.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Assault Task Force- Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening > Scenarios, Maps and Mods

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old November 2nd, 2009, 09:40 PM
NTJedi's Avatar

NTJedi NTJedi is offline
General
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: az
Posts: 3,069
Thanks: 41
Thanked 39 Times in 28 Posts
NTJedi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Map Forge BETA 001

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ballbarian View Post
Try adding a backslash to the path (in options):
E:\Program Files (x86)\dominions3\maps\

Failing that, I wonder if it might be a denied access issue.
As changes are made to a map file, MF backs up changes to a ".ore" file in the maps directory. You might try running MF as administrator.

Thanks!
Well I relaxed permissions for the entire dominions3 directory and then shared the directory with everyone full control yet still the same problem. I also tried the directory change for E:\Program Files (x86)\dominions3\maps\ ... no luck.

I then used the run as command to run the executable using the administrator account, but still no luck. My original account is also only an administrator account. I'm able to use the map editor within Dominions_3 and save changes without any problem.

I'll keep trying... maybe my download was corrupted.
__________________
There can be only one.

Last edited by NTJedi; November 2nd, 2009 at 09:52 PM.. Reason: details
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 2nd, 2009, 10:17 PM
Ballbarian's Avatar

Ballbarian Ballbarian is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 1,538
Thanks: 289
Thanked 194 Times in 94 Posts
Ballbarian will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Map Forge BETA 001

What is the application path of Map Forge? Where is it installed?
If Map Forge happens to reside on C:\ and Dominions is on E:\ that might cause problems.

Future versions will include a robust logging system that should help resolve problems of this sort. Really kicking myself for not including it before release.
__________________
RanDom v2 - Map gen & Semirandomizer.
Province Editor - Custom province creation made easier.
God Editor - Custom pretender creation made easier.
Map Forge - Map editor
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old November 2nd, 2009, 10:25 PM
NTJedi's Avatar

NTJedi NTJedi is offline
General
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: az
Posts: 3,069
Thanks: 41
Thanked 39 Times in 28 Posts
NTJedi is on a distinguished road
Disk Re: Map Forge BETA 001

**Update: Well it seems the utility only has problems with maps I've created, the default maps from the game are not a problem. So my maps must either be using some map edit commands which is causing the map forge tool to choke or something else inside my maps.

I attached the most simple map file of all my maps in hopes a solution can be found.

image file now added

OKAY
Attached Files
File Type: zip Snow White.zip (5.17 MB, 152 views)
__________________
There can be only one.

Last edited by NTJedi; November 2nd, 2009 at 10:30 PM.. Reason: details
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old November 2nd, 2009, 10:41 PM
NTJedi's Avatar

NTJedi NTJedi is offline
General
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: az
Posts: 3,069
Thanks: 41
Thanked 39 Times in 28 Posts
NTJedi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Map Forge BETA 001

**UPDATE: Think I found the problem... all previous times when I would install the map forge tool I would specify the map directory by cutting/pasting the path from windows explorer.

For my most recent installation I chose to browse to the directory and now its working for even my maps. After 4 installs at different locations on the same partition as Dominions_3 the browse option resolved the issue.

*** UPDATE: Still getting error related only with my map files. A new error reports just while browsing the map commanders.
Map file not saved!
Map file not saved! Map: E:\Program Files(x86)\dominions3\maps\Snow White.ore Error: Subscript out of range


** **UPDATE: It seems the same problem also occurs for the Shahrivar map file available for download... Hooray it's not just my maps. Ballbarian do you have the same errors when attempting to view Snow White OR the Shahrivar map files??
__________________
There can be only one.

Last edited by NTJedi; November 2nd, 2009 at 10:58 PM.. Reason: details
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old November 3rd, 2009, 12:49 AM
Ballbarian's Avatar

Ballbarian Ballbarian is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 1,538
Thanks: 289
Thanked 194 Times in 94 Posts
Ballbarian will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Map Forge BETA 001

Upon loading Snow White I receive the following error report:



In province #323 (land name "Land of the Giants") contains a magic site called "Land of the Giants". Map Forge is reporting that this is not in it's list of valid sites. I cannot find it listed anywhere. Is this a typo or a mod site?

