.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening > Scenarios, Maps and Mods

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 22nd, 2009, 11:35 PM

Ghill Ghill is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 105
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ghill is on a distinguished road
Default Debugging: Bad Armor

AAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!

I was working on a mod, finished it, and am trying to create a game using it. Every time I try, it says "bad armor for new monster". I began deconstructing the mod to find out what was wrong. I gave up after I had removed all armor I had created, all armor added to any unit, and all but three units from the mod, and was still getting a "bad armor for new monster" crash.

What can cause that other then "bad armor"?

[I would include the file, but it doesn't want to upload...]
__________________
I mod because I love it.

All hail Fury the (aptly named) Great Hawk.

Last edited by Ghill; November 22nd, 2009 at 11:43 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 22nd, 2009, 11:46 PM

Ghill Ghill is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 105
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ghill is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Debugging: Bad Armor

HERE is the code.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Ghill Mod TEXT.txt (15.5 KB, 92 views)
__________________
I mod because I love it.

All hail Fury the (aptly named) Great Hawk.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 23rd, 2009, 01:10 AM
Thilock_Dominus's Avatar

Thilock_Dominus Thilock_Dominus is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 471
Thanks: 23
Thanked 28 Times in 16 Posts
Thilock_Dominus is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Debugging: Bad Armor

Maybe this:

Code:
#newmonster 2505 --
#name "Owwun Battle Champion"
#spr1 "./Ghill Mod/Owwun Warrior [1].tga"
#spr2 "./Ghill Mod/Owwun Warrior [2].tga"
#size 4
#str 17
#hp 30
#mor 16
#eyes 3
#ap 8
#mapmove 2
#reinvigoration 2
#maxage 30
#descr "Owwun Battle Champions are the biggest, strongest, and most successful of the Owwun."
#att 13
#def 14
#itemslots 15518
#armor 352 --Ceramic great shield
#armor 353 --Ceramic full plate
#weapon 704 --Heavy slasher
#weapon 705 --Disk blade
#weapon 14 --Maul
#ambidextrous
#poorleader
#gcost 100
#end
Are you sure that itemslots# are correct?
__________________
| Ubuntu Linux 12.04 64-bit |

Nosophoros: The Vampire Lords - v1.02
Conquest of Elysium 3 GUI mods
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 23rd, 2009, 11:42 AM
Stavis_L's Avatar

Stavis_L Stavis_L is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 466
Thanks: 35
Thanked 95 Times in 60 Posts
Stavis_L is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Debugging: Bad Armor

To expand on Thilock_Dominus' comment:

The problem may not be with the armor per se, but with the assignment of the armor to the unit (i.e. a slots problem.)

15518
4 hand --> 30
1 head --> 128
1 body --> 1024
1 foot --> 2048
2 misc --> 12288

So: 1 head, 1 body, 1 foot, 4 hands, 2 misc

Total of 9 slots (vs. 7 "normal"). Not sure, but I think this is greater than max number of slots assigned to any vanilla unit, and might be your problem. All the 4 handed units in the base game have only 1 misc slot. Try cutting out one of the other slots to see if it resolves the issue.

Also, note that in your "Monsters" comment section (beginning line 154) you might want to take out all of the "#" symbols. I'm not sure how the parser is supposed to handle comments, but in practice, I find that it frequently will try to parse it even if the mod command does not begin the line.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 23rd, 2009, 12:01 PM

Illuminated One Illuminated One is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In Ulm und um Ulm herum
Posts: 787
Thanks: 133
Thanked 78 Times in 46 Posts
Illuminated One is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Debugging: Bad Armor

I had the same problem - replacing the numbers with strings

i.e. #armor "Ceramic great shield" instead of #armor 352

fixed it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 23rd, 2009, 01:49 PM
Stavis_L's Avatar

Stavis_L Stavis_L is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 466
Thanks: 35
Thanked 95 Times in 60 Posts
Stavis_L is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Debugging: Bad Armor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Illuminated One View Post
I had the same problem - replacing the numbers with strings

i.e. #armor "Ceramic great shield" instead of #armor 352

fixed it.
++ Good call. Didn't even notice, but the #armor command does not accept armor numbers as arguments (see section 10.14 of the modding manual.) That's almost certainly the issue (though I'd still have reservations re: the slots.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 23rd, 2009, 07:01 PM

Ghill Ghill is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 105
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ghill is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Debugging: Bad Armor

It works now! Thanks guys!
__________________
I mod because I love it.

All hail Fury the (aptly named) Great Hawk.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2024, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.