.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze- Save $7.00
Salvo- Save $7.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT > Campaigns, Scenarios & Maps
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 30th, 2005, 11:18 PM

tempes156 tempes156 is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tempes156 is on a distinguished road
Default Blowing bridges

I'm not having any luck getting AI pioneers to blow some bridges. I remember it was done in some of the SPWW2 scenarios though. Anyone know a sure fire way to accomplish this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 31st, 2005, 12:29 PM

Flyboy Flyboy is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Flyboy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Blowing bridges

203mm arty works well . . .

. . . I've never had much luck blowing bridges with engineers in any SP game.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 31st, 2005, 04:44 PM
Listy's Avatar

Listy Listy is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 358
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Listy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Blowing bridges

is this part of a senario?

If it is, by about 6-8 Ammo dumps and deploy tehm on the bridge.
Then set their crew to 0.

On game turn 0, they'll all go Bang, and the brdige "should" be dropped.

I'm trying to get this sort of unit put into the UN OOB along with alot of other stuff for senario desginers at the moment.
Here's the thread with the UN OOB I'm proposeing, have a look.
http://www.shrapnelcommunity.com/thr...b=5&o=&fpart=1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 31st, 2005, 04:55 PM

dita dita is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dita is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Blowing bridges

As part of s scenario, I`ve used the system listy mentioned. By setting it to a reinforcement, the bridge "should" drop at a desired time. Something I`m hoping to implement in a scenario soon.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 1st, 2005, 03:59 AM

tempes156 tempes156 is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tempes156 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Blowing bridges

Thanks for the positive input guys, looks to work well enough.

Now that this little hitch is fixed...time to test the scenario. Anyone interested please PM me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 1st, 2005, 12:46 PM
PlasmaKrab's Avatar

PlasmaKrab PlasmaKrab is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 40km from the old frontline
Posts: 859
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
PlasmaKrab is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Blowing bridges

dita:

File through the posts in here, but I'm quite sure of reading a post about reinforceing units with crew=0 "dying" on turn 0 and not later.
If you have contradictory evidence on that, all the better!

I'll look further into it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 1st, 2005, 03:28 PM

tempes156 tempes156 is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tempes156 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Blowing bridges

Plasma,

Pretty sure you're right. I tried getting crew=0 vehicles and ammo dumps to enter at later turns, but they never appear...because they are dead already. Only worked for turn 0.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 1st, 2005, 03:31 PM
Listy's Avatar

Listy Listy is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 358
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Listy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Blowing bridges

They do go on turn 0 everything I've tried points to that, including Unloading a unit, re-enforcement Para-dropping, everything. Turn 0 =BANG
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 1st, 2005, 06:49 PM

dita dita is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dita is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Blowing bridges

When I get crew=0 on ammo dumps to enter on a turn other than 1, they do appear, but, alas, no explosion. They just appear in their destroyed status.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 6th, 2005, 01:29 PM

Bernard Bernard is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Bernard is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Blowing bridges

You could try stationing an enemey pioneer unit with a slot 1 weapon capable of dropping the bridge with 1 shot of ammo.
Set the reaction turn to the turn you want the bridge to be blown.
Then set a unit of yours (ie. not one you want to use in the scenario LOL)to enter as a reinforcement on the hex where you want the bridge to be dropped.
In theory this should trigger the enemy pioneer unit to attack the unit in the hex with a big bridge dropping weapon.
If you edit the sacrificial unit to have cost 0 if poss and speed 0 it will not count against you in the scoring and will not be able to escape. A crew of 1 will ensure no crew running about the map.
In fact, if you want to drop bridges a lot, you could create a new unit for it (ie one to appear to trigger the pioneers to attack the bridge) in mobhack which could have big size to ensure it is attacked and you could use a small icon (or maybe ammo crate icon to represent the demo charges?) to prevent a big ammo dump materialising out of nowhere like some kind of kamikaze tardis.

Kamikaze Tardis.....

Now that could be a useful weapon....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.