.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander- Save $5.00
winSPWW2- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V > SEIV

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #201  
Old March 23rd, 2006, 05:34 AM

StarShadow StarShadow is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 300
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
StarShadow is on a distinguished road
Default Super Fast Transports

This is something that I thought up the other day, I hope someone finds it useful.

You can make a 'super fast transport' with a large hull (for example: a battleship) by adding spaceyard and emergency propulsion components to it. You'll have to babysit it but you can use the emergency propulsion every turn (the space yard will repair it). The end result is a transport with 16 movement and 3250kt of cargo (at max tech/with a battle ship).

StarShadow
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old March 23rd, 2006, 08:59 AM
Captain Kwok's Avatar

Captain Kwok Captain Kwok is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Captain Kwok is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Super Fast Transports

I think emergency propulsion components need to be repaired at a planetary space yard...
__________________
Space Empires Depot | SE:V Balance Mod
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old March 23rd, 2006, 09:44 AM

StarShadow StarShadow is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 300
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
StarShadow is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Super Fast Transports

I thought so too, but I tested it out before posting and it works.
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old March 23rd, 2006, 11:35 AM
douglas's Avatar

douglas douglas is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
douglas is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Ship Upgrades

Any space yard will do, and repair bays can help. Even a modded space yard with 0 repair rate allows repair bays in the same sector to repair emergency components.
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old March 23rd, 2006, 12:49 PM
Slick's Avatar

Slick Slick is offline
Brigadier General
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kailua, Hawaii
Posts: 1,860
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Slick is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Ship Upgrades

I use that very "super fast" battleship design also for my Stellar Manipulation ships. You paid big bucks for them, you are paying big maintenance for them, you can't have them spending too much unproductive time moving around. It's good if you retro-series build and/or want to retrofit to a different configuration because the basic hull-engines-spaceyard-etc is the same.

With these designs, they usually operate solo so they have to be "minefield resistant". Keep them protected behind your lines, use armor instead of shields. So long as the spaceyard component survives, it will repair itself.

I also make a "super fast" rescue ship. Same basic idea with repair bays added also. I'll build these at strategic places and mothball them. In the rare occurrence that a fleet takes lots of damage and it will be several turns before the fleet's existing repair capability completes repairs (or the fleet's repair ships got killed), I'll activate these ships to assist.
__________________
Slick.
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old March 24th, 2006, 05:16 PM

Glyn Glyn is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Glyn is on a distinguished road
Default To stop captured Bases from glassing their world

Set the base strategy to not fire on planets or satellites. Captured bases would no longer fire on the planet or satellites they once protected.

Note: If captured you could neutralize them by changing there strategy to not fire on anything.

Second Note: If you capture a base (or ship) retro fit it ASAP even if its to the same design. (Too bad if it has unique tech.)
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old April 1st, 2006, 06:15 PM

StarShadow StarShadow is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 300
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
StarShadow is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Planet Creation

This tip is for single player games and is somewhat cheesy (mmmmm cheese )...Save the turn before you create a planet, if it's not your type, try again. The planet you get on the second try will be the kind you get EVERY time (on the 2nd+ try). Most of the time it tends to be Carbon Dioxide. If it's still not your type, reload and try again next turn.
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old April 3rd, 2006, 11:01 AM
Wolfman77's Avatar

Wolfman77 Wolfman77 is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rockford, MN
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wolfman77 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Planet Creation

Yes and if you move to different sqares in certain orders you can change what type it is. The formula to determin planet type and atmosphere seem to be based partially on where the ship moved tat turn.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old July 2nd, 2007, 11:14 AM
AngleWyrm's Avatar

AngleWyrm AngleWyrm is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 417
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AngleWyrm is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Planet Creation

Maybe if the ship moves somewhere else, then other 'hidden things' use up a random number. Which are different from dice in that we can see the future of a random number line, but we cannot see the future of a random dice roll.
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old July 2nd, 2007, 06:58 PM
Parasite's Avatar

Parasite Parasite is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 464
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Parasite is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Massive Planetary Shield Generators

This sounds a lot like the Artifact discovery. It is hooked to the random number geterator. I have heard that the Simulator will rerandomize it. This means you are not stuck with the second planet type. Just run a simulation and then create the planet again from the save.

And Yes, this is cheezy.
__________________
I thought of the sun as a big bright ball of something that produced an intense absence of darkness. Alan Dean Foster No More Crystal Tears
A++SeGdy$+-++Fr?C++++Cst+SfAi--Mm-MpTS---SsROPw++Fq++Nd++++RpG++Mm++Bb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.