.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

The Star & the Crescent- Save $8.00
winSPWW2- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 24th, 2010, 05:34 AM

earcaraxe earcaraxe is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Budapest
Posts: 831
Thanks: 115
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
earcaraxe is on a distinguished road
Default game too slow (?)

hi!

I cant get the game running properly on a brand a new laptop. I'm certain that it easily has the requirements (have little concerns about the video card tho). On the strategic map everything seems ok, only when a battle is viewed it will be like the screen breaks into about 3 parts, i get the feeling it cant draw the pictures quick enough. I tried turning the video settings to minimum, but it remained exactly the same. With high settings the framerate is still about 50-70 so it should be enough. I also tried various compatibility modes in windows (its windows vista on it), it didnt help. id appreciate any ideas, thanks.

Last edited by earcaraxe; June 24th, 2010 at 07:14 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 24th, 2010, 06:10 AM

Doo Doo is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 356
Thanks: 36
Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts
Doo is on a distinguished road
Default Re: game too slow (?)

Can you switch the graphics card to not be used? This might check compatibility.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 24th, 2010, 07:01 AM

thejeff thejeff is offline
General
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,327
Thanks: 4
Thanked 133 Times in 117 Posts
thejeff is on a distinguished road
Default Re: game too slow (?)

The standard advice is to update the video card drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 25th, 2010, 10:18 AM

CautiousChaos CautiousChaos is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CautiousChaos is on a distinguished road
Default Re: game too slow (?)

If you have any specs you can post on the video card and laptop that could be helpful. It would be interesting to know if you are running Open GL for video or something more conventional.
-cc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 26th, 2010, 01:59 AM
Lingchih's Avatar

Lingchih Lingchih is offline
General
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 3,207
Thanks: 54
Thanked 60 Times in 35 Posts
Lingchih is on a distinguished road
Default Re: game too slow (?)

Hmm. Buy a Mac.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 26th, 2010, 08:29 PM

Knai Knai is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 329
Thanks: 33
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Knai is on a distinguished road
Default Re: game too slow (?)

Whatever. I'm on a mac and its still slow once things start getting crowded. Granted, the thing is ancient, but its not like it being a Mac helps much.*

*In this respect. There are plenty of other ways where it is just awesome.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2020, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.