.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

winSPWW2- Save $6.00
World Supremacy- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > KE Studios > War Plan Pacific
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 11th, 2009, 04:49 PM

Webrider Webrider is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Webrider is on a distinguished road
Default Demo won't work on Vista ?

I can't get the framwork 2.whatever to work on Vista 32 it says it is an invalid Vista file. So the Demo won't install. They provided the Net Frame work file with the Demo download but neither will install even using administrator privlages.

Does anyone have this working on Vista 32?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 18th, 2009, 03:30 PM

Webrider Webrider is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Webrider is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Demo won't work on Vista ?

OMG I am going to buy something from this company. I posted this and sent them an email with no response, I guess I could expect that level of support if I bought a game from them. BYE Shrapnel.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 21st, 2009, 06:40 PM

bgordon10 bgordon10 is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bgordon10 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Demo won't work on Vista ?

POSTED BY: Gamers Front on Aug 6, 2009

Most likely, some of the supporting programs are not installing correctly.

Please try this:

If you are running Vista SP1 or later, please run the following from the folder where you unzipped the file:

· vcredist_x86.exe

· xnafx20_redist.msi

· direct\DXSetup.exe

if you are running Vista RTM, install the XNA framework 3.5 from Microsoft located at:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

and then run the same files under Vista RTM above.

If those steps do not solve the problem, it would be helpful if you could check the error log. After you click on the icon, please check in the directory where you installed the game to see if there is a file named WPPErrorLog.XML

Posting those results here as well as a DxDiag would allow us to investigate further.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 24th, 2009, 02:47 AM
Tim Brooks's Avatar

Tim Brooks Tim Brooks is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Cary, NC, USA
Posts: 1,043
Thanks: 26
Thanked 196 Times in 74 Posts
Tim Brooks is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Demo won't work on Vista ?

Webrider:

Sent an email to whom? Did you contact customer support? This is a support issue. The forums are not used for support but for our customers. There are support links all over our sites.
__________________
Tim Brooks
Shrapnel Games
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 25th, 2009, 11:38 AM

JMHawkins JMHawkins is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: How does Puget Sound?
Posts: 335
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
JMHawkins is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Demo won't work on Vista ?

Webrider,

The demo runs on Vista, WPP was actually developed on Vista. What error are you getting?

Thanks,
John Hawkins
KE Studios
__________________
John Hawkins
KE Studios
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 4th, 2009, 04:19 AM

jomni jomni is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jomni is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Demo won't work on Vista ?

Most probably didn't install all components. I did the same mistake as well. The trick is to install all those executables that comes with the download. But shouldn't these be auto install in the first place?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 4th, 2009, 07:28 AM

jomni jomni is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jomni is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Demo won't work on Vista ?

What I meant in the previous post was the individual installers are available and seen by the user and they may accidentally press them instead.
Of course, the setup.exe will install everything in sequence.

Last edited by jomni; October 4th, 2009 at 07:51 AM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.