.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old March 26th, 2008, 12:46 PM
TheDesertFox's Avatar

TheDesertFox TheDesertFox is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
TheDesertFox is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Warning: VISTA-SP1 and WinSP:WW2/MBT problems!

Hi,

no, with Ultimate you are allowed to use the same licence on your native and your VPC. With Enterprise you are allowed to use up to four VPCs with the same licence on one machine.

In fact the VPC on my Vista64 rig is the same licence as my notebook.

I dunno about Home Premium, but anyways you can install XP as a VPC on that machine (if you have a licence handy).

To change VRAM from the default setting to the max of 16megs you can edit the *.vmc file and adapt these lines:

<video_adapter>
<vram_size type="integer">128</vram_size>
</video_adapter>

That will give you 16megs of VRAM, which isn´t necessary for WinSP but might be handy for other apps.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 26th, 2008, 01:15 PM
Wdll's Avatar

Wdll Wdll is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hellas->Macedonia->Thessaloniki->City Center->noisy neighbourhood
Posts: 1,175
Thanks: 176
Thanked 58 Times in 42 Posts
Wdll is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Warning: VISTA-SP1 and WinSP:WW2/MBT problems!

Thank you.

BTW, aren't the requirements of winspmbt 32MB of video ram?
__________________
That's it, keep dancing on the minefield!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 26th, 2008, 02:18 PM
TheDesertFox's Avatar

TheDesertFox TheDesertFox is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
TheDesertFox is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Warning: VISTA-SP1 and WinSP:WW2/MBT problems!

Hi,

yes 32megs is what the gameguide recommends. However it runs flawless in 1280x1024 on my VPC.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 27th, 2008, 11:19 AM

Horses Horses is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Horses is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Warning: VISTA-SP1 and WinSP:WW2/MBT problems!

Hi,

thanks for your help and support.

Both WinSP:WW2/MBT are running fine and smooth now in windowed mode. The problem was the font size (it was too large). I adjusted it to standard settings 96DPI and now all is ok.

@TheDesertFox
I use the older 8800GTS G80 with 320MB with Asus Mainboard (P35-chipset).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 28th, 2008, 10:20 AM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,372
Thanks: 106
Thanked 1,339 Times in 923 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Warning: VISTA-SP1 and WinSP:WW2/MBT problems!

Quote:
Horses said:
Hi,

thanks for your help and support.

Both WinSP:WW2/MBT are running fine and smooth now in windowed mode. The problem was the font size (it was too large). I adjusted it to standard settings 96DPI and now all is ok.

@TheDesertFox
I use the older 8800GTS G80 with 320MB with Asus Mainboard (P35-chipset).
I now recall someone had a problem with Mobhack, way back in the Windows 98 days (before I needed reading glasses!), and it eventually turned out that he had reset his windows to use large fonts.

Changing any version of Windows away from the default 96DPI is never a good idea, as it can thoroughly mess up any dialogue boxes, buttons, display of images etc - the size of the dialogue box or text button or image box X-Y pixels is fixed to whatever was used in the form designer and won't rescale, but any now-larger text (or image, if it rescales them - been a long while since I looked at the problem) then tries to squash into the existing pixel area and simply makes a mess. Therefore highly not recommended!.

In the old CRT days - the best way to make Windows larger for poor eyesight etc (without pulling one's reading glasses out! ) was to simply use a smaller window size on your monitor (e.g. 800 by 600 instead of say 1024 by 768). The "feature" to change windows DPI seems really never to have been a usable one due to side-effects, and it seems Vista continues that tradition!. Nowadays, with LCD screens, using a non-native resolution can result in "fuzzy" screens, one reason I still have the 10-ton (or so it seems if I shift it!) 19 inch CRT gathering dust in the spare bedroom. It's the only way I can test the game at maximum resolution now, as my LCD 1280 by 1024 monitor simply cannot handle that resolution, though the graphic card will - and will happily let me try it on the LCD monitor, but with a blank screen as a result. The monitor hardware seems not to tell the GFX card it can't hack the resolution, and so Windows believes the GFX card it seems. (The CRT was also better at colour handling - my desktop used to be the "autumn" one with the trees and leaves etc, but the new LCD screen seems somewhat washed-out & faded with browns and so I tend to use a blueish one instead now).

Cheers
Andy
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old March 28th, 2008, 10:57 AM
Wdll's Avatar

Wdll Wdll is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hellas->Macedonia->Thessaloniki->City Center->noisy neighbourhood
Posts: 1,175
Thanks: 176
Thanked 58 Times in 42 Posts
Wdll is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Warning: VISTA-SP1 and WinSP:WW2/MBT problems!

Mobhack sounds like you need to buy a new larger TFT monitor.
__________________
That's it, keep dancing on the minefield!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old December 17th, 2008, 12:16 AM
Wdll's Avatar

Wdll Wdll is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hellas->Macedonia->Thessaloniki->City Center->noisy neighbourhood
Posts: 1,175
Thanks: 176
Thanked 58 Times in 42 Posts
Wdll is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Warning: VISTA-SP1 and WinSP:WW2/MBT problems!

btw, new pc, Vista 64, quad core 9550, radeon 4870X2, and they run the game just fine, though just in case I have the intro disabled.
My only wish is, for something I will post elsewhere lol.
__________________
That's it, keep dancing on the minefield!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old December 17th, 2008, 03:29 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,930
Thanks: 2,033
Thanked 3,083 Times in 1,550 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Warning: VISTA-SP1 and WinSP:WW2/MBT problems!

Try it with the intro on once and see what happens

Don
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old December 17th, 2008, 05:19 PM
Wdll's Avatar

Wdll Wdll is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hellas->Macedonia->Thessaloniki->City Center->noisy neighbourhood
Posts: 1,175
Thanks: 176
Thanked 58 Times in 42 Posts
Wdll is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Warning: VISTA-SP1 and WinSP:WW2/MBT problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRG View Post
Try it with the intro on once and see what happens

Don
crashes.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: winspmbt.exe
Application Version: 1.0.3.5
Application Timestamp: 00000000
Fault Module Name: quartz.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.6.6001.18063
Fault Module Timestamp: 4812e26d
Exception Code: c0000090
Exception Offset: 00099b22
OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: 5fba
Additional Information 2: b3e1f2122844d4e8d212ddae5bccb695
Additional Information 3: 6874
Additional Information 4: 42f60de55b5ca326eb05bdf47880f16c
__________________
That's it, keep dancing on the minefield!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old December 17th, 2008, 06:32 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,372
Thanks: 106
Thanked 1,339 Times in 923 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Warning: VISTA-SP1 and WinSP:WW2/MBT problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wdll View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRG View Post
Try it with the intro on once and see what happens

Don
crashes.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: winspmbt.exe
Application Version: 1.0.3.5
Application Timestamp: 00000000
Fault Module Name: quartz.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.6.6001.18063
Fault Module Timestamp: 4812e26d
Exception Code: c0000090
Exception Offset: 00099b22
OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: 5fba
Additional Information 2: b3e1f2122844d4e8d212ddae5bccb695
Additional Information 3: 6874
Additional Information 4: 42f60de55b5ca326eb05bdf47880f16c
quartz.dll (a part of Microsoft's own directshow it seems) has problems in Vista.

Try googling on "quartz.dll vista"


Cheers
Andy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.