.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander- Save $5.00
winSPWW2- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V > SEIV

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #191  
Old December 9th, 2005, 12:36 PM

Glyn Glyn is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Glyn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Massive Planetary Shield Generators

Quote:
Slick said:
Repairs are indeed "free" (i.e. they cost no resources) In game terms, that's what the "Maintenance" cost is for. It doesn't seem too logical, but hey, that's how it works.
Itís a little known fact that the monthly maintains cost for ships included an insurance policy for full replacement of any damaged components, so repairing a damaged component doesnít cost extra. There is an exception clause in the case where the ship is totally destroyed they donít have to replace anything.
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old December 16th, 2005, 02:00 PM
CaptainAL's Avatar

CaptainAL CaptainAL is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA USA
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CaptainAL is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Massive Planetary Shield Generators

Thanks for all the posts.

Well, it happened again and I think I know why. I did not elect collision coverage Until recently I did not know about the 1.36M resource conversion limit for each RC III. So I started keeping an eye on that to make sure I did not exceed the limit. What I did not know until now is that resource conversion orders above the 1.36M limit carry over to the next turn. I must not have noticed the lit-up view orders icon when I gave the converter new orders for more conversion. The resource conversion backlog must have been for radioactives, and I guess that I put the radioactive conversion first on my new orders last turn. I figure this because only radioactives converted this turn and not the organics I ordered. So the backlog conversion of rads added to the new order to exceed the 1.2M rads I had in storage; therefore, nothing retrofitted. AAAAHHHHH - The Bug is ME!

LESSON I LEARNED: always clear any left over conversion orders before issuing new ones! OR - keep your eye on the eyeball! Sorry for wasted time guys - I would have noticed this sooner if I read sooner about the 1.36M converting limit. Perhaps these posts are worthwhile though in case someone else also does not see the 1.36M limit noted in the FAQs but does pick it up here.

Oh - and I have often thanked God that repairs do not cost anything. That would really drive me nuts!

Have a happy holiday all and thanks for your help!!!
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old December 16th, 2005, 03:41 PM
Captain Kwok's Avatar

Captain Kwok Captain Kwok is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Captain Kwok is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Massive Planetary Shield Generators

I noticed you did a similar thing with your former empire in Stellar Battles after noticing a bunch of retrofits not going through.
__________________
Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old December 16th, 2005, 04:16 PM
Slick's Avatar

Slick Slick is offline
Brigadier General
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kailua, Hawaii
Posts: 1,860
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Slick is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Massive Planetary Shield Generators

I believe the Resource Conversion limit is per converter so you can convert more resources by making facilities on other planets.
__________________
Slick.
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old December 16th, 2005, 05:25 PM
CaptainAL's Avatar

CaptainAL CaptainAL is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA USA
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CaptainAL is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Massive Planetary Shield Generators

Quote:
Captain Kwok said:
I noticed you did a similar thing with your former empire in Stellar Battles after noticing a bunch of retrofits not going through.
Yes, in every game that I had that many resources to convert I made this mistake. I just assumed it was a bug, but started to wonder when I didn't hear of it happening to anyone else. I don't know why I didn't notice before that there were conversion orders still pending when it happened and they related to resources that had not been converted. But anyway, I now know I no longer must deal with this affliction! [Cap'n Al rolls on floor imitating Gullom, shouting "I'm Free, I'm Free"]

You should be in pretty good shape in that game despite the wasted resources. I was giving some away to the Earth partner periodically - he seemed to be the most loyal ally to the Zappazoids in that game.
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old December 21st, 2005, 02:13 PM
CaptainAL's Avatar

CaptainAL CaptainAL is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA USA
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CaptainAL is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Massive Planetary Shield Generators

Need a bit of help once more. I looked over the FAQ and didn't see this, but if it is there I apologize & just let me know that. Thanks.

Question is regarding firing priority: What does strongest and weakest relate to - is strongest gauged by damage points the ship can sustain or the firepower of the ship? My fleets keep hitting my opponents "decoy" ships first - you know, the ones with 25 Crystal Armor plates and 6 shields. I can't afford another big loss. I had strongest as priority, so maybe that seeks the ship with greatest damage resistance. But I tried weakest in the simulator - same thing happened. I tried it with no strongest/weakest priority, and still the ships targeted the decoy first. Hopefully someone can give me a quick answer to this one, or I might as well give up on the game (and without me the game is essentially over for everyone). Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old December 23rd, 2005, 01:38 PM
CaptainAL's Avatar

CaptainAL CaptainAL is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA USA
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CaptainAL is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Massive Planetary Shield Generators

I think the addition of my post above is not obvious to most, since there is no answer and little views. I am going to post it as its own topic. Probably shouldn't be here anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old January 26th, 2006, 06:12 AM

Alienboy Alienboy is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Alienboy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Massive Planetary Shield Generators

I think this is the right place for your post. The simulator can't be trusted but I will add something I noticed. I haven't got to the bottom of this "issue" so I will only say what I have seen so far, in the hope that others may have seen this too!. I have tried different firering priorities and sometimes there seems to be no change even though I have done similar to you,... (changed from strongest to weakest etc) On many occasions I have given up and gone to resume my game. Thats when I noticed that the spaceyard build rates had changed, eg,.. a ship that normally takes 2 turns to build would now be taking 3 turns to build??. Also the amount of resources I had stored had reduced! ... and all I had done was use the simular!??. So I saved and quit. I then re-opened my game and everything was back in order. I then checked the same simulation and this time I did see a difference. So I only do a few simulations at a time and I always re-open to resume my game. Seems to work better?????? I think ! lol

Out of fustration I just made my firering priority Nearest, Nearest, Nearest, Nearest!
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old January 26th, 2006, 06:26 AM

Alienboy Alienboy is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Alienboy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Massive Planetary Shield Generators

Oh yeah,... was going to ask if anyone could recommend a good map for up to ten players. The game I am playing has a custom map. I would like to find something big??? Just interested in some feedback really. What your fav map?
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old January 26th, 2006, 06:52 AM
Fyron's Avatar

Fyron Fyron is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Fyron is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Massive Planetary Shield Generators

That sort of question should probably be posted in a new thread. Stickied threads should strive to remain on-topic, else they are not as useful as stickied threads.
__________________
It's not whether you win or lose that counts: it's how much pain you inflict along the way.
--- SpaceEmpires.net --- RSS --- SEnet ModWorks --- SEIV Modding 101 Tutorial
--- Join us in the #SpaceEmpires IRC channel on the Freenode IRC network.
--- Due to restrictively low sig limits, you must visit this link to view the rest of my signature.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.