.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Command 3.0 - Save $10.00
Raging Tiger: The Second Korean War- Save $7.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT > Campaigns, Scenarios & Maps
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #201  
Old May 27th, 2018, 07:04 AM

dmnt dmnt is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 355
Thanks: 52
Thanked 133 Times in 102 Posts
dmnt is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Height Maps

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp10 View Post
I am posting this here since i am working on a map generated from the Venhola map tool.

We are currently considering that each unit of height roughly represents 24 inches or .6 meters. As a simple rule of thumb this would make each hill level represent roughly 20 feet or 6 meters of height


So:
Height 1 = 20 feet/6 meters
2 = 40/12
3 = 60/24
4 = 80/30
5 = 100/36
6 = 120/42
7 = 140/48
8 = 160/54
9 = 180/60
10 = 200/66
11 = 220/72
12 = 240/78
13 = 260/84
14 = 280/90
15 = 300/96

The reason for my seemingly grognard questioning is I am working on a map that highest peaks need to be 656'/200m and I need to set the ratio to translate the scale to WINSPMBT height system. I am calculating that if level 15 300'/96m will be simulating the 656'/200m then each 100'/33m of real height should be a 2.5 level increase on the map. Sounds good?
The map tool assumes 10 meters / level (see the adjustable number 10 next to character). If you change that to 6 it should produce these numbers. Back to the days when I started there wasn't a definitive guide so I assumed that height is metric and the unit is one meter and went on with that.

I may change the default to 6 meters now, tho.

By default the system uses the lowest point of terrain as the lowest level (height 0) and then converts the terrain features into WinSPMBT map by the said conversion logic. Any height exceeding will be "clipped", that is made to be level 15 if it's higher than 160 meters from the lowest point (or 96 meters on 6 meter step setting). Additionally if you download the source code and run it on command line you can have a manually set lowest point.

For your terrain, you'll have two options:
* compress; set the terrain level to be 200 m / 16 = 12.5 meters
* clip; let the highest points in the terrain be flat level 15 areas and work it with the terrain settings but making the peaks impassable
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmnt For This Useful Post:
  #202  
Old May 27th, 2018, 07:20 AM

dmnt dmnt is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 355
Thanks: 52
Thanked 133 Times in 102 Posts
dmnt is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Height Maps

Just checked the source code, unfortunately the clipping is not the default but compression. I'll probably modify that when I can make sure the level parameters work properly.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmnt For This Useful Post:
  #203  
Old May 28th, 2018, 03:11 AM

dmnt dmnt is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 355
Thanks: 52
Thanked 133 Times in 102 Posts
dmnt is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Height Maps

Updated the code; fixed the bug where the level setting actually had no effect to the produced map terrain. The map that is produced is still always compressed, so highest peaks should be level 15 unless the terrain hasn't that much height difference (< 96 m total). I will include that change in the next version because the absolute level height is something the map makers can easily set themselves.
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dmnt For This Useful Post:
  #204  
Old May 28th, 2018, 06:57 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,271
Thanks: 1,582
Thanked 2,352 Times in 1,227 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Height Maps

It may just be my server ATM but it seems very slow resizing and showing the map area now. Zooming the map out takes much longer now to redraw all the areas
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old May 29th, 2018, 04:49 AM

dmnt dmnt is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 355
Thanks: 52
Thanked 133 Times in 102 Posts
dmnt is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Height Maps

The map tiles are cached but in case of cache miss they're loaded from the source which unfortunately seems very slow at the moment.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmnt For This Useful Post:
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.