.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Assault Task Force - Save $7.00
winSPWW2 - Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 22nd, 2008, 06:00 AM
Cipher's Avatar

Cipher Cipher is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cipher is on a distinguished road
Default Antimagic + Army of lead

I heard these two spell will not work additively so that you get 4+4=+8 MR. Is it true, just want to confirm.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 22nd, 2008, 06:19 AM
Amhazair's Avatar

Amhazair Amhazair is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ghent, Belgium
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 39
Thanked 59 Times in 43 Posts
Amhazair is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Antimagic + Army of lead

It's true.

In general, no two spells giving the same effect stack. They do stack with other effects, like items and the like.
__________________
Praeterea censeo, contributoribus magnae auctoritatis e Foro Shrapnelsi frequenter in exsilium eiectis, eos qui verum auxilium petunt melius hoc situ adiuvari posse.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 22nd, 2008, 06:43 AM
Twan's Avatar

Twan Twan is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Posts: 961
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Twan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Antimagic + Army of lead

All spell buffs of the saMe type use non cumulative effects (you see when you mod spell that they just trigger the same effect, coded not to stack, with different aoe, range, etc or eventually several different effects for one spell).

All +MR spells (iron will, antimagic, resist magic, army of lead) use the same.

eagle eyes/aim/wind guide = same effect.

resist against x = same effect (army of gold + fire ward aren't cumulative ; nor resist cold + breath of winter).

etc...

There is no exception I know, but spells are cumulative with items effects.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 22nd, 2008, 07:00 AM
Cipher's Avatar

Cipher Cipher is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cipher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Antimagic + Army of lead

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 22nd, 2008, 04:48 PM
Baalz's Avatar

Baalz Baalz is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,435
Thanks: 57
Thanked 661 Times in 142 Posts
Baalz will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Antimagic + Army of lead

Quote:
Twan said:
There is no exception I know, but spells are cumulative with items effects.
Actually, outside of resistances that's usually not true. Most item effects work by triggering a spell. For instance, a charcoal shield autocasts fireshield at the start of combat so you can't stack another fireshield on top of it. Same with Rhime Haubrick, boots of quickness, crystal shield, boots of stone, etc. Regeneration items stack with spells though, as do resistances. I think most everything else doesn't.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 22nd, 2008, 05:05 PM

thejeff thejeff is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 133 Times in 117 Posts
thejeff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Antimagic + Army of lead

Technically some of those don't autocast the spell, but the effect is the same. They don't stack. It's more that some things are just effects. You either have luck or not.

Charcoal Shield and I think, Boots of quickness show the effects outside of battle, so they don't just cast the spell.

Rime Hauberk and Crystal Shield do, not sure what else.

Occasionally the difference is important. Luck and Missile Shield effects from items protect outside of battle, which they wouldn't if it was an autocast.

There was also a thread at one point about using the autocast items with Communion/Slave matrices to get effects on the slaves.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 22nd, 2008, 10:30 PM
JimMorrison's Avatar

JimMorrison JimMorrison is offline
Lieutenant General
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Utopia, Oregon
Posts: 2,676
Thanks: 83
Thanked 143 Times in 108 Posts
JimMorrison is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Antimagic + Army of lead

This is not a hard and fast rule, for sure. Do a 9W bless and put boots of quickness on your prophet, zooooooom. I had a game where he got heroic swiftness, or whatever the AP bonus is, it was insane, he was over 50 AP. Too bad it was only SP game, I didn't get to amaze anyone, or lose him to something stupid like a random Soul Slay.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 23rd, 2008, 01:38 AM

sum1lost sum1lost is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 674
Thanks: 7
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
sum1lost is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Antimagic + Army of lead

Quote:
JimMorrison said:
This is not a hard and fast rule, for sure. Do a 9W bless and put boots of quickness on your prophet, zooooooom. I had a game where he got heroic swiftness, or whatever the AP bonus is, it was insane, he was over 50 AP. Too bad it was only SP game, I didn't get to amaze anyone, or lose him to something stupid like a random Soul Slay.
I don't think the bless and boots stack, but the heroic swiftness stacks with either of those two.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 23rd, 2008, 02:30 AM
moderation's Avatar

moderation moderation is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 448
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
moderation is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Antimagic + Army of lead

By the way, the Amulet of Lycanthropy and Ring of Regeneration did stack regeneration in my tests.
__________________
How to observe blitzes
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 23rd, 2008, 04:30 AM
Lingchih's Avatar

Lingchih Lingchih is offline
General
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 3,207
Thanks: 54
Thanked 60 Times in 35 Posts
Lingchih is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Antimagic + Army of lead

Nice. Too bad you turn into a werewolf though.
__________________
Be forewarned, anything I post is probably either 1) Sophomoric humor, 2) Satire, 3) A gross exaggeration of the power I currently possess, 4) An outright lie, or 5) Drunken ramblings.

I occasionally post something useful.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.