.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank- Save $5.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 1st, 2009, 02:12 AM
Atrocities's Avatar

Atrocities Atrocities is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 18 Posts
Atrocities is on a distinguished road
Default PC Help Requested - Any ideas

Well it didn't take but a year and one month for my Prized cyberpower, inc PC to crap out and die.

I don't know what the hell happened. It was working properly last night. Put it to hybernate and today when I started it up, I got no video to the monitor. I waited 10 minutes but nothing so I reset. It sounded as if it posted but then nothing else happened. No post data was displayed. I swapped out monitors, tried a restart. Nothing. Shut the system off, unplugged it. Restarted nothing. Shut the system off, unplugged it, and disconnected the second EVGA G-Force 8800 GT card. Again nothing. Swapped out the video cards, again nothing.

The green light is on on the mother board which is a ASUS AI Lifestyle P5N32-E-SLI.

I get no buzz's, alarms, or other indication that their is a problem.

What do you guys think it could be? My bet is the Mother Board since it won't send any signal to the monitor. Again is sounds like it is posting but I just cannot see it.

I am sick over this. If it were a hard drive failure, which I doubt, it would at least show me the post data.
__________________
Creator of the Star Trek Mod - AST Mod - 78 Ship Sets - Conquest Mod - Atrocities Star Wars Mod - Galaxy Reborn Mod - and Subterfuge Mod.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 1st, 2009, 04:06 AM
Atrocities's Avatar

Atrocities Atrocities is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 18 Posts
Atrocities is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PC Help Requested - Any ideas

The helpful people at FixYa pointed me into a fix. I had to pull the CMOS battery. So far the system is working, but for how long I do not know.
__________________
Creator of the Star Trek Mod - AST Mod - 78 Ship Sets - Conquest Mod - Atrocities Star Wars Mod - Galaxy Reborn Mod - and Subterfuge Mod.

Last edited by Atrocities; February 1st, 2009 at 10:42 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 1st, 2009, 05:14 AM
Black_Knyght's Avatar

Black_Knyght Black_Knyght is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Woodland,CA
Posts: 918
Thanks: 14
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Black_Knyght is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PC Help Requested - Any ideas

Glad to hear someone could help. I was completely in the dark for that!

Really helpful link too, BTW
__________________
Run if you like, you'll only die tired....

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 1st, 2009, 01:19 PM
Fyron's Avatar

Fyron Fyron is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Fyron is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: PC Help Requested - Any ideas

It should work for a few years til the new CMOS battery runs out of juice... They probably just shipped you a defective one, since they tend to last for far longer than 1 year.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 6th, 2009, 09:39 PM
Hugh Manatee's Avatar

Hugh Manatee Hugh Manatee is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 470
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hugh Manatee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PC Help Requested - Any ideas

This sounds almost exctly like what's wrong with my 'good' machine... I hit the go button and it turns green but it I see nothing. Only thing is If I power cycle it on and off and then leave it on I sometimes get to see the post data... I've tried various configurations and replaced the power supply, I've pulled memory and see a different message but I'm not sure if that's what's wrong with it...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 7th, 2009, 05:35 PM
Thermodyne's Avatar

Thermodyne Thermodyne is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: DC Burbs USA
Posts: 1,460
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thermodyne is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PC Help Requested - Any ideas

Turn it on and pull the battery, check the cmos voltage. If it is below what's marked on it, there's your problem. That is a hard restart that you did. I would do a back up and then test the piss out of the hard drive. It really sounds like it couldn't load the monitor driver.
__________________





Think about it
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 7th, 2009, 05:55 PM
Fyron's Avatar

Fyron Fyron is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Fyron is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: PC Help Requested - Any ideas

Surely you meant to say "turn it off and pull the battery."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 8th, 2009, 12:29 PM
Thermodyne's Avatar

Thermodyne Thermodyne is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: DC Burbs USA
Posts: 1,460
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thermodyne is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PC Help Requested - Any ideas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fyron View Post
Surely you meant to say "turn it off and pull the battery."
Nope, have it running. It will hold bios settings that way. Just stick a pencil magnet to it and pop the latch with a little screw driver. I've done hundreds that way, it wont hurt it.
__________________





Think about it
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 8th, 2009, 02:22 PM
Fyron's Avatar

Fyron Fyron is offline
Shrapnel Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern CA, USA
Posts: 18,394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Fyron is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: PC Help Requested - Any ideas

I've never lost BIOS settings when replacing the CMOS battery. Perhaps all you need to do is just leave the power cord plugged in... There is a certain minimum power going through the motherboard, so long as you don't flip the kill switch on the PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 8th, 2009, 09:45 PM
Hugh Manatee's Avatar

Hugh Manatee Hugh Manatee is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 470
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hugh Manatee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: PC Help Requested - Any ideas

Oh yeah forgot to mention, during a couple of the hard starts I managed to get into the bios settings, every other color was purple(usually they're all yellow) and some of them were messed up. But this was a couple months ago, it's been pretty much mothballed since about new years, unplugged with everything off, so if it was dying then it surely must be totally dead by now...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.