.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

ATF: Armored Task Force- Save $7.00
The Falklands War: 1982- Save $7.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 19th, 2013, 10:35 PM

Soth Soth is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Soth is on a distinguished road
Default Newb question - How do I use a mage?

I want to use a mage with my army, but he has a leadership of zero and i can't put him in my commanders army...

The beginner guide i read mentioned I should use a mage, but I am lost on this. Any help appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 20th, 2013, 06:21 PM

Hully Hully is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hully is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Newb question - How do I use a mage?

Hi

1. RMC (Right mouse click) on province to select.

2.To the left of the screen will be a list of all leaders in the province.

3. LMC while holding CTRL to select multiple leaders to form your army.

4.On the right hand side LMC on Army Setup button.

5.This is where you can assign troops to individual leaders, spells to mages, and formations.

6.Top of screen is available troops.

7.left hand side leaders, the white dot on a green background represents leaders and troop position, LMC on the green box, you will then be able to move Leader and Troop positions.

8. LMC on you may choose up to 5 battle order including spells for your mages to cast in combat.

9. Find a battle and have a go... enjoy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 21st, 2013, 04:17 AM

Hully Hully is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hully is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Newb question - How do I use a mage?

well, why is it the preview does not match actual? Preview show the symbol actual removes it?

8.LMC on Set Battle Orders you may choose up to 5 battle order including spells for your mages to cast in combat
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 14th, 2013, 02:51 PM

Decrepus Decrepus is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Decrepus is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Newb question - How do I use a mage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soth View Post
I want to use a mage with my army, but he has a leadership of zero and i can't put him in my commanders army...

The beginner guide i read mentioned I should use a mage, but I am lost on this. Any help appreciated.
Just to clarify a bit. The "commander" you are using is a commander who has leadership to lead normal units. The mage you are talking about is also a commander but does not have leadership (at least for ordinary units).

Commander units don't lead each other and are separate entities which are displayed on the strategic map individually. A scout will appear here for example but a footman does not.

Follow Hully's advice to move them together as an army. You need to make sure that your mages are deployed behind the troops your other commander is bringing though so they don't get overrun by the enemy or shot to death by archers.

To get the best use of the mages though you need magical research and to script them by changing their orders and picking out their spells. If they are out of range of a spell you script for them they will go off-script and start casting stupid crap, so if you want to use shorter range spells you might want to deploy your army forward so you can move your mages up a bit.

After the 5 turns of scripted casting you can do you mages will also go off-script so it is important to do the most important things in those 5 turns.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 15th, 2013, 01:34 PM
Gandalf Parker's Avatar

Gandalf Parker Gandalf Parker is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
Gandalf Parker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Newb question - How do I use a mage?

If you right-click the leadership thing on a commander it explains it more fully.

A Mage does usually lead normal units, or if it does its only about 10 mostly just to be bodyguards. But usually right-clicking the leadership shows they can lead undead, or summoned magical creatures. Based on what their magic is. Often in very large numbers.
__________________
-- DISCLAIMER:
This game is NOT suitable for students, interns, apprentices, or anyone else who is expected to pass tests on a regular basis. Do not think about strategies while operating heavy machinery. Before beginning this game make arrangements for someone to check on you daily. If you find that your game has continued for more than 36 hours straight then you should consult a physician immediately (Do NOT show him the game!)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.