.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Armored Task Force- Save $8.00
War Plan Pacific- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 5th, 2006, 01:21 AM

MythicalMino MythicalMino is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MythicalMino is on a distinguished road
Default How the heck do I...?

deselect a commander from another one?

In other words....I had shift selected 2 commanders to move them together....now, I want to move just one, but when I click on the commander, I select both, and I cannot figure out how to deselect the one I don't want to move...

Anyone can help me out here???

Thanks

Chris
__________________
NOW playing: Dominions 3; Diablo 2; Silverfall; Out of the Park Baseball 9; Wrestling's Finest

wanna check out a great Cards & Dice game? www.gwfwrestling.com/home.htm

I only know one language: Hillbilly

Your mileage may vary, but mine always stays the same
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 5th, 2006, 01:41 AM
Arralen's Avatar

Arralen Arralen is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: 500km from Ulm
Posts: 2,279
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 12 Posts
Arralen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

Shift-click on ONE again ...
__________________
As for AI the most effective work around to this problem so far is to simply use an American instead, they tend to put up a bit more of a fight than your average Artificial Idiot.
... James McGuigan on rec.games.computer.stars somewhen back in 1998 ...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 5th, 2006, 02:05 AM
Wish's Avatar

Wish Wish is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,007
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Wish is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

or ctrl-click on the commander you want to add or remove (depending on what their status was originally)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 5th, 2006, 02:40 AM

MythicalMino MythicalMino is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MythicalMino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

thanks....I think I will just make this my "question" thread....

It has been awhile since I have played the game...but Dom3 has be pretty excited, so I figured I would just reinstall and have at it....

and I am enjoying the game quite a bit....
__________________
NOW playing: Dominions 3; Diablo 2; Silverfall; Out of the Park Baseball 9; Wrestling's Finest

wanna check out a great Cards & Dice game? www.gwfwrestling.com/home.htm

I only know one language: Hillbilly

Your mileage may vary, but mine always stays the same
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 5th, 2006, 03:06 PM

shovah shovah is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,606
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
shovah is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

I know the feeling, the game is plenty fun after a while of not playing it (which is why dom3 will rock since my dom2 isnt working atm)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 5th, 2006, 05:10 PM
BigJMoney's Avatar

BigJMoney BigJMoney is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 403
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BigJMoney is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

I wonder why it's like that. I guess because there is so much to experience in this game that even if you get temporarily tired of it, you'll want to come back later and experience new things. Honestly, if Dom3 didn't realease for another couple of years, I'd still have a lot to do with this game.

=$= Big J Money =$=
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 7th, 2006, 12:54 PM

MythicalMino MythicalMino is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MythicalMino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

in my current game (vs. the AI)....a province that supplies knights sits right next to my capital....

If I built a fortress in that province, that would take resources from my capital, right?

Should I just not bother with utilizing those knights in that province? (I am playing as Caelum, by the way)
__________________
NOW playing: Dominions 3; Diablo 2; Silverfall; Out of the Park Baseball 9; Wrestling's Finest

wanna check out a great Cards & Dice game? www.gwfwrestling.com/home.htm

I only know one language: Hillbilly

Your mileage may vary, but mine always stays the same
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 7th, 2006, 01:31 PM

quantum_mechani quantum_mechani is offline
Lieutenant General
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alaska
Posts: 2,968
Thanks: 24
Thanked 221 Times in 46 Posts
quantum_mechani is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

Quote:
MythicalMino said:
Should I just not bother with utilizing those knights in that province? (I am playing as Caelum, by the way)
Yes, not only does caelum have much better things to spend gold on, indy knights are pretty much impossible for any nation to mass in meaningful quantities.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 7th, 2006, 02:30 PM

MythicalMino MythicalMino is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MythicalMino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

ok....thanks....


Chris
__________________
NOW playing: Dominions 3; Diablo 2; Silverfall; Out of the Park Baseball 9; Wrestling's Finest

wanna check out a great Cards & Dice game? www.gwfwrestling.com/home.htm

I only know one language: Hillbilly

Your mileage may vary, but mine always stays the same
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 7th, 2006, 02:55 PM
Gandalf Parker's Avatar

Gandalf Parker Gandalf Parker is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
Gandalf Parker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How the heck do I...?

You dont have to build a castle there to use the knights. It might take awhile to build one but I tend to like to have some in the works.

They can be very useful as flankers. Set them off to the side (the top or bottom of the screen when assigning positions) and have them attack rear. Even better is to have a mounted commander and have the knights guard commander. Then have the mounted commander wait, wait, attack rear.
__________________
-- DISCLAIMER:
This game is NOT suitable for students, interns, apprentices, or anyone else who is expected to pass tests on a regular basis. Do not think about strategies while operating heavy machinery. Before beginning this game make arrangements for someone to check on you daily. If you find that your game has continued for more than 36 hours straight then you should consult a physician immediately (Do NOT show him the game!)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.