.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Raging Tiger- Save $9.00
World Supremacy- Save $9.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars > Scenarios, Maps & Mods

Old January 4th, 2005, 06:51 PM

National Security Advisor

Endoperez is on a distinguished road
Default MOD.MAKING.PROGRAM

The biggest problem for *starting* the modding of Dominions II is that one has to look through the manual, which is quite complicated at times, and does not have any reference to things like units' stats, spells' magic and research levels etc. As GREAT.WISE.MAN.TOLD.WISE.THINGS I decided to start a new thread and ask how much, if anything, people could do for a program that makes mod-making easier.

Code:

|STATS_|________________\/
|MODDED| |
|STATS | HERE BE DRAGONS |
| | So... what |
| | |
|______|_________________|
|__NEW______SAVE___LOAD__|

I am not very good at GUI, but can try to do my best.
I can only program Java, so if you don't want a Java jar someone else has to program it. However, after the general plan even people who can NOT program can take part in the project. Dominion II has many spells, many items and even more units. We don't know any way to take their information from the game, so we would have to write everything by hand.

After deciding how something should be written, just writing it should be an easy task. It might be like current modding:
#hits 10
#str 10
#att 10
etc.,

but it could also be like
10;10;10.

or

or almost anything. For units, all stats and abilities would have to be written down. For spells, school, magic paths (two for some spells) and fatique cost (which the program can translate to gem cost). For nations: recruit lists, starting sites, themes, heat preference and all specials which cannot be modded like Abysian death scale immunity, Ulm resource bonus and R'lyeh Hybrid spawning.