.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

The Star & the Crescent- Save $8.00
winSPWW2- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 6th, 2010, 01:22 PM

Mr Right Mr Right is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mr Right is on a distinguished road
Default Netbook without a CD drive

I just bought a netbook without a CD drive. Is it possible for me to make the disk an .iso and mount it on the netbook with my registration code without it flagging me as a pirate for not actually having the disk in?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 6th, 2010, 01:24 PM
WingedDog's Avatar

WingedDog WingedDog is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Russia, GMT +3
Posts: 623
Thanks: 117
Thanked 57 Times in 45 Posts
WingedDog is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Netbook without a CD drive

Just install the game on PC, and copy game folder on your netbook via USB stick. Game doesn't require CD in drive to run.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to WingedDog For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old March 6th, 2010, 04:57 PM

13lackGu4rd 13lackGu4rd is offline
First Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 712
Thanks: 5
Thanked 40 Times in 32 Posts
13lackGu4rd is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Netbook without a CD drive

yeah WingedDog gave you the answer, I've done the same for my own lab top after installing regularly(with CD key) on my PC. copied the libraries onto a disk on key(USB) than into my lab top. had to do it twice because the 2 gigs of my disk on key weren't enough, too many maps and mods :P
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 3rd, 2010, 04:24 PM

CautiousChaos CautiousChaos is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CautiousChaos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Netbook without a CD drive

I tried the technique of copying over the dominions3 folder. The game launched, but the framerate was 1.0 at the absolute lowest settings. I then patched the game to the 3.24 version (latest) and had the same experience.

A few things you should know:
- My installation was originally from the CD version I bought years ago.
- I am using this on a netbook (Dell Mini 1012) which has more than met the specs.

And most importantly, I downloaded the demo and ran that and found that my framerates on the demo were in the mid 20's. The demo version is marked as 3.0.

I cannot think of a reason why the framerate would be so messed up on the copy, unless there are registry entries that are not storing graphic preferences.

Any insight into this is greatly appreciated...
-cc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 3rd, 2010, 08:09 PM
Verjigorm's Avatar

Verjigorm Verjigorm is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: BF Illinois
Posts: 445
Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
Verjigorm is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Netbook without a CD drive

You don't need to go to all that trouble... The game doesn't require a CD to run or install.

Just put the CD in a nearby PC and do this (for Windows):

Start > Computer (possibly "My computer" or click "My Computer" on the desktop)

Right-click on the drive that has the CD in it and click "Share...".

Click "Advanced Sharing".

Check the box marked "Share this folder" and name the drive appropriately, we'll assume you've named it "D".

Click "Ok".

Now, assuming that PC that you are sharing the CD from is called "Fred"....

Go to your Netbook...

Start > Run...

Type "\\Fred\D\" and click Ok.

You may be prompted for a password if your desktop PC requires it. If you have a username and password type them like this:

Username: \\Fred\Username
Password: **********

If you use a blank administrator password (general login) on the Desktop, type:

Username: \\Fred\Administrator
Password: <>

Now run the install command from the folder. This is similar to how you'd have to move the .iso file, but skips the making of the .iso and saves both time and hard drive space.

Questions, let me know.

BTW these instructions are for Windows Vista.
__________________
"Let your plans be dark and as impenetratable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt." -- Sun Tzu
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 3rd, 2010, 11:36 PM

pyg pyg is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: a small farm
Posts: 340
Thanks: 73
Thanked 103 Times in 42 Posts
pyg is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Netbook without a CD drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verjigorm View Post
You don't need to go to all that trouble... The game doesn't require a CD to run or install.

Just put the CD in a nearby PC and do this (for Windows):

Start > Computer (possibly "My computer" or click "My Computer" on the desktop)

Right-click on the drive that has the CD in it and click "Share...".

Click "Advanced Sharing".

Check the box marked "Share this folder" and name the drive appropriately, we'll assume you've named it "D".

Click "Ok".

Now, assuming that PC that you are sharing the CD from is called "Fred"....

Go to your Netbook...

Start > Run...

Type "\\Fred\D\" and click Ok.

You may be prompted for a password if your desktop PC requires it. If you have a username and password type them like this:

Username: \\Fred\Username
Password: **********

If you use a blank administrator password (general login) on the Desktop, type:

Username: \\Fred\Administrator
Password: <>

Now run the install command from the folder. This is similar to how you'd have to move the .iso file, but skips the making of the .iso and saves both time and hard drive space.

Questions, let me know.

BTW these instructions are for Windows Vista.
Please please please use a condom.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 4th, 2010, 12:25 AM
Gandalf Parker's Avatar

Gandalf Parker Gandalf Parker is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 13,736
Thanks: 341
Thanked 479 Times in 326 Posts
Gandalf Parker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Netbook without a CD drive

That games copy protection is tied into the serial. Just zip a copy of the game, put it on disc, then unzip it to the netbook. Then delete the "key" file and it will ask you to put in your own. Installing one of the 3 versions (Win, Mac, Linux) makes it much smalled than the CD

As to the framerate problem Id play with the command switches. I have seen posts that said the game didnt like certain graphic cards
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 4th, 2010, 01:43 AM
Gregstrom's Avatar

Gregstrom Gregstrom is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,066
Thanks: 109
Thanked 162 Times in 118 Posts
Gregstrom is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Netbook without a CD drive

@CautiousChaos: Have you checked the graphics settings the full version is using? You don't mention them in your post.
__________________
A Beginner's guide to Lanka

Want to use multiple mods? The Mod Compatibility Index might be useful.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 4th, 2010, 09:56 AM

CautiousChaos CautiousChaos is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CautiousChaos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Netbook without a CD drive

Thank you everyone for the help! I tried a few of the suggestions but didn't have much luck. So I put the CD into my laptop, copied it onto a USB stick, then plugged that into the netbook and launched the install.

I hadn't expected it to work, largely due to DMRish issues, but it did (thank you Shrapnel Games). It asked for my key, i put it in, and walla, it worked. And the framerates were in the mid 20's.

Strange that copying the installed dominions3 directory ran but at 1 FPS.

Anyways, I am so very happily up and running!!!!!

Thanks everyone for giving me a helping hand. Really love visiting here because of you folks...

cc
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 4th, 2010, 11:43 AM
Verjigorm's Avatar

Verjigorm Verjigorm is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: BF Illinois
Posts: 445
Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
Verjigorm is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Netbook without a CD drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by CautiousChaos View Post
Thank you everyone for the help! I tried a few of the suggestions but didn't have much luck. So I put the CD into my laptop, copied it onto a USB stick, then plugged that into the netbook and launched the install.

I hadn't expected it to work, largely due to DMRish issues, but it did (thank you Shrapnel Games). It asked for my key, i put it in, and walla, it worked. And the framerates were in the mid 20's.

Strange that copying the installed dominions3 directory ran but at 1 FPS.

Anyways, I am so very happily up and running!!!!!

Thanks everyone for giving me a helping hand. Really love visiting here because of you folks...

cc
I used to run Dom2 on an ancient tablet PC in 640x480 with all settings turned to minimum. The pretty graphics are largely forgettable and you get used to not having them rather quickly.
__________________
"Let your plans be dark and as impenetratable as night, and when you move, fall like a thunderbolt." -- Sun Tzu
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
netbook mount

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.