.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- $6.00
The Star & the Crescent- Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 4th, 2013, 11:26 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,310
Thanks: 102
Thanked 1,291 Times in 891 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Computer Windows 8 Playtesters required

Attached is a version of the Game Options programme that should treat Windows 8 properly. i.e behave exactly as for Windows XP and earlier as there is no nasty aero interface to destroy the 256 colour palette used in full screen.

We need some folks with Windows 8 to test this under that operating system - since we don't have it.

Windows XP :
Normal behaviour
- Reports "Windows XP or earlier"
- Does not run batch file
(tested)

Windows Visa and Windows 7:
Special Behaviour
- Reports as "Windows Vista or Windows 7"
- Runs the batch file to kill explorer and aero in full screen mode
- Disables the GDI/Directx switch
(tested)

New behaviour for testing:
Windows 8:
Normal behaviour
- Reports as "Windows 8 or later"
- Does not run the batch file or disable the graphics switch
(Not yet tested - this is what we need feedback from you Windows 8 users on! )


Additional:
Not part of the test, new feature.
The AIAdjustpercent variable's value is exposed for editing on the misc screen for CD owners. Allowed values are 1 through 500. This saves opening the INI file to manually adjust the AI force ratio.
(Free demo game owners cannot edit the field - it is read-only.)

Instructions:
Extract the zip file to your MBT folder.
The file has a different name from the gameoptions exe, so will not overwrite that.
Double click on the new exe to run the test version.

Last edited by Mobhack; January 5th, 2013 at 01:38 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 5th, 2013, 11:53 AM

Rosmarus Rosmarus is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Rosmarus is on a distinguished road
Default

I extracted the file into my MBT folder and ran it. However nothing has changed. GDI option is still grayed out and at the bottom it says "Windows Vista or Windows 7". Am I doing something wrong here or have you guys accidentally uploaded a wrong file?
Edit: I also forgot to mention that it still runs the batch file as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 5th, 2013, 01:37 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,310
Thanks: 102
Thanked 1,291 Times in 891 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 8 Playtesters required

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosmarus View Post
I extracted the file into my MBT folder and ran it. However nothing has changed. GDI option is still grayed out and at the bottom it says "Windows Vista or Windows 7". Am I doing something wrong here or have you guys accidentally uploaded a wrong file?
Edit: I also forgot to mention that it still runs the batch file as well.
The version (on the help tab) should be the 4th of January 2013.

What we need to know is if it is properly detecting windows 8 - which we cannot test, since none of us have the thing.
So there will likely be a few of these "blind test" exes till we get it right. We cannot load it onto windows 8 to see what does actually happen - that is what you are doing for us.

Also - I may have noticed why the version number is not being reported right... probably a new test coming to you real soon now
(> != >=)

NB - Windows versions as actually reported internally in the OS version info structure are:
Windows XP = 5.1
Windows Vista = 6.0
Windows 7 = 6.1
Windows 8 = 6.2

(So any Windows 8 users are really running Windows 6.2 !)

And it was my test on the minor digit that was wrong...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 5th, 2013, 01:55 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,310
Thanks: 102
Thanked 1,291 Times in 891 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Disk Re: Windows 8 Playtesters required

New version of the test executable for GameOptions

(Any who downloaded the previous test article can delete that)

- fixed the test on the minor version number, so with a bit of luck, it will detect Windows version ID of 6.2 that "Windows 8" is known as internally.

Let me know how that works - or not...
Attached Files
File Type: zip GameOptionsMBTW8.zip (314.1 KB, 48 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 7th, 2013, 07:01 PM

Rosmarus Rosmarus is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Rosmarus is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 8 Playtesters required

The new .exe seems to be working as intented. It reports my OS as Windows 8 and allows me to switch between GDI and DirectX. It doesn't run batch file either. How ever there seems to be an issue with Windows 8 when in full screen mode (set to desktop resolution).

This is my description of the issue from another thread:
"The problem is that game seems to run in "bits". What I'm trying to say is that when I move my mouse to the edge of the map it scrolls, then stops for a moment and then scrolls some more and stops again. Same goes for the units, tank moves a bit, stops and then moves a bit again, you get the idea."

This has happened both on my laptop and tabletop PC as well.
I've made sure that I'm running newest GPU drivers so that can't be the issue. I don't encounter this problem when I set my game to windowed mode in desktop resolution.

Here are my specs:
Tabletop
AMD X6 Phenom 1090T Black Edition 3,2 GHz/core (6 cores)
8 gb DDR3 (1800 MHz)
Ati Radeon 5970 2gb GDDR5
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
Native resolution 1920x1080

Laptop
Intel i5 3210M 2,5 GHz/core (2 cores)
4 gb DDR3
Nvidia GeForce 635M 2 gb
Windows 8 64bit
Native resolution 1366x768
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 7th, 2013, 07:21 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,803
Thanks: 1,906
Thanked 3,004 Times in 1,504 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Windows 8 Playtesters required

Start the game with GameOptions and click on the "Misc" tab.

Adjust the Map scroll sensitivity zone a bit larger ( try 15 then 20 ) then see how that works. You also might want to try some higher or lower numbers for scroll speed

Don
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 8th, 2013, 07:00 AM

Rosmarus Rosmarus is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Rosmarus is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 8 Playtesters required

Nope, doesn't work. Even units work in bits, when I want to change my tanks facing it thinks for a while and then turns but in windowed mode everything is instantaneous as it should be.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 8th, 2013, 07:23 AM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,310
Thanks: 102
Thanked 1,291 Times in 891 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 8 Playtesters required

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosmarus View Post
Nope, doesn't work. Even units work in bits, when I want to change my tanks facing it thinks for a while and then turns but in windowed mode everything is instantaneous as it should be.
Did you try changing between DirectX and GDI graphic modes to see if it affected anything?


Is the monitor running at its native dot resolution? - some flat screens can run slower if not as they have to interpolate the dots to fit (unlike old fashioned CRTs).


Have you set up Windows 8 to play the game in 256 colour mode for full screen (that may be assignable for the individual game itself, or you may have to set up the monitor to 256 colour mode - see your Windows help. I have no idea as I have not got 8).
NB - that's the game EXE you'll have to set any windows attributes on (right click on the EXE or shortcut??) and not the game launcher programme.)


Unit move delay is governed by the "Units Move Delay" field on the misc tab - did you try reducing that (though the full screen should be the same sort of performance as the desktop sized windows mode).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 8th, 2013, 07:43 AM
Rosollia's Avatar

Rosollia Rosollia is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 215
Thanks: 12
Thanked 61 Times in 39 Posts
Rosollia is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 8 Playtesters required

You might also want to try setting the priority of WinSPMBT.exe in the Task manager to a higher level and see if that helps.

http://www.informatics-tech.com/how-...windows-8.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 8th, 2013, 09:10 AM

Rosmarus Rosmarus is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Rosmarus is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Windows 8 Playtesters required

Changing between GDI and DirectX has no effect. I'm running the game both on my laptop and tabletop at screen's native resolution. I used to have the free download version on my tabletop and I ran it at 800x600 and didn't encounter this. I also noticed that game runs in bits when I move my mouse over the action buttons in the tactical screen. It looks like the game loads for a sec, then works fine for a moment and then hangs for a sec to load a bit more. I've tried different speed options for scroll speed, unit move delay etc. They work as they should, map scrolls faster and so on but it still stops to "load".

Changing to 256 color mode or fiddling with the priority has no effect. Game still works perfectly in windowed mode with my desktop resolution which is also the native resolution.

Last edited by Rosmarus; January 8th, 2013 at 09:24 AM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.