.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

winSPWW2- Save $6.00
World Supremacy- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 23rd, 2016, 11:21 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,525
Thanks: 1,716
Thanked 2,555 Times in 1,353 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Move all

I'm going to start this thread off by asking if anyone regularly uses the " Move ALL " function while playing( I do.... I want to find out who else does )
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 23rd, 2016, 11:33 AM
Oche's Avatar

Oche Oche is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 222
Thanks: 309
Thanked 236 Times in 93 Posts
Oche is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Move all

I Rarely use it, and exclusively if formation is not exposed to enemy OP fire.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 23rd, 2016, 11:56 AM
Wdll's Avatar

Wdll Wdll is offline
Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hellas->Macedonia->Thessaloniki->City Center->noisy neighbourhood
Posts: 1,152
Thanks: 156
Thanked 42 Times in 32 Posts
Wdll is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Move all

I think I did once...years ago, if that.
__________________
That's it, keep dancing on the minefield!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 23rd, 2016, 12:20 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,525
Thanks: 1,716
Thanked 2,555 Times in 1,353 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Move all

OK so far, about what I suspected..........HINT.....the code moves the command unit LAST ( by design I suspect so it's not the first one into an ambush ) so you need to be aware of that and pick the last unit in the formation as the unit to initiate the move and ONLY move it maybe half max distance at a time until you get a feel for how it works......it CAN, if used correctly.....do a good job of keeping a platoon together and not all strung out.......it's a tool and any tool can be used incorrectly but I don't think over the entire lifespan of the SP series was that function ever really explained and to anyone using it for the first time who may have a platoon spread all over moving just any unit in the formation produces a confusing flurry of movement ESPECIALLY now with fast processing computers that zip units around the map quickly

Don

Last edited by DRG; November 23rd, 2016 at 12:28 PM..
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to DRG For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old November 24th, 2016, 03:10 AM
Suhiir's Avatar

Suhiir Suhiir is online now
Major General
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,260
Thanks: 235
Thanked 496 Times in 384 Posts
Suhiir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Move all

Like Wdll I recall using it once.
__________________
Suhiir - Wargame Junkie

People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 26th, 2016, 12:55 AM
shahadi's Avatar

shahadi shahadi is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: I ain't in Kansas anymore, just north of where Dorothy clicked her heels is where you'll find me.
Posts: 818
Thanks: 473
Thanked 213 Times in 159 Posts
shahadi is on a distinguished road
Potion Re: Move all

I use it a lot, but limited to helo ops.


=====
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shahadi For This Useful Post:
  #7  
Old November 26th, 2016, 08:19 AM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,525
Thanks: 1,716
Thanked 2,555 Times in 1,353 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Move all

I do understand that most players would rather micromanage every move a unit makes so they go where you want them to go but in the right circumstances move all is a good way to quickly regroup a platoon that has become strung out. In that case move the command unit one hex and all the rest of the platoon will head for it
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DRG For This Useful Post:
  #8  
Old November 27th, 2016, 12:55 AM
Suhiir's Avatar

Suhiir Suhiir is online now
Major General
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 2,260
Thanks: 235
Thanked 496 Times in 384 Posts
Suhiir is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Move all

Most scenarios don't last long enough you need to regroup.
__________________
Suhiir - Wargame Junkie

People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." - Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 27th, 2016, 10:39 AM

jp10 jp10 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 156
Thanks: 18
Thanked 59 Times in 42 Posts
jp10 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Move all

Parachute insertions can scatter a formation but in a 'in enemy territory' situation I would rather make sure each unit makes movement along concealed routes than a move-all. For dismounted formations using a move-all I normally move support weapons first since they are usually the shortest move distance unit. Otherwise repeated move-all turns seem to always leave these behind.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2018, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.