.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Old February 9th, 2007, 01:30 AM

Corporal

General_Jah is on a distinguished road
Default Pls explain how early summoning spells are useful

I'm new to D3 and have started my first game past the tutorial. I've read the manual and believe I have a beginers grasp on this game....

I'm playing Vanheim Early Age.

I invested some early research into conjuration and boy was I disappointed... I'm hoping you experts can show me the error of my ways...

1) What useful strategies are there for these early ritual and battle summoning spells?

I'm currently Conjuration 3 and none of the units really seem all that worth it. I've revived wights, banes, scorpions, wyverns, Hawks, and other ritual beasts... none seem much better than the units I can buy enmasse at my captial. If these were free I could see their uses but they require quite a few gems which means you can't summon to many of them until you are completely out of gems...

thanks in advance for the tips!
Old February 9th, 2007, 01:57 AM

Major

st.patrik is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Pls explain how early summoning spells are useful

Well early summons aren't necessarily going to be so incredibly hot, but summons in general are a potent (some say too potent) force, for several reasons:

• they don't cost upkeep (in most cases)
• many of them are more powerful than recruitable troops/commanders
• you can summon units in a castle under siege but not recruit units
• gem income is not affected by unrest or negative events (unlike gold)

there are probably more advantages, but that's what I can think of off the top of my head.