.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Air Command 3.0- Save $12.00
Approaching Infinity- Save $8.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > The Camo Workshop > WinSPMBT
Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 27th, 2005, 05:18 AM

chademueller chademueller is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
chademueller is on a distinguished road
Default Unable to play scenario or campaign

Seems my problem is a little different from others.

I get to the screen where you deploy units but nothing happens. I have to end task in task manager to close the game.

Or I get to the screen where you start the scenario & a blank screen appears. I have to end task in task manager to close the game.

In both cases the system does not crash but nothing happens until I end WinSPMBT using the Windows Task Manager.

System has a 1Ghz processor , 128Mb of RAM & Windows XP.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 27th, 2005, 12:26 PM
DRG's Avatar

DRG DRG is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: GWN
Posts: 9,875
Thanks: 1,989
Thanked 3,048 Times in 1,528 Posts
DRG will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Unable to play scenario or campaign

Go to START on your desktop and the type dxdiag into RUN and see if that diagnostic reports any problems. Some people have had to run the Game in "win98 mode." from properties

Don
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 27th, 2005, 01:26 PM
Mobhack's Avatar

Mobhack Mobhack is online now
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dundee
Posts: 5,348
Thanks: 103
Thanked 1,322 Times in 913 Posts
Mobhack is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unable to play scenario or campaign

Quote:
chademueller said:
Seems my problem is a little different from others.

I get to the screen where you deploy units but nothing happens. I have to end task in task manager to close the game.

Or I get to the screen where you start the scenario & a blank screen appears. I have to end task in task manager to close the game.

In both cases the system does not crash but nothing happens until I end WinSPMBT using the Windows Task Manager.

System has a 1Ghz processor , 128Mb of RAM & Windows XP.
And the video card is a 32MB one, or less?

Your RAM should be enought to handle the game, if you diont have too many other programmes running inthe background, including task-bar applications. Though 256MB is probably better.

I would try with sound off, as the sound system allocates the sound buffers on the fly, so not using the sound means no memory buffers (and no com objects as well .

On the game options master Control Panel - misc screen - switch interface mouse click to OFF. In the game's main screen, select the PREFERENCES button and switch BATTLE FX and SOUND FX both to OFF.

Additionaly - try it in 640 screen mode, especially if you don't have the recommended minimum of a 32+MB video card.

If your video card is one of those that grab system RAM, instead of having it's own built-in RAM chips then you have less than 128MB system RAM to play with. The system requires a video card, and not a shared graphics video unit as found in some budget machines.

One other thing to try on a low memory system (especially if there is a shared memory video unit) may be to increase the windows swap file (virtual memory) size. Start->Help enter swap in the Index tab, read the swapfile help section in Windows help.


Cheers
Andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 27th, 2005, 01:51 PM

chademueller chademueller is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
chademueller is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unable to play scenario or campaign

Well Don that was interesting.

dxdiag found no problems

When running the game in Win98 compatibility mode I get to the screen where you deply units but the game freezes there. For scenarios where units a pre-deployed the game quits to desktop.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 27th, 2005, 02:31 PM

chademueller chademueller is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
chademueller is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unable to play scenario or campaign

Sorry Mobhack, I should have mentioned that I have already tried that.

The system is a Gateway with the video card integrated into the motherboard but I have no problems running other games that are MUCH more graphics intensive than winSPMBT.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 27th, 2005, 02:47 PM

chademueller chademueller is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
chademueller is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unable to play scenario or campaign

Tried windowed mode as opposed to fullscreen & am able to start a scenario but get a runtime error after a minute or two if I turn the sound on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.