.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

winSPWW2- Save $6.00
World Supremacy- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 12:36 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 1,718
Thanked 2,557 Times in 1,354 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

OK, next question for those of you who have had this happen

Have you tried deleting the formations in a campaign after a reboot when the game is the first thing you have started up and the campaign is the first thing you have done?

This is a long shot but more than anything I'm trying to elliminate variables. Becasue neither Andy nor I ( and Mike ) have been able to duplicate it I suspect it may be related to a series of events that we are not doing in the same way as the people who have had this happen have been doing

Don
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 12:42 PM
TopperHarley's Avatar

TopperHarley TopperHarley is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TopperHarley is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

I did the test (Soviet 1976 vs UK USA & CDN) on two computers and had NO problems deleting units (both purchase and repair screens)

Game is CD ver 3.0 (played with sound options off)

XP pro SP2
Intel E6300, 2GB RAM
Nvidia 7900GTO, onboard sound on

Win2000 (latest SP)
Cel 400, 256 MB RAM
2,5MB onboard gfx and sound (sound off in bios)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 03:23 PM

narwan narwan is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nijmegen
Posts: 948
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
narwan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

Tried with WinSPMBTv2.51-DL, WinSPMBTv3.0-DL and WinSPMBTv3.0-CD. Had no problem deleting formations in any of them.

Narwan

system:
Pentium II, 410MHz
192MB RAM
Windows 2000 (5.00.2195)
ATI Technologies Inc 3D RAGE PRO AGP 2X; 5.00.2180.001
Creative SoundBlaster PCI; 5.00.2180.001
3Com Etherlink XL 10/100 PCI TX NIC
DirectX 9.0c
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old February 3rd, 2007, 09:46 AM

pdoktar pdoktar is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 303
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
pdoktar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

I tried to play as the first operation I did with my computer and again the same result occurred (not being able to delete formations). However I have not yet defragged my hard disk, and maybe IŽll try downloading all the game files again and installing from the bottom up.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old February 3rd, 2007, 01:51 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 1,718
Thanked 2,557 Times in 1,354 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

Quote:
pdoktar said:
I tried to play as the first operation I did with my computer and again the same result occurred (not being able to delete formations). However I have not yet defragged my hard disk, and maybe IŽll try downloading all the game files again and installing from the bottom up.
Try defragging you HD first. That's always a good thing to do anyway.

This is turning into a freaky little bug and the exact issue that is causing it still eludes us but we will figure it out. That message is only drawn from one place in the code and covers both pre bought formations in constructed campaigns and post purchase formations in generated campaigns. Somehow ,in some players games their intial buy is being treated like one of the first two cases.

Don
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old February 3rd, 2007, 03:10 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is online now
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,219
Thanks: 51
Thanked 1,207 Times in 842 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

It's goint to be some peculiuar chain of events required to create it.

Everyone who has tested, seems to have booted up the game and started a campaign, bought some formations and nuked these quite happily.

So - we need to know the chain of events that cause the problem like "I played a saved game of my ongoing LC, then saved and exited that, then I went into the scenario editor and edited a brand new scenario, saved that, then I decided to launch a brand new campaign game and the problem arose then. I never exited the game while doing all these things".

It's going to be some interaction between one game subsystem and another from an unexpected chain of processes.

Cheers
Andy
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old February 3rd, 2007, 06:53 PM

markgame markgame is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
markgame is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

Oops, wrong thread
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old February 4th, 2007, 04:32 PM
Goblin_'s Avatar

Goblin_ Goblin_ is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Goblin_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

Same problem here.

Chain of events - installed 3.0, tried to play generated campaign.

Computer:

Athlon 3800+
1 GB RAM
WinXP Home -- SP2
NVidia GeForce 6600 Ultra PCI-E
Creative SB PCI 128 Ensoniq (ES 1371) Sound Card
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe MB
DX 9.0c
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old February 4th, 2007, 04:47 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 1,718
Thanked 2,557 Times in 1,354 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

OK Thanks. The more info we get the better. I've now seen reports from people who did have this problem that have had it suddenly clear up on them and work perfectly so that just added an extra layer of weird to this whole thing. Andy and I still have not had any cases on our machines where we cannot delete formations from the core......ever.

If anyone else suddenly finds they can start deleting core units after not being able to please let me know and try to remember if there was anything at all that you might have changed in your game settings or your computer between now and then.

Don
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old February 4th, 2007, 05:52 PM

dita dita is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dita is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

Just seen this post and I`d investigate as well (haven`t used the generate campaign option for a while)

Start the game, went straight to generate campaign then...I to have the same problem. I have the CD version
patched to 3.0.

Computer specs

Athlon 2800+
1 GB RAM
WinXP professional-- SP2
NVidia GeForce 6200 AGP
Nvidia on board sound
DX 9.0c
Asus A7N8X-x motherboard
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.