Anyhow, when I click on the province containing this site, I get the cannot save .ore file message. It is basically complaining because it sees the site as invalid.

I will try Shahrivar next.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SnowWhiteError.jpg
Views:	413
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	9027  
__________________
RanDom v2 - Map gen & Semirandomizer.
Province Editor - Custom province creation made easier.
God Editor - Custom pretender creation made easier.
Map Forge - Map editor
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old November 3rd, 2009, 01:05 AM
Ballbarian's Avatar

Ballbarian Ballbarian is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 1,538
Thanks: 289
Thanked 194 Times in 94 Posts
Ballbarian will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Map Forge BETA 001

The version of Shahrivar that I downloaded generates the following map error log:

Quote:
Map error log for:
C:\Games\dominions3\maps\Shahrivar.map
Error in z_ParseCommand: Unrecognized map command '#nonamefilter' - Map Line# 13 : #nonamefilter
#nonamefilter is listed in the mapedit.pdf as not working correctly, so Map Forge sees this as an unsupported map command. If I click OK, the editor is allowing me to edit and save the map normally. It just drops the unsupported command as it should.

If you are not seeing the warning screen upon loading a map, let me know.

Thanks!
__________________
RanDom v2 - Map gen & Semirandomizer.
Province Editor - Custom province creation made easier.
God Editor - Custom pretender creation made easier.
Map Forge - Map editor
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old November 3rd, 2009, 01:20 AM
NTJedi's Avatar

NTJedi NTJedi is offline
General
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: az
Posts: 3,069
Thanks: 41
Thanked 39 Times in 28 Posts
NTJedi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Map Forge BETA 001

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ballbarian View Post
In province #323 (land name "Land of the Giants") contains a magic site called "Land of the Giants". Map Forge is reporting that this is not in it's list of valid sites. I cannot find it listed anywhere. Is this a typo or a mod site?

Anyhow, when I click on the province containing this site, I get the cannot save .ore file message. It is basically complaining because it sees the site as invalid.

I will try Shahrivar next.
It's from a mod... I feel so bad for overlooking conflicts with mods. Any clues why the Shahrivar map has trouble?

Nevermind... I see your previous post.
__________________
There can be only one.

Last edited by NTJedi; November 3rd, 2009 at 01:23 AM.. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old November 4th, 2009, 10:23 AM
Foodstamp's Avatar
Foodstamp Foodstamp is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tennessee USA
Posts: 2,059
Thanks: 229
Thanked 106 Times in 71 Posts
Foodstamp is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Map Forge BETA 001

Working on the graphic for my map. As soon as it is done, I will put Map Forge through it's paces and report any bugs!

BTW, is there an upper size limitation to the targa you can use for the map image?
__________________
BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH NEXT TURN.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old November 4th, 2009, 10:56 AM
Ballbarian's Avatar

Ballbarian Ballbarian is offline
Colonel
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 1,538
Thanks: 289
Thanked 194 Times in 94 Posts
Ballbarian will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Map Forge BETA 001

In theory 16383 x 16383, but there could be other limitations (such as system memory) that might lower the ceiling. Latus is a really big map (5000 x 4000) and Map Forge seemed to handle it with no problems.
__________________
RanDom v2 - Map gen & Semirandomizer.
Province Editor - Custom province creation made easier.
God Editor - Custom pretender creation made easier.
Map Forge - Map editor
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ballbarian For This Useful Post:
  #20  
Old November 7th, 2009, 07:09 PM

pyg pyg is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: a small farm
Posts: 340
Thanks: 73
Thanked 103 Times in 42 Posts
pyg is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Map Forge BETA 001

Mostly for Foodstamp I gave Map Forge a spin in Wine under Linux and it works MUCH better than RanDom does. Looks perfect even the config stuff worked correctly. I opened up Cradle of Dominion but didn't try anything else. Good job Ballbarian.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pyg For This Useful Post:
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
editor, map, map editor, map forge

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.