.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Approaching Infinity - Save $7.00
Bronze - Save $7.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 19th, 2013, 01:21 PM

SplendidTuesday SplendidTuesday is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SplendidTuesday is on a distinguished road
Default My CD key isn't working

So I recently bought Dominions 3 off of GamersGate after not being able to play it for a year (long story short, I had had to reboot my computer and a short time before that I had lost the manual with the CD key), and I've figured out how to bypass the bug where the game refuses to load and says "config file not found" or something like that.

Now my problem is that the GamersGate CD key (they call it an activation code, if that means anything) provided does not work. How can I fix this? I noticed that the first string of numbers in the CD key is one number longer than the sample CD key. I'd like help in figuring this out.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 19th, 2013, 01:44 PM
Edi's Avatar

Edi Edi is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 5,425
Thanks: 174
Thanked 695 Times in 267 Posts
Edi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: My CD key isn't working

Run the game as admin the first time, then enter the key. The key you got is correct, Dominions 3 cd keys are not uniform (i.e. some of them have xxxx-123-abcde-1234 and others may start off with 3 digits and then have the rest of the groupings randomly). So pay no attention to the sample cd key.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 19th, 2013, 01:45 PM

SplendidTuesday SplendidTuesday is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SplendidTuesday is on a distinguished road
Default Re: My CD key isn't working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edi View Post
Run the game as admin the first time, then enter the key. The key you got is correct, Dominions 3 cd keys are not uniform (i.e. some of them have xxxx-123-abcde-1234 and others may start off with 3 digits and then have the rest of the groupings randomly). So pay no attention to the sample cd key.
I have tried the CD Key (I checked to make sure I'm putting the numbers in right), and I've run as administrator. Still doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 20th, 2013, 08:31 AM
Edi's Avatar

Edi Edi is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 5,425
Thanks: 174
Thanked 695 Times in 267 Posts
Edi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: My CD key isn't working

Quote:
Originally Posted by SplendidTuesday View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edi View Post
Run the game as admin the first time, then enter the key. The key you got is correct, Dominions 3 cd keys are not uniform (i.e. some of them have xxxx-123-abcde-1234 and others may start off with 3 digits and then have the rest of the groupings randomly). So pay no attention to the sample cd key.
I have tried the CD Key (I checked to make sure I'm putting the numbers in right), and I've run as administrator. Still doesn't work.
Okay, then go into the Dominions 3 directory and the delete the file called key. Then restart the game as admin and see what it does.

For future reference, this place is no longer the official forum for Dominions 3, the official forum is at Desura. It is the better place to ask for help, since there are more people over there.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Edi For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old June 20th, 2013, 03:05 PM

SplendidTuesday SplendidTuesday is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SplendidTuesday is on a distinguished road
Default Re: My CD key isn't working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edi View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SplendidTuesday View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edi View Post
Run the game as admin the first time, then enter the key. The key you got is correct, Dominions 3 cd keys are not uniform (i.e. some of them have xxxx-123-abcde-1234 and others may start off with 3 digits and then have the rest of the groupings randomly). So pay no attention to the sample cd key.
I have tried the CD Key (I checked to make sure I'm putting the numbers in right), and I've run as administrator. Still doesn't work.
Okay, then go into the Dominions 3 directory and the delete the file called key. Then restart the game as admin and see what it does.

For future reference, this place is no longer the official forum for Dominions 3, the official forum is at Desura. It is the better place to ask for help, since there are more people over there.
Looks like I got it to work; I think I kept accidentally putting one wrong number in and thought it was the right one. Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.