start

It runs on my 64bit Vista SP1.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 23rd, 2008, 12:37 AM

kwverdon kwverdon is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kwverdon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vista SP1 - Cannot Start

It finally works! I coppied the DXsetup folder to the folder where the program is installed and ran DXsetup and now it works!

thanks,

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 9th, 2009, 02:56 AM

ratherbegliding ratherbegliding is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ratherbegliding is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vista SP1 - Cannot Start

Hi there,

OK so I appreciate I'm probably missing something really obvious here, but the demo refuses to run on my machine (Vista 64 bit).

I installed as normal, then copied:

vcredist_x86.exe

and

xnafx20_redist.msi

into the installation directory and ran them.

Then copied the whole DirectX folder into the installation directory (so it appears next to the 'Content' directory) and then ran DXsetup.exe

All three installations seem to work ok - but the demo still fails - I get the 'WPP has stopped working' box.

What am I doing wrong??

Thx
RBG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 9th, 2009, 03:50 AM

ratherbegliding ratherbegliding is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ratherbegliding is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vista SP1 - Cannot Start

I take it all back!

Re-booted my machine and it started first time.

IT is certainly a black art sometimes.

RBG
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.