.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

winSPWW2- Save $6.00
World Supremacy- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old February 4th, 2007, 06:04 PM
Goblin_'s Avatar

Goblin_ Goblin_ is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Goblin_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

DRG - forgot to add: I have the D/L version.



Goblin
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old February 4th, 2007, 06:10 PM

dita dita is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dita is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

Some more info.

Just rebooted and tried to generate a campaign again, still same error.

However, trying the "thunder in the Sinai" (campaign 2 I think) I was able to add and delete formations no problem. I got the normal "confirmation" message.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old February 4th, 2007, 06:12 PM
Goblin_'s Avatar

Goblin_ Goblin_ is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Goblin_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

Just tried a two pre-existing campaigns (Silver Lions, Balkans 2008), changing the FIXED cores into OPEN cores. Gave myself some points to purchase with, then purchased. Was able to delete units (Y/N verification popped up) during this. Attempted Generated Campaign again, still unable to delete units.



Goblin
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old February 5th, 2007, 08:04 AM

pdoktar pdoktar is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 303
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
pdoktar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

For example in the 5th marines 1967 campaign core is set as open and I can purchase units normally and delete them too with the Y/N verification. However if I start a fixed core campaign it gives the: "cannot delete existing core formation." So somehow the game treats generated campaigns as fixed core campaigns, when Im starting to purchase the core units. Also I now defragged my hard disk and patched the game again from the 2.0 patch onwards. Now in versions 2.0 and 2.5 I can delete units, but when I patch it to 3.0 I cant anymore.

I did not install the whole game again as I was unable to find it in my home and was unsuccesful trying to download it in my school, since it is over 100mb.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old February 5th, 2007, 11:29 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 1,718
Thanked 2,557 Times in 1,354 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

Quote:
pdoktar said:<snip> However if I start a fixed core campaign it gives the: "cannot delete existing core formation." So somehow the game treats generated campaigns as fixed core campaigns, when Im starting to purchase the core units. <snip>
Yes, that's one possiblility but remember.... not all machines have this problem. Neither Andy or I or one of our playtesters have ever been able to NOT delete core formations and one of our other Playtesters game has suddenly allowed him to do it whereas when the problem was first noted he could not and our other playtester has never been able to delete a core formation since the problem was identified. Another reason this message appears is after the first game is played in a generated campaign and although your theory could indeed be the reason for this so could the game thinking that it's already played a battle.

The thing is, we didn't make any changes to that code for this version so the mystery only deepens

Don
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old February 5th, 2007, 02:56 PM

dita dita is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dita is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

Just tried again and generated a campaign. Selected a core force (two tank platoons) and was stll unable to delete them at this stage. Set the turns to two and played through scenario.

At the fix/expand core screen after battle one, I was then able to delete some core forces (removed one tank platoon) and added some infantry.

Looks like the core cannot be edited on the initial selection but can be at a later date (the interim "fix/expand" core screen

Not sure if it is helpful but I`ve attached the "in between" save games. One straight after the core selection, one after the mission and then one after changing the core force.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 493818-test-1st.zip (42.5 KB, 43 views)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old February 5th, 2007, 02:57 PM

dita dita is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dita is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

second save file-sorry cannot see how to add multiple saves
Attached Files
File Type: zip 493819-test-2nd.zip (49.3 KB, 35 views)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old February 5th, 2007, 02:58 PM

dita dita is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dita is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

file file, once again sorry for the multiple posts!
Attached Files
File Type: zip 493820-test-3rd.zip (377.9 KB, 36 views)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old March 12th, 2007, 03:15 PM

dita dita is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dita is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

Is there any news on this problem....?

Forgive me if its discussed elsewhere and I`ve missed it.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old March 12th, 2007, 05:45 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 1,718
Thanked 2,557 Times in 1,354 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: HUGE issue with the campaign generator

The problem has been resolved and will be released next month with the v3.5 patch. The short version of a long story is some machines, and we don't know why, the game was flagging campaigns as if they were fixed core user campaigns. Other machines did not do this and worked as we expected things to work. There has been extra code added to ensure the user campaign block is cleared to 0 when it's unused and this has cleared up the problem with the playtester who had the same problem occuring.

We forgot about this after it was fixed becasue we were busy with the WW2 upgrade

Don
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.