.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Old September 15th, 2009, 10:45 AM

Corporal

binarysolo is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie questions, sitesearching + lots more Qs

Hey all, Dom3 newbie here. Had a few SP/MP questions to ask.

1. Sitesearching Q's -- so basically any land can have from 0-4 magic sites, AFAIK. Do those sites include hidden fortresses? Pre-existing Mines? Temples/Mines/Labs/etc. from luck events (more specifically, do those luck events uncover sites, or just create sites)? There's a buncha FAQs on sitesearching but I can't seem to find an answer to this specific question. :/

2. Casting globals enchantments -- say there are 5 globals in effect and I want to cast a global. Does my global basically act like a random dispel at that point, subject to DRN and what not? And it can attack my own globals too, should it be one of the 5 preexisting?

3. Domain effects -- what positive/negative effects do I suffer when under enemy domain? I vaguely remember reading on the forums that while under another nation's luck domain that ends up being bad luck to me. I'm sure somebody compiled a list, but I can't seem to find it again (blah)... can anybody kindly point me to it?

4. Overland spells -- Okay, I'm being shot at by arrows from the sky. And lesser horrors are eating my commanders. And stuff. Is there any way I can ID who's doing this to me, or do I just suck it up, build domes and get bodyguards? :/

Inverse question - I'd like to cast overland spells at some secret/presumed enemy... which spells are detectable and which aren't?

5. Commander (execution) order -- What determines the execution order for commanders/mages? Is it rearrangeable?