.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars

Old June 19th, 2006, 07:36 PM

Private

JimKnopf is on a distinguished road
Default Why am I not able to win the Orania Map ?

Hi,

I am a frustrated Dominion Newbie. The reason for my frustration is that I am not able to win the Orania map when not playing Ermor (Each AI in Easy mode)
I experimented with Dom 1 some years ago and finally I bought Dom 2.
Winning with Ashen Empire Ermor was Easy;
1.) Create a pretender with a strong Dominion that kills the population.
2.) Grab some provinces and ensure your Dominion spreads.
3.) Bury the competion beneath your undead hordes.
Very easy.

But playing Arcoscephale I always lose. Made about 15 unsuccessful attempts.
Before I played civ 1-3, Moo 1-3, Mom, AoW1, AoW2, AoW2 SM, Heroes 3. Winning on Standard difficulty was never a challenge.

My problem with Dom 2 is the lack of diplomacy. Just an example: I have peace with everybody. But I notice that Ermor is spreading everywhere on the map and conquers everything.
I gather my troops and attack Ermor. About four turns later one of the AI idiots stabs me in the back.

The game is marketed as a Single-Player-also game. So I think I should be able to win on easy with each nation in Single-Player-mode.

What is your opinion ?
Old June 19th, 2006, 08:07 PM

Corporal

Etaoin Shrdlu is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Why am I not able to win the Orania Map ?

First suggestion: Leave Ermor out of the opponent pool. The other AIs can't handle 'em.
Or, if you insist: Make a Broken Empire Ermor (non-pop-killing style), play a few turns of them alongside the nation you actually intend to play out, then hand-off to AI.
Old June 19th, 2006, 09:16 PM

Private

Quote:
Etaoin Shrdlu said: